Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Nice hotel in old town

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great location in the heart of old town. Building is old but rooms are nice. Could use some updating unless you are looking for old time charm although bathroom is modern and very nice. No views from room. Staff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Goldener Hirsch hotel was just what we wanted.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The dinner we had at the restaurant was excellent. The room was a very nice size. The wifi was quite useful.
Cons: Maybe more signs to make it easier to find your room.
Location: There were historic attractions, restaurants, stores, etc.
The hotel felt like it belonged in Salzburg; just what we wanted. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location is ideal and we could walk to many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alot less corporate than most Hotels

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Read a great review
Cons: Nothing really
Location: City on your doorstep - a minutes walk. The Stiegl Brewery tour 10 mins bus away a must !!
This hotel is not full of cliches unlike some in its comparative rating. It resembles in someways dare I say a Scottish Hunting Lodge but that is not to take away of course the well presented Austrian (very non-corporate) traditional atmosphere at this Hotel where service excels but in a subtle way. The staff obviously like the environment they work in and that comes over in spades. Can't really fault anything at all and would most definitely return again most likely in the winter where this Hotel will no doubt be very cosy indeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Simple, outstanding, one-of-a-kind.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Location: Could not be better.
Excellent service. Outstanding location. Authentic, NOT luxurious experience. This is real Austria, historic and exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Wonderful in all ways, full of character and superb service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location,close to everything.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The location and comfortable bed.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved especially considering the price of 30 euros plus service.
Had a lovely stay.Loved the location.The building and decor are very authentic. If you are driving,be aware it is a bit hard to find.Once you get there you will be glad you did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gigi from b

Nice and very well placed

Posted May 30, 2014
Confortable, warm personal, fantastic area, close to the history of Salzburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Doyle from Houston, Texas

Great Old-World Hotel!

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This a great hotel in a great location with great service! The only downside was the weather was in between heat and cool, so they left the system on heat expecting a cold front. So we had to open the windows, which presented bad noise issues being right over the main street. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catherine Cook Davis from Princeton, NJ, USA

Perfect location in a perfect little city

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a charming hotel, staffed by lovely, helpful folks. We had to come and go at odd hours, and this was never a problem. I can't say enough about the staff. They made our stay in Salzburg relaxing and enjoyable. i would definately stay at the Goldener Hirsch again!