Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice Hotel not far from the action

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: on site car park
Location: in the immediate vicinity is not much, but you can walk to old Salzburg. One kilometer away you are in the heart of it.
Car parking on site is a plus and hard to find elsewhere. Not too far to walk to old Salzburg, Room was comfortable and clean. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Pleasant experience for avoidable price tag

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Lovely service on arrival at the front desk. The gentleman was very helpful with local attractions, places to eat and drink, and go out. All and all great service from the staff of the hotel. Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable bed. Great spread for breakfast in the morning with plenty of Hot, cold and healthy option available. Happy with our stay overall
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Almost but not quite

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Room comfort, polite and efficient staff.
Cons: Wifi strength, price!
Location: There is nothing significant nearby. In Salzburg the only thing that matters is the old city.
Calling it Mercure Salzburg Central is a bit of a misnomer. It's about a kilometre to the old city, which is what everyone comes for. A quick ride on the bus, true, provided you know the transport system and don't mind waiting. The staff were polite if not friendly, the room good, although a couple of small things didn't work properly. That's normal for most hotels. Overall the stay was comfortable...although in my particular room the free wifi was so weak it was useless unless I sat in a chair right next to the door, or went down to the lobby and did my email there. They need to boost that a bit for the outlying rooms. But the main issue really is the lack of close proximity to the old city. Although I got quite a good deal via Expedia, I still though it was pricey for the inconvenience of a long walk getting to the old city each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great hotel with amazing views

Posted Jul 7, 2014
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who welcomed us and informed us that they had upgraded our room. We were given a large room with amazing views of the mountains. The receptionists greeted us on leaving the lifts each morning and asked if there was anything they could help with and were always on hand with any requests made (such as phoning for taxis, giving us directions and general advice on how to get about the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Nice sized room. Clean. Friendly staff.
Cons: The menu for the restaurant could have had an English translation
Location: It's quite close to the city centre which is about a 10-15minute walk away and less than 15 euros for a taxi to the airport
The staff were always very helpful in helping us to enjoy our stay at the hotel and in Salzburg. The room was clean and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice rooms, very friendly front desk

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
rooms were nice and big. very comfortable , breakfast was ok. staff was a little distracted and not friendly. although the front desk was very friendly and helped me out for tours even at the last moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect honeymoon

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: may be a free breakfast...
The perfect place! The staff is very nice and helpful. When we told them that it's our honeymoon they upgraded our room for free. There was a nice view of the mountains. The hotel is 10 min walking distance from the old town. The bus station is just in front of it. We are very happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful hotel room

Posted May 9, 2014
Hotel is easy to find and in a safe location despite not being really in the tourist area (I think probably all of Salzburg is quite safe even at night). It was about a 15 minute walk from both the train station and about 10 from Mirabelle palace. A bit longer to the attractions on the other side of the river of course. Our room faced a gas station and sex shop, but there wasn't much noise - we slept through it just fine. The room was decorated nicely, clean and comfortable beds. Our ac/fan didn't work but since it was April in Austria, not a huge deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Omaha, NE

Nice stay

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Location: Die Weisse brewery is nearby, on your walk down to the tourist area of town.
Although the hotel is a relatively far away from the old town sights in Salzburg, the hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and checked us in promptly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com