Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mike albertolle from san francisco

beautiful relaxing location half hour walk to town

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place very picturesque, terrific breakfast in a spectacular room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen from Texas, USA

Great location for Sound of Music fan!

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel with beautiful views. Would stay again when visiting Salzburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is just outside the city...most taxis cost ten euro per journey in and out. Our room was quite small but no other hotel could EVER compare to the breakfast experience in the palace. This was an amazing setting and one we loved! Extra bonus was the Sound of Music was filmed here! There's a great swimming park around the corner too.
2 out of 5
by Felicia from New York, NY

What you see is not what you get

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Cons: Most things could be improved in my opinion
Location: Salzburg is beautiful and there is a very lovely restaurant just a stones throw from the hotel on the other edge of the lake.
They advertise the hotel as the building made famous in the Sound of Music, but really most of the rooms are in a different building which has potential, but is rundown at this point and desperate for renovation. If you are so unlucky, as I was, to be put in a room at the end of the hall, it is a ridiculously long, winding trek around and around to get to your room and there is no one from the hotel that even offers to help you at all. The rooms are tiny with the sparest of decoration and the bathrooms look just about as nice as most public restrooms I used in the area. The best thing about the place is breakfast in the other building which, though also rundown, is much grander and more luxurious in feel. All that said, when you drive up, the outdoor setting is quite lovely lakeside and the grounds are well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by thoushalttravel from LA

One way frustration

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked the hotel, because we're Sound of music fans. It was hard to find and the entrance can easily be missed as the surrounding streets are one way and the giant iron gate is not clearly marked (maybe a good sign would be helpful) Most of the hotel rooms are in the next building with simple d├ęcor and furnishing. The breakfast was served in the palace ballroom and was plenty and tasty. The inner city is nearby on the other side of the castle, but better to drive there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by traveler from US

Lovely Property

Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very clean; modern decor. It was unclear from my Hotels.com booking that our accommodations were not actually in the Schloss, so we were disappointed to learn we were staying in the adjacent building Meierhof. Of course we could enter the Schloss whenever we liked and enjoyed a lovely breakfast here in the morning with a bountiful buffet (many hot and cold options) and a beautiful view of the lake. The property is lovely, on the lake with gardens, and if you walk outside the gate to the left down the road you can obtain a picture perfect view of the Fortress. The location is a bit far from the city center/sites. There were two lovely restaurants within walking distance serving traditional Austrian food. Both delicious and recommended by the hotel staff. We stayed just one night but would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel staff spoke English. In general the hotel staff was helpful with requests but did not go out of their way to help with travel arrangements. When I requested they set up reservations for a show they called. However, when the show we were interested in was booked they did not offer alternatives or check for other times, evenings, etc. Overall a lovely place.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from Yorks

So very dissapointed.

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The pics look amazing on the website, however when we got there, we soon realised that we were staying in a block next door to the palace, well that was disappointing, but we'd treated ourselves and booked a superior room so who knows. Our 'superior' room was anything but! It was a good size and there the good points end. The room looked like it was decorated in the 90s, the carpet was cheap and horrible, the tv gave off interference noises when I double checked the pictures on my kindle - its been a while since I've had to turn a tv on with the button on the front and get static noises coming off it too!! We went down and expressed our disappointment to reception and were not offered anything -no apology, no change of room, nothing. Our night then got worse as our room was right above the entrance where we were kept awake for the most part of the night by loud visitors checking in and out and taxi drivers standing chatting and laughing. After trying to speak to the drivers and getting nowhere my husband phoned down to ask reception up speak to them. After 20 minutes it was clear that they weren't going to do anything and do he had to go downstairs, where once again no apology was forthcoming or any promise of action that would be taken. After a couple of hours sleep we checked out after probably THE most disappointing night ever. I would advise anyone and everyone not to stay here until they've upped their game and done some serious make overs - both rooms and staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sound of Music

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fun hotel close to Salzburg. You get both city and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting, beautiful building

Posted Mar 31, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in Salzburg. The Schloss Leopoldskron and Meierhof met our expectations, the reception team were very welcoming on arrival and although there was a mix up on the room this was sorted out quickly. We enjoyed the location which is about 20 minutes walk into the old town but in an area full of water courses and birdlife. The hotel room was as expected for what is a conference centre, breakfast in the schloss itself was good with a variety that should meet most peoples needs. We would stay again hopefully when a little warmer and overall the stay was very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert

These are a few of my favorite things

Posted Jan 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
For any Sound of Music fan it is a must stay. Even if you are not a fan having breakfast in a palace and having the run of the place is worth it in itself. The location is a good and strenuis walk (20 min)to the center of town. If you are not in good shape take a car. There is a nice restauant a few blocks away from the schloss but not much else. You are on a lake so hiking is a good activity. If I was visiting Salzburg for the first time I would get a place in the center of town but if you can spare 1 night for this place it is worth it.