Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from UK

Lovely hotel on Linzergasse

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Large, clean and well furnished room with good bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Minor issue with the height of the shower but nothing serious.
Location: Good location about 5 minutes from the old town. Several restaurants near by. Two busy days - 3 allows more time for coffee & cake!
We were tossing up between two hotels for a 3 night mini break in salzburg. Despite having a less impressive web site we went for the Stadtkrug on Linzergasse. The hotel is quite small with only 37 rooms. We were on the front, just above the flags, in a large double room which must have been about 25sqm in area and had a large bathroom off. The room was plenty big enough. In addition to the large canopy bed and 3-seat sofa we'd asked for an extra bed but there was still plenty of room to move around. The room was nicely furnished in a quaint old fashioned style whilst the bathroom was pretty modern. The only issue we had is that people over about 1.3m cannot use the waterfall-type shower without taking the head off the wall - but I've seen that type of thing in so many hotels so it's not a big deal! The breakfast is great with all the usual fruit, cereals, yoghurt, bread rolls, cold meats and cheese, etc. For an additional few euros you can order freshly cooked egg dishes but as the breakfast was so good none of us tried them out. The hotel has a roof terrace which looked quite nice. As the weather was poor we didn't get chance to use it but we could easily see that normally this would have been very attractive. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Excellent choice!!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Professional, friendly, and helpful staff. Great location. Great restaurant and bar.
Cons: Everything was excellent!!
Location: Near City Center and restaurants, shops, and points of interest.
This was our 6th visit to Europe and first visit to Salzburg and Stadtkrug was a great choice. The staff was very professional and friendly. Location was perfect and rooms very clean. Our dinner at the restaurant was delicious and our waiter was exceptional. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Great Location! from B

Extremely quaint and full of history.

Posted May 4, 2014
Excellent staff. Asked for foam non allergenic pillows, the owner delivered himself in less than two minutes. Hotel quaint and a real feeling of what Salzburg is about. So many good places to eat literally 10 steps from front door. We loved the breakfasts! So many choices including fresh eggs from their own farm made to order and offered sausages. We took the side path to the top of the hotel to see the back. I would hope the coffee and seats would be ready in the future as the view and place could be wonderful. It was a little early in the season I'm sure to have this area open. All around great experience. We could walk everywhere or take a convenient 4 min bus ride directly back to the great train station! We rented a car at the train station and drove acros the mountains to Innsbruck and back on the autobahn as a day trip. The sites were gorgeous. Hohensalzburg Castle and all the sites are very very close. Don't miss the Mirabell Gardens, the views of the garden and fortress and anazing. The hotel is the perfect location in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from UK

Good hotel right in the centre of Salzburg.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Very good hotel with lots of character and history. Extremely helpful and friendly staff, nice bar with good quality wine and beer. Very good breakfast included in room rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RSE from Texas

Nice hotel in historic building.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Building from the 14th century nicely renovated. Rooms are modern and clean. Savory breakfast is included (order the delicious scrambled eggs with ham!). Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Good location, only 5 minute walk across the river to Getreidegasse. Parking might be a problem as it is in a pedestrian zone (we walked from the train station since we had packed light). Overall a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alex from Denver, CO

Awesome!

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were amazing. Breakfast was great, price was quite reasonable and access to the old town and restaurants was less than 5 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Houston Tx

Great location and free breakfast

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nice and location couldn't be better. Wifi was fast which was a plus and the free breakfast was great with good selections. I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This is a great little hotel.

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to town center and most of the sights. Comfortable rooms with interesting furniture. Very nice garden on the top level. I will stay here again if I come back to Salzburg.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Allen from Mahopac, NY

Not really a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although charming and picturesque (700 years old, last renovated in the 80s) with a friendly staff and a fine hidden outdoor restaurant on the 4th floor, it is not really a 4* hotel. If rated as a 3* hotel, it would merit a 5 rating across the board. I never assume a 3* hotel has a/c, I always assume a 4* does. My fault for not checking. It has been very hot in Austria this summer. Our room was like an oven and rain prevented us from opening windows. Room was average in size but the small corner shower might be a problem for larger people. Combined soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers are typical of 3* hotels not 4*. My wife pointed out the lack of skirt hangers. All in all, if the hotel were rated as 3 stars, it would have been perfect but as a 4*, it left areas in need of improvement.