Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from uk

Spectacular location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The food, especially during the day
Be aware that the food is not great, but this is made up for by the views, location etc. it's not really a business hotel
3 out of 5
by emtyty from New York

Awesome view but in dire need of upkeep

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Upkeep
Nice view from any room but a short car ride to beaches and sort of remote. The hotel itself is outdated and in need of renovation / upkeep. Staff are not the most responsive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 26, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neres from London

great location, stunning sea view

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: the view and the location
Cons: the gym need to be refurbished asap
Location: lots of restaurants and bar in the bohemia area of rio vermelho. Short walk to Largo da Mariquita, where you can have a nice acaraje (a must!)
I always stay in the pestana bahia. The location is amazing and doesn't matter which room you get, you will always have a great sea and city view. The service by the pool is bad, the gym is awful, too old machines, but the staff do the their best to be nice, the room are very clean and well decorated, very comfortable and silent, except the sea waves noise, which is very pleasant. Apart from the gym, the hotel is great! I do recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Beautiful view. Need remodel

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: The whole hotel needs a facelift.
Location: Great location
I think that the hotel needs some update. Beautiful beach and great location. Great breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view, corteous staff but needs ...

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Deco and renovation
The Pestana is big and well located hotel with good service but in need of renovation in some floors.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by C Sierralta from Miami, FL

don't expect much

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best thing are the oceanviews from every window but that's it. Although service is friendly they have poor training and is very slow. Hotel condition is poor and rust is taking over. It's obvious the hotel does NOT spend the money for the up keeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed my stay in Salvador. The hotel was an oasis with an excellent view of the ocean and the pool area. I was in Salvador on business. I was within reasonable taxi distance of my meetings. The restaurant was nice with excellent staff. The lobby lounge was a nice place to hang out after a hard day at work. The facilities could use a little maintenance (paint, facade tile work, etc).
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travellers from Manchester

Good Location

Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was not impressed with the staff and cleanness of the rooms. We arrived at the hotel and we wait more than 10 minutes before we were seen. The staff we chatting at reception and quite happy leaving us waiting. I was asked to leave my credit card details with them, in case of consumption of items in the mini bar, despite the fact I had paid in full for our stay using a credit card. However when I finally got into my room the mini bar was empty, so was the other one in my in-laws room. The bathroom needed a good scrub and the door needed painting urgently. The duvet on my bed was stained and had no cover protecting it, the sheet on the top of the bed was not fitted and in the middle of the night I found myself on a bare mattress, I don't even want to think when was the last time they had it steam cleaned. Breakfast was good, had a large variety of food and someone cooking fresh tapiocas (typical food), omelets and frying halumi cheese (queijo de qualho), but again the waiters were very slow and did not clean the tables fast enough which resulted in annoying flies around the restaurant. The view from the hotel was beautiful, large blue sea around the front, perhaps that is the reason for the 4 stars given to this hotel (Location only)! I will not stay at Pestana Bahial again. Ibis and Mercure hotel just round the corner might be a better choice...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Dated . Slow Service. Good Location

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
For the price we got Pestana, I can't complain. The location was great but thats where it ends. The rooms were really old and the internet was extremely slow. The service at the restaurant was so slow that I thought it was closed. I probably might have to stay here again because of the location.