Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Salzburg

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable lobby - good because that where wifi was best. An easy 15-20 minute walk to the Old City. Laundromat 15 min walk away.
Cons: Towels were threadbare. Poor wifi in the rooms. Hot pot for coffee/tea would be nice.
Location: Excellent Pakistani/Italian restaurant two blocks behind hotel named Belle Vita. Ate there twice!
Very friendly & helpful staff provided umbrellas on rainy day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice Hotel not far from the action

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: on site car park
Location: in the immediate vicinity is not much, but you can walk to old Salzburg. One kilometer away you are in the heart of it.
Car parking on site is a plus and hard to find elsewhere. Not too far to walk to old Salzburg, Room was comfortable and clean. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Pleasant experience for avoidable price tag

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Lovely service on arrival at the front desk. The gentleman was very helpful with local attractions, places to eat and drink, and go out. All and all great service from the staff of the hotel. Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable bed. Great spread for breakfast in the morning with plenty of Hot, cold and healthy option available. Happy with our stay overall
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Almost but not quite

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Room comfort, polite and efficient staff.
Cons: Wifi strength, price!
Location: There is nothing significant nearby. In Salzburg the only thing that matters is the old city.
Calling it Mercure Salzburg Central is a bit of a misnomer. It's about a kilometre to the old city, which is what everyone comes for. A quick ride on the bus, true, provided you know the transport system and don't mind waiting. The staff were polite if not friendly, the room good, although a couple of small things didn't work properly. That's normal for most hotels. Overall the stay was comfortable...although in my particular room the free wifi was so weak it was useless unless I sat in a chair right next to the door, or went down to the lobby and did my email there. They need to boost that a bit for the outlying rooms. But the main issue really is the lack of close proximity to the old city. Although I got quite a good deal via Expedia, I still though it was pricey for the inconvenience of a long walk getting to the old city each morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Too far from old town

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not close enough to any sites without long walk thru boring new areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice place, location not ideal

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has nice rooms that are well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. Very good value for money. I ate at the restaurant one evening and found the food to be expensive and the service to be inattentive. I think they should rethink their evening food offering. Good breakfast included. The location is a bit of a drawback. The immediate neighborhood lacks charm. It is feasible to walk to old town, where as a tourist you will want to hang out, but it is quite a long walk. I ended up taking taxis quite a bit. So, nice place, location not ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great hotel with amazing views

Posted Jul 7, 2014
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who welcomed us and informed us that they had upgraded our room. We were given a large room with amazing views of the mountains. The receptionists greeted us on leaving the lifts each morning and asked if there was anything they could help with and were always on hand with any requests made (such as phoning for taxis, giving us directions and general advice on how to get about the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bethany Morrison from USA

Great staff, somewhat inconvenient

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally we were happy with our experience at the Mercure. The hotel was clean. The staff tripped over themselves to make sure we were content. World cup was on a large screen in the lobby, and there was a kids playroom. Wifi was free, but did not reach our room... fast in lobby. Restaurant served mediocre breakfast. For dinner, some nights the restaurant is closed, and you are directed to the sister hotel two blocks away. We were given loaner umbrellas for the journey. Food when we arrived was tasty. Supposedly a 20 minute walk to the altstadt, or you can take the but that stops near the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Nice sized room. Clean. Friendly staff.
Cons: The menu for the restaurant could have had an English translation
Location: It's quite close to the city centre which is about a 10-15minute walk away and less than 15 euros for a taxi to the airport
The staff were always very helpful in helping us to enjoy our stay at the hotel and in Salzburg. The room was clean and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice rooms, very friendly front desk

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
rooms were nice and big. very comfortable , breakfast was ok. staff was a little distracted and not friendly. although the front desk was very friendly and helped me out for tours even at the last moment.