Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City

Beautiful Wedding Night Stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Loved the service, room and Hotel, amazing pastry shop ! Would definitely stay again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cedar Rapids, IA

Great location and elegant facility

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The bathroom in our room consisted of three spaces separated by doors. Lots of space for two people! The Garden Cafe was great!
Cons: When our son came to pick us up, he apparently didn't match a "guest" profile and got the third degree - a bit off-putting.
We stayed at the Grand America for four nights. Its location worked well for us, as it is off State Street, a major thoroughfare. The room could not have been more comfortable and our room had one of the very nicest bathroom suites that I've encountered. Guest parking (as opposed to valet parking) was easy and convenient. The overall condition of the room and the public spaces was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bar/lounge off the lobby was a comfortable place for an evening glass of wine (as long as you remember to order food, as well). We ate three breakfasts at the Garden Cafe and were impressed each time with the presentation and the quality. Prices were certainly higher than for an IHOP, but not noticeably so compared to Chicago, for example. All in all, a place we'd certainly return to, if we get the chance to visit Salt Lake City again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beverly Hills, CA

Gorgeous traditional hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The beauty of the architecture. Friendly staff
Cons: Don't nickle and dime me. If I ever stay there again, I will NOT be paying for a stinking swimming pool!
Location: Close to Temple Square which is beautiful, and there's a tram that takes you there for free.
This hotel was fabulous. The lobby is gorgeous and the staff is ultra helpful and friendly. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and the whole feel is definitely "grand!" We ate breakfast across the street at the Little America Coffee Shop, and perhaps it was the best breakfast I've ever eaten. The rooms are a little dated and the beds were a little firm but the bathrooms are beautiful and very spacious. My only complaint was that I HATE feeling nickled and dimed. We had to pay a fee to use the swimming pool that otherwise would have sat there whether we swam in it or not. After paying $350 for a room, it was beyond infuriating to have to pay that fee. I wouldn't have done it if my kids weren't already standing there excited to go. I've NEVER paid to swim in a pool, it's free at the Holiday Inn! Also we had to pay for parking, which again was infuriating considering it's SLC, not San Fran, and we had just paid a premium price for our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, Az

Grat service by hotel staff

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The room was clean. The bed was comfortable.
Location: Close to the train track and downtown. Temple Square in SLC.
When I picked up the car each morning, they knew my name. The Concierge helped us get our boarding pass.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Love this hotel!! Everything about our visit was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to everything you want to do
Pleasant and very convenient, the nicest hotel in salt Lake City
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa

Luxury Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff and services.
Location: Great location in Main St.
Any royal (King or Queen) will field like home at the gran America.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jackson Hole

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Beautiful everything in this place!! Loved it! Beautiful from the lobby to the room! Great buffet weekday buffet also! Would recommend this to anyone want a nice place in downtown Salt Lake!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
When I called to make dinner reservations at the hotel they asked me if it was for a special event. I told them that it was my husbands and my birthday. When we checked into our room they had left a birthday cake and a card! They turned our bed down each night and left a little treat as well as slippers. It was a fantastic getaway.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Nice hotel approximately 1.0 mile to Salt Palace

Posted Sep 22, 2014
No complimentary coffee in room or downstairs, no complimentary continental breakfast offered. I booked there because no room availability anywhere else. And $13.00 per night for parking on top of room rate. This was disappointing. But staff great, very clean spacious and comfortable