Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with central locaion

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Staff were very helpful and friendly, very central location, tasty breakfasts, peaceful
Cons: The lighting in the room could have been a bit brighter
Location: Location is right in the centre of the Salzburg Old Town - loads to do nearby - all the central Salzburg sights- beautiful city and river walks too
Wonderful holiday in sunny Salzburg - great sight-seeing, walking and beautiful countryside. We will definitely come back to Austria again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modernized, beautiful hotel in historic location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
I just got back from my stay, and Hotel Elefant was great. First off, it is in a wonderful location. It is in the heart of old town Salzburg, steps away from Getreidegasse, the main squares, and the Cathedral. With a location like that, in an old building, I am usually willing to accept some other faults, but I did not have to here. For instance, understanding that the hotel was old, I expected it to be comfortable, but have some historical "quirks" like hot water or AC issues. What I found was a beautifully appointed, modernized room, with an elevator, ample outlets in my room, a safe, minibar, and hairdryer, along with a very modern bathroom (with good hot water and water pressure). It was immaculately clean, the AC worked great, and there were plenty of towels restocked daily. I had a beautiful view of the fortress from my window. In addition, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They gave me info on tours and directions to the fortress, helped me schedule a cab to the airport when I was leaving, and generally were helpful with suggestions of activities and restaurants. They also had their own restaurant downstairs which was very good. My only negative comment is that it was a bit expensive for a single, but I was paying music festival season prices, so that is to be expected. I would definitely stay again. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel Elefant is in a perfect location. The restaurant is excellent, the rooms are comfortable (and air-conditioned), and the staff is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Located right in the middle of the old city

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Location: Minutes walk from all the sights in the old city and an easy stroll across the river into the more modern city.
Very charismatic traditional hotel located in a narrow side street in the old city. It was a bit of a performance to arrive at the hotel by car as you have to go through the barriers into the pedestrian area. At as there is a restaurant at the hotel with tables on the street is was a slightly embarrassing performance to get up the street to unload bags. However once we were over that it was the perfect location for wandering around the old streets of the city. The room, although a tad small was very comfortable, clean and well equipped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel smack in the middle of everything

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We spent 3 nights here during a 3 week trip. The hotel is excellent, check in was smooth, breakfast was delicious, and everything was clean and comfortable. The room was huge! We had a living room, which after time spent in tiny European rooms in other cities was quite refreshing. Bathroom was great. The convenience of the hotel cannot be beaten, it is literally in the middle of everywhere you want to be. 5 minute walk to the bus stop, the fortress entrance, the river, and you're on a main street for shops and restaurants. My only complaint was that the wifi wasn't great--we had a lot of issues with having to re-enter codes and turn our devices off and on every time we wanted to use it, but not a dealbreaker by any means. Excellent hotel and would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Elefant could not be better located for exploring the old city of Salzburg. The rooms are clean and tastefully appointed. The air conditioning was a great bonus too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast.
Cons: Street noise can be a problem at night. Although pleasant out, we closed the windows to keep the noise out for sleeping. Double windows - very quiet.
Stayed for two nights in Salzburg at Hotel Elefant. Beautiful and historic hotel! Helpful and friendly English speaking staff, fantastic location right in the heart of historic Salzburg, really good breakfast to start the day off right, comfortable rooms and beds. We would absolutely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA USA

Good location in Old Salzburg, but we had problems

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The location in the center of Old Town is great once you get to it. There are loads of shops nearby and Hohensalzburg fortress is a five minute walk.
Cons: Hotel needs to work with its next-door restaurant to provide direct billing for hotel guests. That was a major issue for us. A/C was ineffecive.
Location: Location is grat for shopping and seeing the main sights in Old Salzburg. The funicular to the Fortress and to the cathedrals are a short walk away.
The hotel is in a small alley right in the middle of the pedestrian-only zone in Old Salzburg. It requires a special access code to lower the bollards to get to the hotel to drop off your luggage and check in. There is no on-site parking. That is at the public parking area inside the hollowed-out mountain that is a brisk 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Access is not easy to find and is very inconvenient. Our room on the 2nd floor was fine--simply, but well furnished, clean, and with a comfortable, European-style bed. However the room air conditioner did not work properly. It pumped out hot air and made the room very stuffy and warm. Management assured us it would be fixed, but it never was. At night, we tried opening the window to get some cool night arir into teh room. Bad idea. The combination of revelers singing, shouting and talking their way home late at night, the noise from street cleaners and the irritating scraping and metailic sounds as restaurant workers moved their curbside tables around and shook out their tablecloths kept us awake until very early in the morning (2-3 AM). The restaurant next door (shares an entrance with the hotel lobby) serves excellent food, but they do not have a billing agreement with the hotel. When their automoted credit card system failed, they had no way to handle the charge and demanded cash. We did not have enough Euros to cover the bill, so a dilemma ensued. Not a god experience at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sherrie from Canada

Right in the city

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very nice, food was very good too. Need a gate access code to let you drive into the walking street to the hotel to drop off luggage...something we didn't know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Maryland, US

Great hotel right in the old part of town

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, great service, great location at a decent price. The only downside was that the air conditioning was not working in the hotel rooms, so our two rooms were uncomfortable. With the windows open it was okay, but loud. It took the staff two days to fix it. The third night the AC was working and the room was a lot more comfortable.