Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Wonderful staff and a charming hotel in the heart of the Pelo in old Salvador. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for an authentic experience in Bahia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rinoti

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by 誠六 from 大阪

今までで最悪のホテルでした

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: 何もありません
Cons: ホテルのスタッフ、部屋、食事の全ての面での改善が必要です。
Location: 唯一の救いは、世界遺産の街並みだけでした。
チェックインしたのが夜10時。 ホテルには、ポルトガル語しか話せない管理人の男が一人いるだけ。到着時にCashでしか受け付けないという宿泊料金をすぐに請求されたが、支払っても領収書もくれません。 フロントと称する机の上には、大きな字で「クレジットカートでの支払いは受けません」と、ポルトガル語、英語、フランス語で書かれた紙とブラジルの紙幣がこれ見よがしに敷かれていました。 ホテルオーナーからの歓迎のメッセージの紙切れ一枚を渡されて、通された部屋は、2階にある通りに面した、不気味な絵が掛けられたうす暗い部屋で、真夏だというのにエアコンもない。バスルームには固形石鹸のみ。 Expediaに掲載された画像とはほど遠い、古いだけで清潔感もない。窓も木造で、常時閉じてないと危険であると言われたが、閉じると部屋は真っ暗で、外の騒音が丸聞こえ。朝方4時頃まで通りで騒ぐ声とエアコンのない蒸し暑さで殆んど寝ることが出来ませんでした。 朝食は、菓子パン数種類とハムが1種類、果物をスライスしたものがそれぞれ小さな皿に盛ってテーブルに並べてあるだけ。卵料理を注文すると、卵1個分のスクランブルエッグが出て来ました。後はジュースとコーヒー、紅茶。 日頃自宅で食べる朝食よりも貧弱な内容でした。 昼前にようやく来た唯一英語が通じるオーナー夫妻に昨晩のことを説明するも、部屋がないと一蹴され、扇風機を1台貸してくれただけでした。 翌朝、9時に乗る飛行機の為、タクシーを依頼すると、早朝だからタクシーが来る保証もないと、ホテルの送迎車(約6000円)を強く薦められた。 仕方なく受け入れると、「これがブラジルだよ」とうそぶくオーナー。 午後2時頃、周辺の観光情報を教えてもらう為、フロントに行くと、もうオーナー夫妻は帰って居らず、またポルトガル語しか話せない管理人ひとりの状態。 オーナー夫婦が居なくなると、ポルトガルが語せない限り、何の情報を得ることも、コミュニケーションを交わすことも出来ません。 日中も、玄関は常時鍵で閉ざされ、門番を兼ねる管理人は、ヨレヨレのポロシャツを着て、ホテルマンというイメージにはほど遠い、何処かのアパートの管理人。 翌朝、6時40分にホテルを出発する時も、オーナーは居らず、宿泊の領収書ももらえなかった。 果物とパン位の朝食を出してもらえるかと期待したが、それもなく、無愛想な管理人が、まるで荷物を送り出すように玄関の鍵を開けて、「ありがとう」の一言もなく出してくれた。 海外旅行をする時、重要なウェイトを占めるのがホテル。 滞在中、ホテルのフロントやコンシェルジユそして、レストラン等からいろいろな情報を 得ながら、如何に快適に過ごせるかで、その旅の善し悪しが決まると言っても過言ではありません。このホテルはその基本的な機能を果しておりません。 唯一英語が話せるオーナー夫婦は殆んどホテルに居らず、何のコミュニケーションも取れない管理人一人を置くだけであれば、これは、ホテルと言うよりも、ブラジル人専用のレンタルルーム。 今まで、60ヶ国あまりの国々を旅行をし、様々なホテルに宿泊をしましたが、私が経験した中で、最低のサービス、最低の宿泊施設でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Personnel

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Propriétaires très sympathiques, déjeuner très bon et localisation facilitante.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from New York, NY

Great Location, Lovely, Recommended

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
The Pousada was in a great location on the tip of Pelourinho, which is the ideal area to stay in. It's a short walk to virtually every good restaurant and museum/church. The best food we had in Brazil was in Salvador, beating Sao Paulo, Rio and Recife. 2 area restaurants that are WELL worth the price and going out of your way for: Uaua (lots of dishes for every taste, but the shrimp in coconut is to die for and Casa do Amarelindo (amazing steaks). They are easy to find and within safe walking distance.The breakfast in the Pousada was delicious. The owner was lovely and spoke excellent English. The staff was very accommodating. I also recommend their car service. The price was lower than the cab from the airport and the driver is friendly and very engaging, even if you know minimal Portuguese. We were happy to have a seaside (actually, you are on a cliff overlooking an industrial bay, but that is what you have in most of Salvador) and in a room that had air conditioning. Air conditioning is a must because Salvador is hot. I highly recommend this Pousada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaston from Uruguay

Excellent attention for the Owners and Crew

Posted Jun 22, 2013
The good dedication and excellent service, resolved all our requests and questions. Dealing with all the crew and owners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erwin from Minneapolis

Excellent if your room has internet excess

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: The large rooms, excellent staff, breakfast, helpful management.
Cons: Needs a Wi-Fi range extender for the Wi-Fi to reach all rooms.
Location: Excellent location for Afro-Brazilian art to see and purchase.
Everything about the pouada is excellent except the WI-Fi did not reach my room on the third floor. I have some concern about a building with only an internally locked front door as the only exit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Pousada Vila Bela - THE hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is great and the view of bahia de todos os santos is amazing. The localization couldn't be better and the owners are very nice people. Two thumbs up for this hotel. A must stay in Salvador, Bahia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely Pousada, Great service

Posted Mar 29, 2012 on Hotels
This is a really quaint little pousada, with a very friendly atmosphere. The owners couldn't have been more helpful, and the staff were all very efficient, friendly and polite. We had a lovely room with a great balcony and sea view. My only two little gripes were that the bed was too soft (but i guess that's down to personal taste), and it would've been nice if there had been wifi in the rooms as well as the reception area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rosario, Argentina

En el lugar acertado de Salvador

Posted Oct 3, 2011 on Hotels
Muy bien ubicado para conocer y recorrer el Pelourinho. Excelente la atención de sus dueños y sobre todo las recomendaciones e indicaciones para visitar la ciudad, sus lugares de interés y conseguir lo más adecuado para moverse e ir a donde uno tiene interés. Las sugerencias sobre retaurants, visitas y cualquier otra necesidad fueron muy buenas y amablemente propuestas. Totalmente recomendable