Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great sceneric hotel, but room for improvement

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Hotel Vila Gale is in a great spot overlooking the ocean, there are beautiful scenic spots everywhere you go. The hotel offers good value, the rooms are reasonably priced and the various services are all priced very fairly. However there are plenty of areas that could be improved, they have expensive and high end TV sets in every room but the distribution is low grade, it's a shame since they would have spent a lot on getting good TV but all you get is low res SD inputs. The pool overlooks the ocean but in a spot where you don't get any sun for most parts, it gets quite chilly to just lounge around. The wifi also cost extra to be in the rooms and the coverage could be a lot better. Overall, worth the money but they could do a lot better with what they have got, the ocean view really is quite breathtaking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

World Cup

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Stayed for WC match. Location is not to bad (short cab to tourist area) service was just ok, food was ok, internet was brutally slow, pool is in the shade all day, gym is a joke and the bathroom smelt mouldy. Would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

3 star hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Service
Cons: outdated rooms
I was staying at the hotel for FIFA2014, the hotel is in a good location, the staff is friendly and accommodating although English is not their strong suit. All in all fantastic service, great breakfast service but the rooms are outdated and need improvements although very comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicole from United States

Rethink this stay.

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we arrived we thought we had booked a cabana as we got the best room offered and there we no photos to back up what our room would look like. We asked for an ocean view room, and when we arrived we had a sub standard room(no cabana), with a craning neck view of the ocean. Our balcony had no furniture. Also my mother was staying with us in a triple and she had to sleep in a rock hard cott, although we had specifically asked for another bed. The food was very plain, although it was plentiful. The service also not good. There was no english to be had throughout the hotel. I do not expect everyone to speak english, however having a couple people speak at reception would be a plus. It took them days literally to send us a hammock and a blanket for our room after asking for it about 4 times. All in all we did not feel very welcome which is not the best feeling when you are hoping for a great resort that has great ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Leon

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was clean; the staff was friendly and the temperature was nice and cold. They have the typical amenities, pool, internet and breakfast (which was quite good). The price was fair for the time of year in Rio. Location is a bit far from airport and center of town. Area was safe and close to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlos

Good for Price

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Its a nice Hotel. Nothing fancy, just the basics for a good rest. Theres better options on the surroundings, but for the price is a smart decision.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Stephen

A complete mistake!

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nothing as described on this site. Building site next door and 100 reads taxi from airport. Best thing about hotel was clean sheets, breakfast, view and, oh yes, checking out. Manager Luis was courteous and understanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by L. Bowman

Good location near sites

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was very pleased with the hotel. It is worth the small additional fee to have an ocean front room! This is an ideal hotel for visiting Salvador, Bahia. You will need to take short, inexpensive taxi rides to more interesting restaurants and places of interest. The front desk is more than helpful. They will go out of their way to make sure you get the best out of your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlos

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant hotel, nicely placed.

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: place, staff, location
Cons: air-conditioning system in the room
Location: strategically located in the best area.
The hotel is strategically placed in the best part of the city. The only thing with the room was the air-conditioning system, annoying as hell (loud sound and uncomfortable circulation of the cold air around the room).