Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Warrington. uk

A very pleasant stay.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Room was like a suite.
Cons: Play soft music in the restaurant.
Location: Location, on a main road, easy to find, a pleasant 20 mins walk to the river through some lovely quaint streets.
We stayed at the Mercure for 1 night in February just so we could be closer to the airport for the next day. Booked and paid through Expedia (superior double) without any problems. Arrived before lunch but just wanted to leave the car while we explored the city. The car park was 11 Euros but it was safe and secure (with our luggage). The guy on reception was very efficient, offered a tourist map, gave directions to walk to the centre. When we returned at 4pm the guy recognised me and gave me my room keys straight away. The room was FANTASTIC, number 329 (I think) it was on a corner, there was some road noise but quietened at night, had double aspect views, separate sitting area, large shower room, double sink, safe, mini bar and my favourite was the Nespresso coffee machine. We ate in the restaurant, the food was good. As others have said a bit atmosphere less. Check out the following day by the same efficient gent (sorry I didn't record his name) Petrol station next door to buy drinks and snacks, open late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbara from Sheffield uk

Really comfortable hotel with excellent facilities

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Lovely big room, excellent facilities, good food and staff.
Cons: Maybe a pleasanter area for sitting outside. Close down the strip club next door but one.
Location: All the main attractions are at least a 15 minute walk away. The location of the hotel is nothing special.
On arrival I was upgraded to a superior room. This was a pleasant surprise. The staff are particularly helpful and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. One small disadvantage is the 15-20 minute walk to the main centre of Salzburg, but there are buses if you want to save on footleather! Really liked the carpet in my room - facsimile score of 'Cosi Fan Tutte'. Breakfast is fantastic - something for every taste, good coffee and plenty of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by William Pontarelli from Salzburg

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great. Very comfortable. Staff very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near old town Salzburg!

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Great room, service, and food at a fun hotel within a few blocks of old town Salzburg. Will definitely be back again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chifang N from Singapore

Average for 4-star; no garden nor mountain views

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff service standards vary, a surprise for a chain hotel. The lady who checked me in when I arrived in the evening was welcoming and provided hospitality that exceeded my expectations. When I asked for affordable dinner recommendations and signature Viennese cuisine, she, despite working in Salzburg for only 2 months, earnestly called her friends for consultation. We really enjoyed the food at the restaurant she recommended and could see that it’s patronized by locals. However the same service could not be said about the guy who checked us out in the morning. He was terse when we handed the room keycard, didn't smile and shortly after was engaged in an argument with a Chinese guest. When we requested to store our luggage, he left us to carry the luggage to the storage area without assisting and handed us a tag only when we reminded him to. Strangely, the lobby looks renovated and modern but the room had dated amenities. Main gripe for me is that the room is too dim and dark - although there were bedlights, table lamp, standing lamp, they give off a faint orange glow only conducive for sleeping but definitely not for reading or business travellers checking their emails. Unlike what hotels.com claims, our room DOES NOT have mountain nor garden views but the view of the petrol station; but at least it is away from the main road. Overall my stay was nondescript, except the particular lovely lady who made it the highlight of my stay.
3 out of 5
by PAUL from AUSTRALIA

DISAPPOINTING

Posted Oct 10, 2013
AFTER STAYING IN SEVERAL MERCURE HOTELS IN THE PAST IN VARIOUS COUNTRIES, I WAS SURPRISED AT THE ATTITUDE OF SOME OF THE STAFF AT THIS ONE. EXTREMELY RUDE AND ABRUPT AT CHECK IN. ON THE SECOND DAY ALL GENERAL PURPOSE OUTLETS STOPPED FUNCTIONING IN THE ROOM. MEANING NO REFRIGERATOR, TV, KETTLE, HAIR DRYER, ROOM TELEPHONE AND COULDN'T CHARGE MOBILE PHONES/LAPTOPS. AFTER ALERTING RECEPTION THE FIRST TIME, WAS TOLD THEY WOULD GET BACK TO ME. SEVERAL HOURS LATER, WHEN I WENT DOWN TO SEE THEM AGAIN, (AS THE ROOM PHONE DIDN'T WORK), I WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE WHOLE FLOOR,(THERE ARE 38 ROOMS ON THE FOURTH FLOOR), AND AN ELECTRICIAN WOULD FIX IT IN THE MORNING, AS IT WAS NOW AFTER SEVEN AT NIGHT. I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT WITH A MINIMUM OF 38 PEOPLE, (THE HOTEL WAS FULL), BEING WITHOUT POWER, EXCEPT FOR LIGHTS, IT WOULD WARRANT CALLING SOMEONE OUT AND PAYING THE PENALTY RATE. WE PAID IN FULL, FOR SEVEN NIGHTS OVER THE INTERNET BEFORE ARRIVING, OTHERWISE WE WOULD HAVE LEFT THE NEXT MORNING. STAFF WAS NOT HELPFUL, OR EVEN POLITE. IT'S NOT VERY CENTRAL, WITH VERY FEW RESTAURANTS, CAFES AROUND. ROUGHLY 10-15 MINUTES WALK TO ANYTHING, (RAILWAY STATION, CITY CENTRE, ETC). THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED VERY WELL. THE LAST FEW DAYS WERE BETTER, AS SOME DIFFERENT STAFF CAME ON AND WERE MUCH MORE FRIENDLY. ROOM AND BREAKFAST ARE OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Leon from Oxford

Good serivce

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Has to mention, the guy working in front office provide fantastic service, will come again.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from Melbourne, Australia

Location not central, condescending reception

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Not much really, the bathroom was probably the only saving grace.
Cons: Ensure that all your receptionists have at least gone to basic hospitality school. I have never received such rude treatment from a hotel reception.
Location: A few restaurants nearby. The main city centre is a good 15 min brisk walk or 20/25 min leisurely walk.
I arrived early in the morning and was informed by the morning receptionist that there were no rooms available which was not an issue for me. What was an issue was the condescending treatment I received. When I first entered the hotel, I had inadvertently entered using the wrong direction through the revolving doors (the doors were stationary and not automated hence I had gone to the left instead of the right) and was severely told off for doing so and also for bringing my luggage through those doors (a separate push/pull door exist for luggage of which I did not see). When I then also enquired later on how far the hotel is from the city centre, the receptionist again gave me an annoyed look and said, 'Salzburg is a very walkable city'. I did not ask if it was a walkable city, all I asked was how long it would take. This male morning receptionist lacked even the most basic of hospitality skills - smiling will not kill you. The room was also in need of refurbishment, especially the walls - peeling wallpaper and patches of yellow stains. The wifi was also a shocker a severely slow in my room. All in all, a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jo from Macclesfield

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Typical modern hotel with good amenities and clean. Reception staff were not very friendly or helpful when we asked for directions.Salzburg is a nice city, this hotel is located about 15min walk from the new town and then the old town is over the river so it seemed like a long way back after a day of sight seeing!!