Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL.

Loved this place. I have stayed here before.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Close to the train station, very good cafés near by, nice walk to the city center, the staff was out standing & very helpful.
Cons: A fan in the room would have been nice for some additional air circulation.
Location: Great cafes near by, close to the train station & the river.
Great location, close to the train station, river walk to old town. Staff was outstanding & very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel near station.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Good breakfast and confortable room. Helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tosher from England

Convenient basic hotel

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Location: Walking distance of Salzburg centre then endless things to do
Convenient budget rate hotel fairly near centre, traditional Austrian small hotel experience, honest a goodness, value for money and basic. Has free parking which in Salzburg is a big bonus. Fairly near centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cecil from Northallerton

Nice hotel close to station

Posted Nov 11, 2013
This is a nice hotel that I stayed in for one night prior to catching an early train. Very pleased with the hotel itself and it's certainly convenient for the station. It's not the closest to the centre of town, though that's only a walk of 15 minutes or so away. It's unfortunate that the tone of the area is dragged down by the slew of sex shops and betting shops nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aileen from Sydney

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely stay in Salzburg at Hotel Hohenstauffen. Staff were great, giving tips on where to go. 15min walk to the old part of town but you can take a nice scenic walk on the banks of the river. There is an "adult shop" opposite the street but I didn't manage to run into any dodgy characters, other than that location was pretty convenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from UK

Great quiet location and very friendly.

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect for train travel and nice walk into centre.
The staff were extremely helpful, especially when we needed advise about travel. They gave us all the help that was possible. Free internet. Good location close to the station but on a quiet street. Ask for the 4 poster bed at no extra charge if available. They arranged tours and picked up from the hotel. We left our luggage there on the last day, and as we finally quietly left, they came out to call and wave us off. I would highly recommend this family run hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Close to river with charming walk to old town

Posted Jan 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located in a charming older building that has been maintained in same family for generations. While the historic sites in the olde town are approximately a 15-minute walk, the river offers a charming way of getting there. As you round the bend and see a quaint old cathedral on the hill-top, the moment feels like what you imagined the lovely town of Salzburg would look like. The concierge was very helpful in idenitying local restaurant options and tourist attractions. The managers / owners were less personable but sem to actively be on site. Breakfast is plentiful and held in a quaint buffet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Felt like a Von Trapp and was treated like royalty!

Posted Jul 25, 2011
I can't say enough good things about Hotel Hohenstauffen. I am a young woman who traveled alone to Salzburg for the weekend and I could not have been made more comfortable. The pictures on their website do not do the rooms justice; I walked into my single to find gold framed mirrors, the coziest comforter I've ever cuddled up with, and beautiful Austrian decor. I can't emphasize enough how wonderful the included breakfast was each morning, and the staff really went above and beyond their duties to ensure I was comfortable. They helped me get a cab, took my shoes to dry them when the rain had soaked them through, were incredibly kind and helpful with directions, and unfailingly cared for each guest. It is so nice to stay in a family run hotel; the service they provided was more extensive and genuine than anything I have ever received in a four star hotel. If you want accommodations with local charm, excellent customer service, and a gorgeous room, and don't mind a fifteen minute walk to the main sights (which you shouldn't), STAY HERE! Such a value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2010
The Hohenstauffen is a nice, family-run hotel just a 2 minute walk from the main train station in Salzburg. The old city center is about a 10-15 minute walk away. The room was clean, even if the furnishings were a bit dated, and the bathroom was fine (not too cramped for a European hotel and good shower pressure). The owners were nice and offered suggestions and advice, and even let me borrow a US-European electrical adapter. The breakfast had a decent spread of fruit, bread, cheese, cold cuts, and cereal. There is a sitting room where you can relax and use the internet (for a fee). There is also an internet 'cafe' a few doors down. Recommended if you don't mind walking to and from the city center everyday.