Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

An average hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Staff were helpful and friendly, room was clean but bathroom was very old and small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: On of best continental breakfasts on our month trip. Staff couldn't be more helpful.
Cons: No perfect
Location: Short walk across river to old town? Lots of restaurants and shopping just out the door.
Hotel is in a great location about 400 metre walk to old town. Friendly staff and fantastic breakfast for only E7.50. A little noisy in street outside late at night but when window was closed noise was reduced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharleen from Ottawa

Great location near Old City

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic, simple room very well located-- 3 minutes walk from Old City. Restaurants and grocery stores located very near. 2 light bulbs burned out in my room and they were replaced during cleaning the next day. Breakfast was very inclusive: juices, coffees, breads, croissant, jams, yogurt, cereal, cheese meats. Free wifi access in the rooms. The room was so close to everything that sometimes, I would just go back to my room to quickly research something on the internet before heading out again. I would stay here again. The only thing I found a little strange was that the toilet did not flush well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by g from denver, CO

Nice hotel in downtown Salzburg

Posted Dec 3, 2013
The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The hotel was clean and the breakfast (extra $) was very good. The decor was primarily from the 1980s. Close proximity to shopping, and in a safe neighborhood. We would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Todd from Atlanta, GA, USA

Wanted to Love It

Posted Jul 7, 2012
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Construction noise, bar noise, mattresses, no AC
Location: Great location close to the river and several great restaurants
I really wanted to enjoy this hotel - the ratings were excellent, the location was excellent (proved to probably be a detriment in the end), the staff was fantastic - but in the end, despite all of these great things, it was not a favorable experience in the end. As I mentioned, there are lots of great things about this hotel, but unfortunately, when my family and I stayed there, it had lots going against it: hot weather (there is no AC in the hotel or in most of Austria apparently), road construction outside which commenced around 7:30 every morning, and 2 nearby bars which stayed open until around 2:00 every morning, both of which had several very loud patrons outside creating a lot of noise. Together with the VERY thin, hard "mattresses", it all added up to very uncomfortable, restless nights of sleep - which is tough to manage when you are traveling with young kids. I will say that if I had been traveling without the kids and had been able to stay up with the crowds at the bars, and had I been traveling in colder weather and not needed AC, then I could have gotten over the mattresses and probably would have enjoyed my stay. But given all the circumstances, it proved to be less than an enjoyable stay. Sorry Marianne and staff - we hope to see you again under better circumstances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Central to town.

Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
To start DR MARIANNE was "fantastique" she helped us with the sites/parking for the car....etc. There was a music festival and construction on the road to the hotel in progress upon our arrival and it was impossible to get to the hotel....I did at one point drive the car into the festival on the streets...LOL. The room was PERFECT but the roof angle on the top floor near the bed was tough for us tall guys,it was a real head banger if you were not careful? The WIFI from our room was a real bonus since it is not as easy to obtain sometimes in europe?? As well the breakfast was GREAT!!... get there early it will fill up.....the FAMILY was a pleasure to meet and stay with.....I would LOVE to go back :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

I

Posted Jun 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Salzburg

Posted Aug 15, 2011
Perfect place to stay in Salzburg. It is a family run hotel right in the center of the old city. Marianne at the front desk was delightful and very helpful. I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Excellent location/fantastic service

Posted Jun 28, 2011
Hotel was located perfectly for exploring Salzburg - within old city, easy walking distance to tour buses at Mirabella Gardens etc. This hotel is run by a very friendly family that make you feel very welcome. They assisted us with all tour bookings and recommended several to us in addition to those we already knew about. Also recommended several great resturants which were in the vicinity. Breakfast was excellent (not a full cooked breakfast), but was excellent value for money, and the unlimited (great) coffee was a godsend in the morning. Salzburg was probably the highlight of our tour (which included Italy and Austria). Highlight must be the Ice Cave - but warning it is not for the light hearted - it was one of the most strenuous tours that we did in our 4 weeks touring - climbing up the side of the mountain (good path though) and 1400 steps in the ice cave - however the view from the top and inside the cave were unbelievable. The salt mines, sound of music tour and a Mozart. concert in the fortress are not to be missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted May 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
We recently stayed at hotel. Hotel is conveniently located to the new and old town. Walking distance to attractions and restaurants located nearby. Room was clean but the service was most exceptional. Hotel is run by a family, which we very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.