Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Southington, CT USA

Great location and fair price

Posted Jun 4, 2014
We stayed three nights and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a smaller room and found the bathroom very small and a lack of closet and other storage space. We aren't particularly fussy quests and recognized that we weren't paying a small fortune for the room. The hotel is located about a thirty minute train ride from Stockholm Center, which is what we wanted after coming off a cruise of eight cities. The room, lobby, dining area and spa all look out over a glorious inlet with sparkling water, sailboats and yatchs. Unless you wish to use the swimming pool, I wouldn't recommend the Spa as everything else is underheated. Holmen Kok Och Bar is a nice full-service restaurant and next to it is a more informal place for light meals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by vix from uk

Fish skins and things on the balcony.......

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Stunning views nice tall rooms which have been quite splendrous in its day.
Cons: The stairs and carpets need a goodclean also rubbish outside the entrance
Location: Quiet, stunning surroundings relaxing area lots of boats near to train line into Stockholm
The hotel is like a pair of worn out yet comfy slippers very much and is in need of a very good clean especially the carpets,the beds were very comfy and clean.The balcony had a lot of rubbish on it from the previous occupants fish supper!but was cleaned up when we reported it. Breakfast was very much self service and quite acceptable. Some of the staff could have been a little more helpful we didn't try the Spa as we did quit a bit of walking round the hotel as the scenery is stunning.The train to Stockholm can be taken just opposite the hotel . As I said it is just in need of a little TLC but for a short stay was comfortable .
3 out of 5
by Mike from Sweden

Old fashioned hotel. Staff needs a languagecourse.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The atmosphere, the surroundin, the outside.
Cons: Staff, breakfeast, room.
Location: Spledid views, a good relaxing stay.
Nice petite SPA, very quiet area, close to the water and perfect view. The rooms could use a refreshing touch. Loose thing in the bathroom, cracks in te bathtub, missing window-piece, un-openable balony door, loose hooks on the wall. Some of the staff didnit speak swedish and barely english.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by drew from Seattle, WA

Bring her back!

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a lovely hotel that seems in need of a little attention. Wonderful rooms, architecture, and staff. A little empty, and the elevator light did not work on one elevator, forcing a short ride in the dark! Don't be fooled by the Vegas-style light on the front at night. It's actually a pretty classy old broad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PETER from FLORIDA USA

ROMANTIC STAY

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
WE LOVED OUR STAY AND WILL RETURN. STAFF IS FIRST CLASS. JUST RIGHT DISTANCEE FROM STOCKHOLM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna from London

Relaxing location

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We spent a lovely time at the Saltsjöbaden hotel for a proper getaway weekend in Stockholm. The Spa was very relaxing and Saltsjöbaden area surrounding the hotel was absolutely beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by robrod from Stockholm

Fantastic location outside of Stockholm

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great if you want to experience the fantastic seaside of Saltsjöbaden. Great restaurants close by and nice breakfast at veranda. Not so nice interior of the rooms and not so nice beds. So some of the most important bits are not in order but If you want to experience Saltsjöbaden the hotel works great. Also very good spa but not not nice gym.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Castle on the bay

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: The free breakfast was fantastic.
Cons: They should use the restaurant in the hotel for lunch and dinner instaed of the one next to it.
Location: Secluded location but only 15 miles from downtown Stockholm. Ther is a shopping mall about 5 miles from the hotel.
Excellent castle type hotel overlooking the bay with lots of sceic views!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Good hotel by water

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, pool, views
Cons: Thicker pillows, hot water system
It is certainly an older hotel as mentioned in other reviews. But it is clean and comfortable for the most part except for the pillows which are very flat. You'll need 2-3 pillows. They do not have queen or king beds but the 2 twins are pushed together forming a bigger bed. There was no hot water one night because something broke. I believe I saw that mentioned in a review so be careful coming in the winter. The views from the back of the hotel are stunning. The breakfast area also provides views of the water and you can also eat on the porch if you come early enough. The indoor pool is spectacular and relatively new as is the hot tub. The train into Stockholm stops right infront of the hotel and takes about 40 min.
2 out of 5
by BJ

Old hotel, great view, less than minimum standard.

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Great setting but very old hotel which desperately needs long overdue overhaul. Great breakfast though.