Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location with great roof terrace

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff in the bar restaurant were helpful and pleasant. The roof terrace is also a lovely place to relax if the weather allows.
This hotel has great potential but is in sore need of modernisation. It is dark and gloomy in its public areas and the lighting levels in our room were terrible. The room was also noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Village in Surrey UK

Visiting the Festival alone.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The staff in reception and the 7th floor. They had a Green Scheme where if you did not have your room cleaned they gave you a 5 Euro to use.
Cons: LIGHTING
Location: On the riverside by the main bridge. Between the Alt Stadt and the new town. I found everything within walking distance.
I was greeted by name on arrival. I found staff in reception efficient, friendly and very helpful. They all spoke English. My single room had a marble bathroom and instant hot water. The bedroom was narrow so the bed was lengthways against the wall. There was no bedhead and I like to read in bed. This was virtually impossible. I found the lighting very poor- much too dim. I had 2 huge velvet cushions and a sumptuous bedspread but where to put them? The lifts to the 7th floor were quick and the 7th floor dining area and terrace attractive drawing in a lot of people in the evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and views.
Cons: Better air con.Better room service.More light in corridor areas.
Great position close to everything.Great views from rooftop terrace.Room ok although a bit small.Bathroom ok.No tea making facilities which is disappointing.Newly installed air con not great and a little noisy.Beakfast is good.Food and drinks from rooftop terrace at night are expensive even for Salzburg.Room service is not great.Inside hotel it is very dark with bad lighting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kpax from Texas

Wonderful hotel with an amazing view of the city!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location, Terrace View, & Breakfast Buffet
I was very impressed with this hotel. The hotel has a lot of character and charm. The breakfast on the terrace was amazing and the view was spectacular! I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael A from Cape Town, South Africa

Good hotel and very central

Posted May 31, 2014
Stayed at the hotel Stein for business. Very nice double room, staff were friendly and helpful, and the excellent breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the city was fantastic. The only poor experience was the Wi-Fi in room, which was weak and mostly unusable (the reason for the lower hotel amenities rating). Overall though, a great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by T & G J from berkshre

Great location. Fantastic terrace

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Terrace, breakfast and the river & old town views
Location: The location was great - a walk over the bridge to the old town, along the river to MIrrabelle Gardens. Eagles nest & sound of music tours were great.
We were really concerned about this hotel having seen some of the reviews, but we had a great time. We were lucky to have a room facing the river (506) so had the best view of the picturesque old town. The room was spacious & clean. The road noise was loud with the windows open, but the view was worth it. The best part was definitely the terrace - for breakfast (which was a great buffet), and an afternoon drink - again the view was just lovely. The corridors are very dark, but it is an old building so that is understandable.
2 out of 5
by Dee from UK

Disappointed

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Position. Roof terrace.
Cons: Lighting. Friendliness of some staff.
Location: All Salzburg attractions within really easy walk.
Hotel Stein was not cheap but chosen due to position and roof terrace. First night the room air-con didn't work - it had been 32c that afternoon.. We had to sleep in a second room, where the air-con also failed, returning to the original room in the morning to shower etc. It was fixed later that day. Watch your step and head as there are multiple floor level changes and loose tiles. Head warning lights not always illuminated. The hallways and rooms are very poorly lit. The roof terrace has a wonderful view, but the staff were generally unfriendly and one was positively rude. We were told by reception we couldn't book a table for breakfast only to be told at the terrace that you could. The 'head waiter' at breakfast was good and totally on-the-ball but the system of breakfast staff bringing small cups of luke-warm coffee to the tables needs reform.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by RKO from UK

It's all about the terrace

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place certainly isn't for everyone, but for some it will be the best place to stay in Salzburg. On the positive side, it has charm and character, a great location and the view from the roof top terrace bar is fantastic. On the down side, customer service was hit and miss, the bar is very expensive and the rooms are on the smaller side. All in all, if you're going to take advantage of the terrace, then this is the one you want. If you're not too fussed about having breakfast or evening drinks up in the clouds, you might want to look elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by marylee from tulsa,ok

worn out hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: rooftop
Cons: everything
the rooftop is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dave from Reading

A quick stay

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very centrally located on the river with views of the castle and old town. The breakfast was a bit confusing with items spread out on the bar, and in different corners, bit there was enough of it. Great views though on the top floor. I would stay there again.