Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by West Aussie from Australia

Peaceful and comfortable

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved the hotel. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was fantastic. The hotel building is 700 years old but the renovations are up-to-date and modern, although there is no lift. The free wifi worked well and there is plenty of free parking. The hotel is located out of Salzburg, so is really only suitable for someone with their own car though it is on a public bus route. On the negative side, there is no fridge and the room was a little cramped when we had 4 people in the one room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Flem61 from Birmingham

Great holiday in Salzburg

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic hotel with a lot of history. Located just outside Salzburg made this a great place to stay for us on our driving holiday. We used it as our base to see Austria and bits of Bavaria. Very friendly staff, food was superb and even got given drinks for our journey on to Munich when we left. Rooms not air conditioned, but we did get a fan, so not as comfortable as it could have been but the temperatures where exceptional. Musts sees in area are Grossglöckner Hochalpinestraßer including return through mountain via motor rail, Saltbergwerk salt mine, Eagles Nest, Salzburg Fortress, Schloss Helbrunn (< 3 miles away) great fun on a hot day especially if you have young children!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Honick family from Ansbach, Germany

Family hotel - great service & stay

Posted Dec 31, 2012
Pros: Bathroom was large; plenty of room when bathing my 3 yr old. Breakfast was super.
Cons: Adult beds were hard, the mattress was thin, but the down comforters and pillows were great.
Location: A bit far from the attractions and excursions. Great for those driving their own vehicle. Free parking; large parking lot.
We stayed here with our family for 3 nights. When we first checked in we were told they were out of family rooms which is what we booked. We were given a double room; which didn't work out since it was two separate rooms; we were traveling with our two boys; 3 yrs and 9 yrs. We requested another room and were given a family room with two separate twin beds for us and bunk beds for our boys. It worked out so much better. Breakfast was included in our stay; it was a wonderful breakfast buffet with plenty of breads, cereals, juice, pastries and coffee. Great view of the mountain from our hotel window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bavaria

Kaiserhof Hotel near Salzburg

Posted Aug 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Beautiful area. Restaurant had great food and good service. Hotel staff was very nice and spoke good English. Central location to all the wonderful things in the Austrian Alps. It was a bit noisy at night and the hotel could use fans or A/C. All in all, good trip and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Restaurant`

Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very good on site restaurant. Hotel staff was very helpful and accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Geof from Seattle, WA

Kaiserhof/Saltzberg Austria, Suburb

Posted Oct 16, 2010
This was a very good two night visit to Saltzberg (this is my spelling, you can select your own based upon language), a visit made at the spur of the moment. The hotel was clean and somewhat off the beaten track but as it turned out ideal for our trip intents. On a post bus line with discounted fare to downtown Saltzberg , downtown was only about fortyfive minutes away and a lot cheaper than parking. And the hotel has almost everything one could ask for in the "in building" facilities. An excellent and reasonable restaurant, an excellent breakfast, even a nightclub. The building was solid enough that activities on the ground floor did not bother our sleep up in the attic's inexpensive digs. There were some notable areas where improvements could be noted. My associate had GPS for Europe and thank goodness he did for the hardcopy maps we downloaded from the web were not very useful. GPS lead us right to the hotel whereas I was lost trying to find the place with hard copy. Secondly, housecleaning did not do a through job of cleaning and in a nightstand drawer opened food was found. An expensive candy bar was amonst the three items, 90% intact. That bar lasted four days - thank you previous guest! There were some maintenance issues but minor. I consider this a good value and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Salzburg

Posted Aug 18, 2010
Great Hotel, Resterant, and location to Salzburg, Austria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Don't recommend

Posted Aug 5, 2010
Stains/cigarette burns on the carpet, loud bar at night, on a busy road across from a factory - not a family hotel. The staff was friendly but the manager would not allow us out of the 4-night reservation without paying most of it. Found a beautiful pension closer to Salzburg for less than the hefty room price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 star hotel as claimed

Posted Aug 10, 2009 on Hotels.com
Our room was unbearably hot and the small fan they provided was unbearably loud. There was a discotech on the 1st floor, so a room on a lower floor that was less hot would have been noisy. This was not a 3 star hotel as claimed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fruit Heights

Nice place but noisy

Posted Jun 28, 2009 on Hotels.com
This is a great place if you have a car and don't mind a little background noise. It is very clean and nice, and free parking (very rare in Europe). A few minutes to downtown Salzburg, nice staff, and pretty good price. Only complaint is that loud music plays in the bar until very late (until 6 am one night) which could be heard throughout most of the hotel, as well as some street noise. Overall though, a nice place.