Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good B&B

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Hot water!
Location: The main historic district is within walking distance with its lovely main square, churches, and shops.
Good location a couple of minutes' walk from the main historic district. Our room was spotlessly clean with a kitchenette to make fresh percolated coffee. Furnishings were simple but with rustic charm. Breakfast was simple but very good and items replenished constantly. Downside was no hot water in the shower. Overall we were happy with our choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenfrom us

GREAT LOCATION and quaint pousada

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Quaint, beautifully decorated rooms and location
Cons: Watch out -- if you dont have the cash to pay the remainder of your bill, it will be 20% higher.
Salvador is fabulous and the Hotel Studio do Carmo is a great place to stay for a few days. Helpful staff and excellent breakfast (no longer served in the room, but on a breakfast patio downstairs)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Good choice

Posted Jun 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Had a pleasant and enjoyable stay in the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Studio do Carmo - Great Hotel in Pelourinho

Posted Mar 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
Overall, outstanding. Close to the Pelourinho for Carnaval, big rooms, kitchenettes, beautiful art (for sale too), helpful staff. Big highlight was the breakfast served in your room each morning. Pelourinho has lots of bars, restaurants. Only drawback was the heat...very hot in March even with the A/C and fans on full blast.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maracay, Venezuela

A total overpriced disappointment

Posted Jan 10, 2011
Firstly, this place is not a Hotel and it certainly doesn't have the requirements/amenities to be called this way. In any case this a very expensive Pousada or Small Bed&Breakfast. The rooms are big and clean but they don't have a TV, the fans are very noisy and the AC units are very small for the huge space. They don't have a two bed option in any of their 9 rooms so it will only suit couples. The breakfast is served in the bedroom only because they don't have a bar/restaurant/lounge area. Basically, if you stay at this hotel, don't plan to come back to it early as there's nothing to do there besides reading a good book. Another annoying thing about this place is that all the excursions or trip arranged through them would cost double the price you would find in the street. We stayed here during the new year's and even when we are very aware of the rates raising during this season we ended up paying the price of a 5 star hotel. At the beginning we thought it was a mistake by the owner but it turned up to be what she thought her cost a night even when nothing was happening during these dates around the Pelourinho area. A total disappointment with this place. The only 2 good things I can highlight from this Pousada was the kind treatment from Silvio and Beatriz at the front desk, both worth gold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Don't expect much

Posted Sep 29, 2010
At the end of the day, this was a pousada so we didn't expect much. However, the hotel really could have done a lot better with service and amenities. The breakfast that everyone was raving about in the reviews was okay and it was nice to get it in your room, but lacked variety. The architecture is old and interesting (it's a very tiny renovated building with a narrow, precarious staircase). Our room overlooked a whole neighborhood of unbelievably dilapidated, run down, shanty-town type of buildings. It was a really sad, and scary scene, but obviously not the hotel's fault. That's just the Pelorinho in general when you veer off the uber touristy, pre-determined roads. It wasn't safe to walk on any of the roads that had not been spruced up and commericalized for the tourists, and there were only a few of these touristy roads so you really had to be careful. The locals did not like the tourists much and there was a strange tension in the air. The capoeria and all the other cool things we had gone there to see were very contrived and mere money making acts (again, this is just in the overly touristy Pelorinho - other spots in Salvador may be different). We ended up checking out 2 days early to head back to another part of Brazil that we really enjoyed and the hotel refused to refund us the pre-paid fee. Fair enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Exceptional Service

Posted Sep 22, 2010
We were very impressed with the hospitality and service of the staff. The hotel was very cozy, breakfast was delicious and the room was comfortable. Due to the location of the hotel, it was very noisy but this even proved authentic in our cultural immersion of Brazil! We would definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

A great staff!

Posted Mar 4, 2010
Stayed here while in Salvador for Carnival. The staff were INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful. They helped us make arrangements for the blocos / camarotes, and made sure that we got the ones we wanted. One of them actually invited us to come party with him and his friends our first night there! The room was clean and well maintained, and the surrounding neighberhood was quite good.