Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Texas

Nice place to relax

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This hotel is very close to the airport and a perfect place to relax away from the noisy Pelourinho. The beach is right across the street in front of the hotel. However, there is not much around the hotel so if you are looking to go out this is not the right place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Willie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robertfrom UK

Cloe to the airport

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: upgrade from the previous and with one star higher delevered what the description said on the reviews.
Cons: if you are gynm person then not the place for you. Although I had a great runs on the beach.
Location: Two fab resturants close by. Ask at the front desk for details.
I moved hotels to have a better experience during the world cup. Friendly and relaxed while a massive improvement from the previous hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom australia

mar brasil in salvador

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
great place to relax and kick back some good places to eat in walking distance beach is very short walk across the road not much to do at night and would not recomend to venture out to far at night on foot and is quite far from the city about 30klm but to relax i would recomend this hotel and i would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Mar Brasil - slice of heaven at Itapoa Beach

Posted Mar 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
This little jewel across the street from Itapoa Beach in Salvador is a little slice of heaven. If you need good proximity to the airport, it is ideal; it is not downtown near the historic center. But it's a convenient 15-minute cab ride to the airport and sits next to the prettiest beach in Salvador. The service was fabulous and the setting beautiful. I'm not a fan of resorts or character-less giant hotels, so this 2-story, classy spot was perfect for me - loaded with character. One of Brazil's most prominent artists (Vinicius de Moraes) owned the house that makes up part of the premises: charming and loaded with culture. The staff could not have been more accomodating. It helps if you speak Portuguese, of course (I'm fluent). But one of the best things about Brazil is its incredibly warm people. So if you plan to go without learning some language, you should change your mind! I will happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Cherylfrom Ottawa, ON, Canada

Mar Brasil offeres superior service and value

Posted Jan 15, 2012
Pros: the staff, from general manager to front desk reception to bellmen and breakfast staff were attentive and very helpful
Cons: nothing, the staff were exemplary in meeting our needs
Location: Stay here to access the beaches and Praia de Fort . This is a better option than staying in Pelorhino, as we did not feel safe there.
Our stay at this hotel was very satisfying. I have travelled in Italy, Spain, Greece as well as my native country, Canada, and I consider Mar Brasil to be among the top five hotels I have stayed in for value and service. The staff are commended for their responsiveness to our needs and solicitous kindness, as well as their help and advice in planning our visit to Salvador, such as directions to shopping and beaches. We were very glad of the hotel amenities such as delicious breakfasts with local special dishes, restaurant and bar, free and secure parking, and two pools. We had a large apartment suite, with a balcony, well-stocked kitchen, fans and air conditioning. We recommend this hotel also for its location, which is near Itapau beach and close to clean, safe beaches in the north of the city. My friend and I noticed other women staying on their own at the hotel as well as Portuguese and European couples and families at the hotel during our stay. Do consider visiting Salvador for a beach vacation, and enjoy Mar Brasil's wonderful food and kind hospitality. Salvador is beautiful and historic, but be cautious near tourist points about thieves and persistent vendors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Great Location and Great Beaches

Posted Nov 25, 2009
Great value. Ours was an updated, large apartment style with separate living room and in the old section with a balcony view of the ocean across the road. We used the two pools where the grounds are tastefully decorated and cared for nicely...tall palms, etc. The dining area is very attractive with large windows looking out, and the breakfast included is very good. The hotel is modern, but it has a nice welcoming feel throughout. Conveniently located are a small enclosed shopping area to one side across the street and two inexpensive food/beer/drink stands with tables and friendly people gathered. A block or so away are several good restaruants of various types and a convenience store, and a 15 minute walk or short bus ride is the center of Itapua, active evening cafe scene there in the nearest plaza. That the hotel is across the road is actually a good thing. And, the barracas at the beach serve great food also. The hotel staff is very helpful and attentive, some speak English. Take long walks in any direction along the beautiful beaches and bus back. We would stay here again.