Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ann arbor, mi

4-star hotel at a 5-star price

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: the location.
Cons: wash floors and replace old, filthy rugs. either overhaul the amenities & service to 5-star standard, or call it what it is: 4-star at best.
Location: great location, convenient to everything in the old-town neighborhood.
the location is the best thing this hotel has going for it. the hotel promotes itself as a five-star hotel, and we opted to stay here rather than our prefered five-star choice because the location was better. unfortunately, it is not at all a five-star hotel. first of all, there is no air-conditioning. we had to wait for a fan to become available, and then keep the windows open the entire stay, enduring the noise and bugs in order to try and stay comfortable. we stayed in a "suite" that was not really a suite at all. the sitting room had a desk, two chairs and no sofa. there was no real way to kick back and relax. also, the television was in the bedroom rather than the sitting room where it belongs. the lighting in the sitting room was horrible : there was one wall sconce & a lamp on one side of the room, nowhere near the desk. so if you wanted to utilize the desk, the only time to do it was during non-rainy daylight hours. the only closet space was a freestanding wardrobe inconveniently located in the darkest corner of the dark sitting room. fortunately we had packed a small flashlight (torch), otherwise it would have been impossible to negotiate through the storage space. the floors were filthy. the slippers were frightfully cheap, and the shower was horrible. no mouthwash, no turndown service, none of the niceties a five-star hotel offers, and management made no apologies. staff almost seems apologetic for guest disappointment. not so with management, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leigh from Washington DC

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This little hotel is lovely. It's in a great location to walk to both old and new town. The room and bathroom were spaceous, clean and comfortable. However, the bars/clubs below can be a little loud at night. Luckily the position of our room prevented us from hearing to much but we could feel the bass. It did not interfere with sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The front desk staff could be a little better.
Location: Great location in the center of everything!
Wonderful! This is charming, convenient and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Beautiful Hotel in Altstadt

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The beautiful atmosphere throughout the hotel was very romantic.
Cons: The parking was very difficult.
Location: There is excellent shopping right outside of the hotel; Mozart's birthplace is also very close.
This hotel is located right in the middle of the old section of Salzburg. It is a beautiful hotel with many romantic touches that make you feel as though you have been transported back in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from England

Nice Hotel close to all the main attractions

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: freindly staff clean comfortable rooms excellent food
Cons: Breakfast could be cheaper? At 26 euros pp for a buffet type breakfast i think its a bit expensive.
Location: all the major attractions and museums are all within walking distance , the fort is a must
staff really freindly and helpful, free room upgrade to a suite on arrival staff arranged car hire quickly and efficiently expert advise regarding places to visit outside of Salzburg only negative was when we wanted something from the cafe at 9.20 we were told that the food had been thrown away as it was not fit to eat even though the cafe was open untill 10pm . this was quickly rectified by the reception staff who offered us a complimentary breakfast the following morning No air conditioning in the rooms and if the windows are left open at night then you get noise from people gathering in the square and the road sweepers from around 5am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Glen from Australia

Wow!

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was all fantastic. Location, comfort, service. There was no parking in the hotel, but parking wasn't too far away, and cheap enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mark h. from Atlanta, Ga.

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Great room. 5 min. From everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by George from Canada

Right in the heart of the historic town centre

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was well laid out and quite spacious. The bed was very comfortable with quality bedding. You could not ask for a better location with one entrance on the river and the other on a street closed to vehicle traffic. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very good value for the price. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Scott from Chicago, IL

Great Location- No AC

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is great in old town and close to everything you want to see. Not sure though how this could be a 5 star hotel with no AC. It was cool and early May and the room was quite warm so we had to sleep with the windows open. There is lots of early morning activity (street cleaning, trash pickup) so just be aware it may be hard to sleep if its warm out. Otherwise the location and hotel and the accommodations were great other than the AC.