Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuala lumpur

Tranquill place with views of hills

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The big garden and lake in front of hotel and tranquility.
Cons: The pillows are too soft. I like to read in bed and there is no headboard to support my back. Very uncomfortable to support my back on two soft pillow
Location: Location is a bit out of town but if u r fit you can still walk to the town which is quite small. Youncould cross the road and walk up to the Fortress
The place is great to unwind . There is a big lake with ducks and fowls swimming around. The expansive area around the lake is good for walking.Breakfast is sumptuous . The receptionist Karin is very helpful and friendly. The main Schloss has an ancient Viennese charm about it. Imagine having breakfast in a grand hall .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Charlie from Seattle

A hidden gem

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel is a palace/museum itself and the breakfast dinning hall took our breath away. The view in the garden by the lake is amazing.
Cons: Some information on how to get into the hotel would be very helpful. We had to park our car somewhere else and walk over to figure out how to get in.
Location: Short drive to Salsburg old town. Best place to park is at the fortress.
The hotel is the best hotel I have ever been to. I didn't know it was a palace when I booked it. The place mainly serves as a conference center now hosting all kinds of international conferences. We only saw a few tourists like us when we stayed there. Breakfast was excellent with tons of choices. We spent most of time take pictures of the dinning hall (gorgeous fresco on the ceiling and walls). The room we booked was nice and very clean. Services were excellent. Staff at the front desk were very helpful. The hotel was hands-down the best hotel ever for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeanette from Sydney

Fantastic location with brilliant views

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Being able to wander around the Schloss and the peacefulness of the grounds.
Cons: The rooms in the Maierhof need to be softened a little.
Location: The lake, close to a hop on hop off bus stop. You need to travel from here to see other sights in Salzburg.
I loved the ambience of the place. The grounds and views alone are worth staying there. If you stay in the building next to the Schloss the rooms are functional but the rest of the place made up for that. The history of the Schloss and the fact that parts of it were used in the Sound of Music made it an interesting stay. I will stay here again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mike albertolle from san francisco

beautiful relaxing location half hour walk to town

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place very picturesque, terrific breakfast in a spectacular room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen from Texas, USA

Great location for Sound of Music fan!

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel with beautiful views. Would stay again when visiting Salzburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is just outside the city...most taxis cost ten euro per journey in and out. Our room was quite small but no other hotel could EVER compare to the breakfast experience in the palace. This was an amazing setting and one we loved! Extra bonus was the Sound of Music was filmed here! There's a great swimming park around the corner too.
2 out of 5
by Felicia from New York, NY

What you see is not what you get

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Cons: Most things could be improved in my opinion
Location: Salzburg is beautiful and there is a very lovely restaurant just a stones throw from the hotel on the other edge of the lake.
They advertise the hotel as the building made famous in the Sound of Music, but really most of the rooms are in a different building which has potential, but is rundown at this point and desperate for renovation. If you are so unlucky, as I was, to be put in a room at the end of the hall, it is a ridiculously long, winding trek around and around to get to your room and there is no one from the hotel that even offers to help you at all. The rooms are tiny with the sparest of decoration and the bathrooms look just about as nice as most public restrooms I used in the area. The best thing about the place is breakfast in the other building which, though also rundown, is much grander and more luxurious in feel. All that said, when you drive up, the outdoor setting is quite lovely lakeside and the grounds are well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by thoushalttravel from LA

One way frustration

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked the hotel, because we're Sound of music fans. It was hard to find and the entrance can easily be missed as the surrounding streets are one way and the giant iron gate is not clearly marked (maybe a good sign would be helpful) Most of the hotel rooms are in the next building with simple d├ęcor and furnishing. The breakfast was served in the palace ballroom and was plenty and tasty. The inner city is nearby on the other side of the castle, but better to drive there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by traveler from US

Lovely Property

Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very clean; modern decor. It was unclear from my Hotels.com booking that our accommodations were not actually in the Schloss, so we were disappointed to learn we were staying in the adjacent building Meierhof. Of course we could enter the Schloss whenever we liked and enjoyed a lovely breakfast here in the morning with a bountiful buffet (many hot and cold options) and a beautiful view of the lake. The property is lovely, on the lake with gardens, and if you walk outside the gate to the left down the road you can obtain a picture perfect view of the Fortress. The location is a bit far from the city center/sites. There were two lovely restaurants within walking distance serving traditional Austrian food. Both delicious and recommended by the hotel staff. We stayed just one night but would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel staff spoke English. In general the hotel staff was helpful with requests but did not go out of their way to help with travel arrangements. When I requested they set up reservations for a show they called. However, when the show we were interested in was booked they did not offer alternatives or check for other times, evenings, etc. Overall a lovely place.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from Yorks

So very dissapointed.

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The pics look amazing on the website, however when we got there, we soon realised that we were staying in a block next door to the palace, well that was disappointing, but we'd treated ourselves and booked a superior room so who knows. Our 'superior' room was anything but! It was a good size and there the good points end. The room looked like it was decorated in the 90s, the carpet was cheap and horrible, the tv gave off interference noises when I double checked the pictures on my kindle - its been a while since I've had to turn a tv on with the button on the front and get static noises coming off it too!! We went down and expressed our disappointment to reception and were not offered anything -no apology, no change of room, nothing. Our night then got worse as our room was right above the entrance where we were kept awake for the most part of the night by loud visitors checking in and out and taxi drivers standing chatting and laughing. After trying to speak to the drivers and getting nowhere my husband phoned down to ask reception up speak to them. After 20 minutes it was clear that they weren't going to do anything and do he had to go downstairs, where once again no apology was forthcoming or any promise of action that would be taken. After a couple of hours sleep we checked out after probably THE most disappointing night ever. I would advise anyone and everyone not to stay here until they've upped their game and done some serious make overs - both rooms and staff!