Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Duban, Kwa Zulu Natal

Neat and clean but lacks character

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: An excellent breakfast was provided: cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad or meats and/or full English breakfast with array of extras, either served on
Cons: The room was neat and clean but characterless. The TV was placed in an awkward position which made it difficult to view. A mini bar was provided but
Location: Limited unless the weather is good and you can get to nearby beaches.
Arrival at the Saffron House was a bit like a comedy of errors as the owner got my friend and I muddled up. Every question that was put to Ian was answered with 'It's in the book in the room!' He is not exactly a people person. The room was neat and clean but characterless. The TV was placed in an awkward position which made it difficult to view. A mini bar was provided but no safe for valuables which in South Africa is a requirement. No complimentary shampoo/toilet soap etc was provided. A kettle, two coffee mugs and minimal supply of tea, coffee and sugar and milk was provided daily. There was free WiFi however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurenfrom London

Perfect place for quick stopover

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay on our stopover from Durban airport to leave early morning for safari. Ian the owner picked us up from the airport and was very accommodating in recommending an easy place for dinner. Lovely quiet room by the pool, and as we were leaving before breakfast the next morning Ian graciously packed a breakfast to go for us. Small complaint was our door handle stuck the first time we closed the door and wouldn't open the door, but I am sure this is fixed by now as he was going to replace it as soon as we checked out. Only other comment is the bathroom mat was very tired, a fresh white one would really make a difference! Other than that, all good and would defo stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely last minute booking

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked the Saffron B&B from my mobile at the airport in South Africa. I was promptly greeted by the owner, Ian, when I arrived at check-in and shown to my room. I was upgraded to a charming room in the second house (behind the main house) overlooking the pool. My room had A/C, dual vanity, dual shower head, and a soaking tub. The only draw back to staying in the second house was the weak to non existent WiFi connection. There was WiFi in the main house which housed the sitting area and dining area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Accueil fantastique !

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nous avons profité de plein de petites attentions agréables dans ce b&b : énorme panier petit-déjeuner (nous devions partir trop tôt pour le prendre sur place) et panier en osier avec serviettes de plage tout prêt dans la chambre, pour profiter de la mer dès l'arrivée !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by U.K. visitorsfrom Derbyshire

comfy. beds

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good breakfast, shortage of milk in room. Management questioned our request for more. A grey caged parrot in front of the hotel was in a poor condition. Very filthy Cage. Cage not been cleaned in a long while. SPCA should take a look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2014 by Ian, Hotel Management
Henry's cage is cleaned every morning. Thank you for your concern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, UK

Posted Jul 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
Brilliant. Can't recommend it enough. Would definitely stay here again. Wonderful rooms at a very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Merseyside, UK

Visit to Salt Rock

Posted May 6, 2010
Excellent bed and breakfast. Lovely food, nice and clean and they even washed our hire car!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Emporium, PA

The Saffron House - Wonderful!

Posted Jan 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay very much at this B&B.  The hosts were very pleasant and concerned that we were comfortable.  They were helpful with extra information about what to do in the area.  Breakfast was perfect.  We would recommend this B&B anytime to anyone who wants to relax in this beautiful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Shoreham-By-Sea

Have already recommended to friends!

Posted Apr 24, 2009
Shame it was only 1 night, next time it will be longer.