Ratings based on 1,001 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Weird Hotel - do not reserve a suite

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The Spa Breakfast Coffee/Tea hour Location
Cons: The rooms are in desparate need of remodeling - get rid of the bizarre kitsch...
Location: Everything is very close to this hotel. Walking distance to every attraction in Salzburg
Good location in Salzburg but bizarre suites. They spent a ton of money on their spa, but their rooms are very lacking and they should have put more money into those. Our suite was some kind of bizarre theme with literally a manufactured tree in the middle of the room, strange carved parrots on the bed and in the bathroom, and colors in the room that would make you nauseous. And literally a tub in the middle of the bathroom with no curtains etc. No shower, just a tub and you spray water everywhere. And no AC either so beware in the summer - it got hot during our trip. Breakfast was good and so was the free coffee/tea hour in the afternoon. Staff was helpful and nice. The description on Expedia for the suites was not accurate. My friends also had a suite and they also said it was bizarre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Charmantes Hotel in bester Altstadtlage

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Die Lage.
Location: Am Anfang der Altstadt gelegen, fußläufig zu allen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Sehr zu empfehlen: Restaurant "Alter Fuchs" direkt um die Ecke beim Hotel.
Typisch österreichisches Hotel in perfekter Lage in der Innenstadt. Zimmer sind etwas klein, aber sauber und gemütlich. Exzellentes Frühstücksbuffet. Parkgelegenheit - wenn man es weiß - in nahe gelegenem öffentlichen Parkhaus für 15 € pro Tag. Sehr empfehlenswert für Privat- wie Geschäftsreisende.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Einzelzimmer ein Schock, nie wieder......

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Die Leiterin (nehme ich an) von Service-Personal beim Frühstück, so eine Professionalität sucht seines gleichen...
Cons: Einzelzimmer - Entspricht, meiner Erfahrung nach, in keinster Weise 4 Sternen
Location: Stadtzentrum, gute Lage
Das Zimmer war für ein 4 Sterne Hotel ein echter Schock - winzig klein, stickig (da auch keine Klimaanlage, nur ein billiger, alter und klappriger Baumarkt Ventilator), unbequemes Bett und ein winziges Badezimmer, in dem man kaum Platz hatte sich zu bewegen und es kaum Fliesen gab, die nicht abgeschlagen oder gebrochen waren. Ich bleibe berufsbedingt 3 bis 4 Nächte pro Woche in Hotels, meist in Sterne Ketten, aber so etwas habe ich Gott sei Dank noch nicht erlebt. Auf Nachfrage an der Rezeption meinte die Dame, sie kenne das Zimmer und die Probleme, dass aber alle Einzelzimmer so sein. Wie die Doppelzimmer aussahen, kann ich nicht beurteilen, auch war das restliche Hotel durchaus in Ordnung, und vor allem das Service-Personal beim Frühstück war wirklich Top (unglaublich bemüht und freundlich), konnte aber meine Beurteilung für dieses Hotel nicht retten...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location for walking to tourist area

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, comfortable bed, nice shower, good breakfast buffet, easy access to buses, trams and train station.
Cons: Room was a little small, but I think you can choose larger ones if that's a priority.
Location: If you're going to Salzburg, you probably already know the usual, but also take the 25 bus to Hellbrunn -- don't miss it!
I only had one night in Salzburg, and this hotel proved to be well-situated for me to make the most of my limited time. Very nice public areas (lobby, breakfast area), room small but very comfortable bed and pillows, clean bathroom with good shower. Lots of dining and shopping in immediate area -- a vegetarian restaurant next door which I unfortunately didn't have time to try, which is a big deal if you're a vegetarian traveling in Austria -- and only a kilometer or less to the old area which is the main reason most tourists come to Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
On a driving tour of Europe. Wolf - Dietrich hotel was great for accessibility to old town. Lots of restaurants very near
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Härnösand, Sweden

Trevligt hotell nära till det mesta.

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Det var charmigt och trivsamt.
Location: Läget var utmärkt. Nära bussen till och från flygplatsen samt nära till gågatan som leder ner till floden Salzach och bron över till Altstadt.
Vi bodde fyra nätter på Wolf Dietrich och fick ett fantastiskt rum kallat "Papageno". Det var ganska galet möblerat med inspiration från Mozarts opera Trollflöjten och det är ett rum som vi aldrig kommer att glömma. Personalen var mycket trevlig och hjälpsam. Frukostbuffén var bra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Quiet hotel close to sightseeing and shopping

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Great breakfast! We really appreciated the afternoon coffee and cakes after an active day. The front desk was very helpful, making bookings for us and calling a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern california

Nice hotel near the HBF in a very poor area.

Posted May 16, 2015
Cons: The area.
Good hotel and great breakfasts. Felt like more than a 3 star hotel than a 4. But at our price point it was a good value. This has to be the worst neighborhood in Munich. This was the most uncomfortable I have felt in Europe. But I felt that way as I left the train station. Very sketchy area. But I choose the hotel because we were there for one night arriving but train and going to the airport in the morning. It was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

So close to everything!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: Not much! It was exactly what I was expecting.
Location: Tons to do near by. There are a bunch of restaurants located within a block and it's 3-4 city blocks away from the heart of the historic city center.
The hotel's location is super convenient. It's located a half a block away from the start of the historic narrow roads of Salzburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Eccentric suites but enjoyable stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast facility and afternoon tea and cakes (all included) made the stay very pleasant.
Cons: If possible a separate shower in the suites would help us ageing people who find it hard to climb in and out of a bath tub.
Location: Every attraction in the city is within walking distance.
Full hotel but coped well. Central location enabled us to walk to all tha venues.