Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh, pa

Beautiful hotel overlooking Salzburg!!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We loved the hotel, beautiful views, country setting, great breakfast buffet, and the staff was very nice and friendly!! My only complaint was smoking in bar area made our room above the bar smell like cigarette smoke, please make customers smoke outside..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Malta

Beautiful hotel with a beautiful view

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The best part of this hotel is the amazing view and the very accommodating staff.
Location: The hotel is located on what appeared to be the outskirts of Salzburg, so the sights and sounds are further in, but not too far away.
This hotel was a wonderful experience! The view is incredible because it is set on a lush, green hill overlooking the city of Salzburg. We arrived in early November so the trees were dressed in their beautiful fall colors. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in meeting all of our needs. Because the farmhouse is over three centuries old, it comes with the creaks of an old house as well as creative craftsmanship all over. Breakfast every morning left us very satisfied, and the dinner we had at the restaurant one night was very delicious! If we ever make the trip back to Salzburg, we will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, hotel needs updating.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: the outside
great view, the place needed serious updating. The staff should have been a little more personable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with a view of Salzburg!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
We had the most wonderful stay at Hotel Schoene Aussicht! The hosts were so friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, the bed was very cozy and we had a view of Salzburg and the Alps! Breakfast was delicious and dinner at the restaurant was great! We highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bourges, France

Difficult access, but super view.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The view of the city was spectacular. A pleasure by itself. The breakfast included is very good, with fresh products.
Cons: Renew the room furniture...
Location: The only thing nearby is the bus to go to downtown Salzburg.
This hotel is difficult to find, and difficult to reach. It is an eagle's nest. Forget about it if you don't have a car. You will need your car to go from the bus stop to the hotel and back. The bus is very convenient to go to Salzburg's city center. Beside's that, the hotel is nice. It's main attraction is the view from your room over the city and the mountains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mumbai, India

Good Experience

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The hotel is situated away from the city center.However, you can easily get a cab to travel around. Just ask the reception to call for a cab which arrives within 10 minutes. It gives a very good view of the city. Even the green meadows were really beautiful. We were lucky to see two deer on those meadows near our hotel. The rooms were clean. The staff was very courteous and friendly. However , after 9pm the the hotel shuts and hotel main door closes but you can use your room keys to enter the hotel.All in all a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Scarrabusfrom Glasgow

Average

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
As long as one does not stay there on a Tuesday and Wednesday when the Bar and Restaurant is closed and the nearest place is 3km away down a single road, I suppose it is OK
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveller1from London

Great views

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
A little way out of town, which is either a plus or minus point. Great views over Salzburg. Hotel decor tired and in need of updating. Breakfast ok and evening meal good value - huge portions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL, USA

Wonderful experience in Salzburg

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: In addition to the above, they are obviously environmentally responsible - solar panels on roof soap and shampoo dispensers in bathroom.
Cons: Fresh fruit instead of canned would be nice!
Location: Minutes from Salzburg's Old Town - park the car in the city parking garage and walk around. Everything was within walking distance.
This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our European vacation. Its an extremely well run family business. The room was clean, large enough, and beautifully situated overlooking Salzburg valley, and was accessible to us because we drove. I suspect that there is no bus that gets close enough. Its quite a steep climb from the main road. The surrounding areas were like they had been lifted from the Sound of Music. The breakfast buffet was quite good, (except for canned fruit instead of fresh) and as the weather was pleasant much of the time, we ate all our meals on the terrace. On Sunday, the waitresses looked charming in their Tyrolean costumes. It was a great place to come back to after walking around in Salzburg, and sit on the terrace with a glass of wine, overlooking Salzburg and the mountains beyond. The staff is excellent. Wifi for 5 euros for entire stay. Free parking. Swimming pool. Beautiful surroundings for walking.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by VKfrom Canada

very old and in need of updates

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very outdated. The bathroom was new so that was good. The general state of the outside was in need of some upkeep. The inside was clean but very old and in need of updating. The lamp in our room blew a fuse twice and all the power went out. The remote control was held together with duct tape. The window shade unraveled all the way to the floor. There was no frig, coffee maker. There was no mirror in the one bedroom. The carpet has lots of stains. The breakfast was good. The sauna was a complete was for 3 euros. You do need a car to get to town. We parked in a garage every day near Salzburg and walked, did get expensive. In general it was a very expensive hotel for what you got. The view was beautiful, but couldn't sit out at night as the hotel was shut-down. More of a bed and breakfast feel not of a hotel. Should not advertise room as apartment-would call it a suite.