Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Young couple

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Nice hotel with nice clean rooms, and free wifi. Rooms were comfortable - one complaint is that the double bed was really two single beds pushed together, which makes it difficult not to accidentally push them apart and fall into the hole. Hotel wasn't in the old city, but it was a nice 10 min walk away thru nice and interesting streets. There's a supermarket really close by which is convenient. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in Salzburg's 'hotel strip'

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Size, location and breakfast buffet.
The hotel is located within comfortable walking distance of all of Salzburg's sights, as well as their central train station. Located towards the end of the 'hotel strip,' it is nestled in between the touristy and the residential, with access to a grocery store immediately across the street (which is one of the more reasonably priced places to find Mozart Kugels!). The staff were helpful in booking items, but a bit short and rude. The room was large and clean, with hardwood instead of carpets, which is probably helpful if you have severe allergies. The breakfast buffet was the largest and most varied of our time in Germany/Austria, probably because Salzburg sees so many international tourists. In addition to the regular bread/rolls, sliced meats, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumbers, yogourt and musli that seem to be the staple, they had eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), bacon, bread, cold waffles (and a toaster), fresh fruit, as well as the standard tea/coffee/juice options. The hotel also has a no-charge computer in their bar area for guests, in addition to free wi-fi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Disappointing Hotel 10 minutes from the old city

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the old city and the staff's effects to welcome you.
Cons: Renovate the hotel and make it into a true four star facility of our times.
Location: Close to the old city - nothing else.
Location is great, but to advise this hotel as having four stars is misleading. Even the plaque with the name of the hotel and the four stars at the entrance has not been cleaned for about 10 years. The carpet leading to the foyer needed a good cleaning job about five years ago. The breakfast room reminds you of a rundown's dormitory's cafeteria a la 1960. Rooms relatively clean, but at the level of a two or three star facility. Carpets torn on the hallways and so on...this should be advertised as a two, but maximum three- start hotel. Quite misleading and disappointing for a visit to a city of salzburg's fame...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not as seen on website

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Stark room, not maintained, not worth the price, additional charge for air conditioning, overall an overpriced hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Do not drive here

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Where do we start here?
Location: All we wanted to do was get out of this place.
Our experience of this hotel started badly when we discovered there was not a car park as described. We were driving all across Europe and I had specifically booked hotels where there was parking. The desk clerk was not at all sympathetic to this saying there was a garage for 5 cars, which whilst true was virtually unusable even if there had been a "space". Just a simple apology that things were not as expected would have helped, but no. Instead our only option was to use the provided parking ticket for the public car park "2 minutes" down the road. Do not believe this either. The car park was a few minutes walk to the entrance but a lot further along dismal, damp, slippery, mouldy looking corridors of this underground hole to actually exit as a pedestrian into an alleyway. The room was large enough - we had a family suite, but the children found a pair of ladies underwear on the floor of their room. We were beyond complaining by this point, and just saw the night out. However, whilst there was an air-con unit, it was not functioning. Others have commented that you need to pay extra for these - we were not given this option. This meant we had to leave the window open due to the heat, but trams and noisy people shouting all night were not conducive to sleep.The showers were next to useless in the morning. At breakfast an old man spent the whole time glaring at us menacingly from the kitchen doorway, as though daring us to have more food than he was prepared to allow.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
This was not a 4 star or even a 3 star hotel. The staff was friendly and helped us get in contact with Dr but other than that it was the worst hotel during our 2 weeks in Germany and Austria. The room was dirty. We made 2 complaints to management about it. We were told it would be taken care of but never was. The tub was dirty and didn't drain well. There was half of a privacy drape in one of the rooms and in the other room the drapes were starting to come apart. The worst part of the room was the hair. Hair everywhere. It was disgusting! Warm water was off and on. The pictures online do not represent the room at all. Very disappointed !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No A.C

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Our stay would have been much more comfortable if there was free air condition. The cleaning ladies did not even clean up the nail clippings on the table. But other than that our room was clean, the staff was helpful and it is a well kept hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The AC wasn't working and on most of the website I needed they were blocked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randy from Penticton, BC

Good Hotel in quieter area but still Close in

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Quiet; clean; great breakfast
Location: We parked the car and walked to the old town and most sights. Bought a one day Salzburg Card for inexpensive access to sights - great value.
We enjoyed our 2 day stay with pleasant efficient staff. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the edge of old town. Parking was easy to get at and reasonable. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dpotter649 from u.s.a

Better than expected

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location big rooms we had two adults and three children plenty of room even though we booked for four. They have a small parking garage and parking was only 14 E. Totally close to town very close to the river. When we checked in the lady was kind of a beeach but the rest of the staff was great. Also breakfast was included and wexcellentxce