Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay for fans of the Sound of Music

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Love that it is the Trapp family original home-a total plus for fans of the movie, Broadway show and books.
Cons: The overall decor should be improved-seems like it was decorated from a cheap retailer. It elegant history deserves more of a classic look.
Location: The location is in a residential neighborhood. There are little shops and a fine restaurant within 5-10 minute walk. And, the train/bus are close.
We arrived in the evening and were warmly welcomed by our host. She was very nice, but didn't seem to know much about the Trapps, which seemed a little strange-she asked us if a son or daughter was the eldest in the family. The room was fine although it seemed very cheaply and haphazardly decorated. A house with this kind of elegant history shouldn't look like it was someone's garage apartment. Even the frames with the family's photos looked like they were chintzy plastic. The place could easily be furnished with a classic, traditional feel that wouldn't cost a lot of money.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peterfrom Skanderborg

Aldrig mere denne oplevelse.

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ingen service.Gaven,vi fik ved afrejsen blev krævet tilbage, da vi var kritiske.Villachefen,en kvinde,var meget grov i sproget.En katastrofe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kgweefrom Australia

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place, great room. Maria suite was huge. Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice. Just a bit out of the way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Geofffrom Australia

Stylish facility with great history

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good experience. Property is close to train and bus into the centre of Salzburg. More could be made of the history of the house, including ww2. Comfortable stay. In view of the distance from shops, it would be a big improvement to include self-serve tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was expensive so we made other arrangements.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unhelpful staff and uncomfortable rooms

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Would not recommend. Community bathrooms were dirty, staff was not helpful, outside beverages not allowed, no air-conditioning and many insects in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Nice hotel closes to train stop & city bus

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The history, The staff are great and 2 mins to walking trails & a small food mart. In the city but quit to make you think that your in the country
Cons: sign to help you found it, when your by yourself look for small sign is hard
Location: closes to train stop & city bus to old town 5 mins the # 7 bus
The hotel is in a quit area. The staff are amazing and very helpful. my hockey gear and stick didn't show up at the airport, and the staff work on it all day to track it down for me and had it the next day
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Henrikfrom Dk

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super stilfuldt og meget smukt historisk hus, i lækre stille omgivelser
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chrisfrom Northport, NY

A good nights sleep in Rupert's room

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very quiet, clean and 5 min walk to bus or train that took us into Salzberg or to the mountains. Our bathroom was across the hall from our bedroom and was not a problem. We had breakfast in the old town for around 8 euro total for 2. We did not see how the breakfast was at the Villa because of the cost, 24 euro total. The cost of the villa was reasonable at under $300 for 3 nights.