Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

Well positioned comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Accommodation, restaurant,beer garden, helpful staff, location
Location: 10 mins from the railway station on foot. Similar time to the old town with its many places to visit.
The Hotel Bräu Imlauer proved to be ideally situated, a short walk from the railway station and the old town, an on bus routes. The staff were excellent and the room ideal. Breakfast is oustanding and we enjoyed a very good dinner! We thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Salzburg!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Dissappointed, would not stay here again

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The rooms need to be significantly upgraded
Location: The location is good. It is within walking distance from the old city which is a key tourist attraction.
Stayed here for 1night. The room was very small even by European standards. We were given 2 single beds at either side of the room. Room and hotel are in need of some serious upgrades. The beds were hard. This hotel is run down. Will not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Nice hotel close to the main train station.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Best Western Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau exceeded our expectations. The breakfast buffet and light dinners that we ate were delicious with local selections. This was the best breakfast buffet that we had during two weeks in Austria and the Czech Republic. We had beautiful weather, so it was nice to eat dinner outside in the beer garden. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are small, similar to very clean college dorm rooms with a small bathroom. However, we didn't spend much time in the room. It was very quiet throughout the night even though our room looked out over the train station. We asked for a quiet room and the staff provided it. We could easily walk to the train station, and were just a few blocks from Mirabell Palace Gardens. We could have caught a bus, but were able to walk along the river to and from old town without any trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice comfortable hotel in a quiet, pleasant area

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Modern, comfortable, clean, great location
Cons: Restaurant in hotel was fair only.
Location: Walking distance to old city, Sound of Music Tour a must - and they picked us up right at hotel
Very clean, modern, comfortable hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. In a quiet area of Salzburg but close walking access to old city and other sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleethorpes, UK

Family break

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Cons: Twin rooms should be to same standard as doubles. Had to put kettle on bedside table to plug it in as there was no socket near the desk.
4 night stay in July. Good location close to train station (5 mins). 15 mins walk to centre. Lots of bus stops close by if you want to venture further afield. We went to Untersberg and Hellbrun on No.25. Entrance and lobby smart, nice area to eat outside. Double room was a good size but the twin room was tiny (more like a single with extra bed fitted in). Room was so small the only place to open a suitcase was on the bed. Breakfast not included in price. Desk staff were very helpful and friendly, bar/restaurant staff not so (but ok).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel close to station

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Nice hotel, very close to station and tourist attractions. Breakfast was great just for €10 per person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for local excursions!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Large bathroom and big bedroom...room for 3 adults without feeling crowded. The restaurant has wonderful food and very friendly staff.
This hotel is only a couple of blocks from the main meeting place for several of the local excursions. We walked over every day in just a few minutes. Our room was "roomy". with an extra bed added for our daughter. The free internet is great and the honor bar held beer for $3 and nuts for $1...great for late night snacking :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Hotel accessible to old town and most sights

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Good small hotel
Location: Most museums or Mozart's house etc are walkable distance.
Hotel is old, but rooms are renovated recently. However, breakfast menu is very small & minimal items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect for all our requirements.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and room
Cons: This hotel is right next to the train station so if you're a light sleeper expect slight noise from passing trains. Don't let it put you off though.
Location: All attractions are within easy reach (5-10 minute walk).
The staff at this hotel were more than helpful when we asked about local attractions, directions and helping us find other hotels on our journey. The room was spacious and very clean. All attractions are within a short walk. This is definitely and friendly hotel :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com