Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Historic hotel near the convention center

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Location, room rates.
Cons: Hot water in bathroom sink ran very slow.
Location: Just a few blocks from the Convention Center and the LDS Temple Square.
Great location, near the Salt Palace Convention Center. Beautiful, old-fashioned lobby in this historic (1910) hotel. Comfortable, spacious rooms. Tasty breakfast served everyday. Perhaps a much better "Salt Lake experience" than a cookie-cutter room from a modern hotel high-rise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Very Nice

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable. Nice, big, jetted tub.
The free Wi-Fi didn't work the entire time I was there. The breakfast was not good at all and the hotel staff were not very friendly. I was also under the impression that parking would be $12.00 per day. However, there was some sort of event going on and so the price was $20.00 per day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peery Hotel- Cheap experience, decent room.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and the look and feel of the old charm.
Cons: Free/validated parking for hotel guests.
Location: Centrally located in Salt Lake City. Short walk from bars, restaurants, and happenin' downtown hotspots.
Booked the Peery after having seen the images on Expedia. The photos were a definite selling point when choosing this over similarly priced hotels in the same area. Paying for parking at the Peery was a definite downside. But once you walk in to the lobby, you are captivated by its 1900s charm. Once we got to our room, we were disappointed by how incredibly tiny the room was. It looked nothing like the beautiful rooms on the website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Davis County

Wonderful pre-Valentine's Stay

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Room was spacious, staff efficient, we love the character of hotel, and great location. Be sure to check out Squatters across the street for dinner.
Location: Squatter's Brewery, Takashi's, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Salt Palace Convention Cntr, City Creek, Gateway, Off Broadway Theater are all nearby.
When we checked in they didn't have a king suite available (which was what we booked since we had one last September and really liked it). But, after some checking one was found (!) and to our surprise it was a deluxe king suite. Not only did it have the room with the king bed and amenities in it, it had a small hallway connecting it to the bathroom and beyond that, a sitting room! So nice! Bed was so comfortable, room was very spacious, and it was nice to have a bathroom with the sink inside rather than outside of it in the room proper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torrance, CA

Historic downtown hotel feels historic

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: I liked the lobby and the free breakfast. I liked the hotel location downtown. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: The main problem was the room size and the heating. We were there in February and the heat did not work very well at all.
Location: You're in downtown so there is plenty to do all around there.
While the outside of the hotel is drab, the inside has been carefully maintained and is quite beautiful. But make no mistake, it's a hotel built in like 1910 and it feels like you're in a museum. The elevator is tiny and can only take two people at a time and the rooms are quite small.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City,Ut

Nice hotel to look at but not to stay at.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: It is located downtown.
Cons: Lose the closet to expand the bathroom.
Room was very small,the bathroom was even smaller. The sink was located in the room itself and the shower was very tiny,maybe two square feet.The shower door wouldn't fully open because the toilet was too close.The heater didn't work either.There was no difference between the hot or cold air. We had to request an extra blanket and we were still cold. The tv was an older model with a horrible picture.There was an additional 50.00 charge pending on our credit card and we're not even sure why.I realize this is an historic building but some upgrades would be nice such as losing the closet to make the bathroom bigger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rural Utah

Nice hotel in the heart of SLC.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere, the bed, and the customer service.
Cons: Breakfast. It was good, but not great.
Location: You're in the heart of everything. Great restaurants, two breweries, museums... everything!
I love this historic (but not out--of-date) hotel!!! Check-in was easy and pleasant. The room was lovely with an incredibly comfortable memory foam type of bed. Best sleep I've had in ages. Loved it! My bathroom didn't have a stopper for the tub, but I was promptly brought one by a very pleasant gentleman from Guest Services. Parking was a breeze (free street parking until 8am)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hauula Hawaii

Historic Hotel downtown SLC location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Beds are wonderful -I love older historic buildings. Lobby area is delightful. Each and every staff member was very friendly , helpful,accommodating.
Cons: I would suggest putting a desk and chair in the living room of the King suites for business travelers planning to work in their room.
Location: Hotel is a block from the Salt Palace Convention Center and of course Temple Square and City Creek shopping are also near by.
Most 100 year old buildings will have character and will also in places show their age. It you need everything "new and perfect" then pay twice as much to stay across the street. If you want historic charm in a smaller boutique hotel then this is the place. Lobby is beautiful. What was I assume was the original bar is now the location of the complementary breakfast which includes hot items. Check out the large brass elephant head on the corners of the bar. We stayed in a King suite having two rooms was a blessing as my husband wakes up and works for a few hours in the middle of the night. The living room did not have a desk but large end table by the couch was high enough to serve as a work station using a chair from the breakfast area. There are some items in the rooms that "need attention". The hotel would benefit from the services of a general handyman to go through room by room and check that for little things that need fixing such as blinds that roll down but not up or a knob that comes off the drawer or a light bulb that is burned out. But overall the building is in good shape considering it's age. I would describe the building as "well maintained" rather than "perfectly restored". If it were flawlessly restored then rooms would be priced beyond our family budget. There is a pay parking lot adjacent to the building - while some reviews have complained about the parking fees they are lower than customer parking at the Hitlon across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Nice Historic Hotel, great location!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Location and the Historic feel.
Location: Great downtown Salt Lake City location. Close to Salt Palace Convention Center, Mormon Temple, City Creek Mall, Gateway Mall (on Trax).
Our stay was great. Welcomed by a very friendly desk clerk - bell hop. He came out to the car to get baggage without being asked. The hotel was a great location. Close to the Salt Palace which was where our convention was. Walking distance to many great restaurants in downtown Salt Lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel Walkable to Family History Library

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Quaint and vintage--rooms are small, but the 1910 ambiance is nice. Tempurpedic beds are super comfy. We got an upgrade to a king, but room was small and shower stall was tiny. Rooms were very clean, but one day our room wasn't made up even though we put the service sign on the doorknob... If you are in town for genealogy, very convenient to FHL and Convention Center.