Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Tomo from NY

Nice historical hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Classic décor Supper nice people. Great location.
Cons: It is renovated from historical building to hotel... so there are many add on. But layout od bathroom and lighting. It was dark in there.
Location: Location is good. Salt lake downtown is amazingly clean and upscale. There are many many restaurants and bars to dressed up with high heel to go.
Comfortable temper pedic mattress and soft pillow. Nice décor with antique furniture. 2 block short walk to mall and down town. Romantic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christopher from Calgary, AB

It was Magical!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Bed. Pillows. Parking. Character
Location: Beside what appeared to be the entertainment district of downtown. Had some nightlife on the same block.
My wife had stayed at the Peery with our kids in December. Loved it. We stayed on our way through. It was fantastic. I've stayed in approx 300 hotel nights in 7 years. This was the second best bed/pillow combo I have ever slept in! Great character to the hotel. great location in downtown and very much worth pulling off the I-15 for a stay when coming through town. The Brew Pub across the street is kid friendly and the beer and food is excellent. If not your style, there are a bunch of options on the street right out front. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in SLC. Valet Parking was so cheap I can't imagine self-parking.Two hours of parking in my home town is more expensive than overnight valet parking at the Peery!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

loved the character of the hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Room was super small, but the bed was COMFY, and the character of the Hotel was GREAT!! Would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven from Boise, ID

Older quaint hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Built over 100 years ago, you feel like you've stepped into the past. Beautiful salon and sweeping stairway. Older but very well appointed rooms with an AWESOME bed. It all felt a little rustic. The price was excellent! With a great location. Would have given it 5 stars except the continental breakfast was very paltry. We went to the breakfast buffet at Little America instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Luzerne, PA

Heading home to Pennsylvania

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was very elegant, welcoming and comfy--nothing like the impersonal towers you find in some cities.
Cons: Bathrooms are a bit small.
Location: I was there on a Sunday morning, and the hotel staff helped me find a Catholic Church nearby for Sunday Mass. It was the Cathedral of the Madeleine.
This is a beautiful, old-fashioned building not far from Temple Square. The room was gorgeous, the bed was comfy, and I slept like a log. The only drawback was the bathroom--a little small for my taste. If I ever come back to Salt Lake City, I will definitely stay at the Peery Hotel again. This was a refreshing change-of-pace from the usual concrete-and-steel boxes that pretend to be hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from New York

Quaint and eclectic.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Very nice hotel, clean, quiet, old style. Staff was great and very helpful. For instance, I asked about ways to get to the ski resorts and they automatically looked up the shuttle for me so i could get transportation to go skiing. Would definitely stay here again. Only recommendation would be for free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Downtown Hotel with a lot of character

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Amicable, approachable staff. Location was excellent, within walking distance of several restaurants and convention center.
2 out of 5
by Shelley from Germany

Expected more for the price and location

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The bed
Cons: read my experience.
We were very disappointed about the overall condition of the hotel. The free breakfast should have been more descriptive, we ended up at a nearby cafe every morning. Try Eva's, its great! Parking options were plentiful but very expensive. The only and best thing about the room was the bed. It was really comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from American Fork, UT

Historic downtown hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Pros: clean bedding/bathroom comfortable bed affordable historic feel nice helpful staff continental breakfast walking distance to restaurants
Cons: Cons: No free parking (however this seems standard for downtown hotels) No free Wi-Fi (it is free only in the lobby) Older tvs, no movie channels
The Peery Hotel is beautiful and was great for a honeymoon weekend in Salt Lake City. I was first interested in staying here because I was looking for something romantic and historic. The staff was amazing and even bumped up my husband and I from a king room to a king suite for free when they knew we just gotten married. They helped getting bags up to the room and getting any extra towels/bedding was never a problem. The room itself was clean and the bed was relatively new and very comfortable. The hotel and rooms are a little worn around the edges (chipped paint on original woodwork, some bathroom wall paper starting to peel, older tvs). However this is a historical hotel with lots of the original beauty and charm in tact. This is not a new run of the mill commercial hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay somewhere different and memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a trade show.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: They really need to get on board with free WIFI
Location: Spot on.
Small, but comfortable room, plenty of hot water and nice bed. Very close to the convention center and dining. The bar was a joke, but it's across the street from the best brew pub in SLC. Just what I wanted for a trade show.