Ratings based on 1,004 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Situated just off the old town of Salzburg, this is a very pleasant hotel with extremely pleasant and attentive staff. The rooms are comfortable and mine was spacious. Not the most modern of décor but appropriate for where it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京都

22号室その名も「パパゲーノ」はユニーク、面白いと思うか悪趣味と思うかが評価の分かれ目です。

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: レセプションの人が親切。夕方にロビーでお茶コーヒー菓子が無料で楽しめる。朝食がシンプルながらとても美味で食堂のおばちゃんの愛想が良い。
Cons: ホテル前路上でロックコンサートを夜11時まで大音量で絶賛開催中で若者が騒ぎまくっていた。ホテルの人に「毎晩やっているの?」と聞いたら、ご安心あれ、年に一回今日と明日だけです、と教えてくれた。
最安値でとったにもかかわらず、ホテル名物らしい「パパゲーノ」というスイートルームを割り当てられた。魔笛をモチーフとした派手派手インテリア、部屋の中に木が生えていて(作り物です)、ベッドの角には大きな鳥がいて(作り物です)けばけばしいパパゲーノとパパゲーナの絵が描かれ、バスルームの天井には星が瞬く。「ラブホテルみたいで悪趣味」という声ももっともとは思うが、一方では「ファンタジックで楽しい」という感じ方もできるように思う。いずれにせよ、他には絶対に見当たらないようなコンセプトの部屋で、私は面白いと思った。派手派手さは差し置いても、広々としていて清潔な部屋であった。唯一の文句は、古風なバスタブが木の床の上に設置されており、床が水浸しにならぬようシャワーに細心の注意が必要なこと。総合してみると、怖いもの見たさに一泊くらいはしてもいいでしょう。なお、このホテルの他の多くの部屋は「普通の部屋」らしい。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Weird Hotel - do not reserve a suite

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The Spa Breakfast Coffee/Tea hour Location
Cons: The rooms are in desparate need of remodeling - get rid of the bizarre kitsch...
Location: Everything is very close to this hotel. Walking distance to every attraction in Salzburg
Good location in Salzburg but bizarre suites. They spent a ton of money on their spa, but their rooms are very lacking and they should have put more money into those. Our suite was some kind of bizarre theme with literally a manufactured tree in the middle of the room, strange carved parrots on the bed and in the bathroom, and colors in the room that would make you nauseous. And literally a tub in the middle of the bathroom with no curtains etc. No shower, just a tub and you spray water everywhere. And no AC either so beware in the summer - it got hot during our trip. Breakfast was good and so was the free coffee/tea hour in the afternoon. Staff was helpful and nice. The description on Expedia for the suites was not accurate. My friends also had a suite and they also said it was bizarre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Charmantes Hotel in bester Altstadtlage

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Die Lage.
Location: Am Anfang der Altstadt gelegen, fußläufig zu allen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Sehr zu empfehlen: Restaurant "Alter Fuchs" direkt um die Ecke beim Hotel.
Typisch österreichisches Hotel in perfekter Lage in der Innenstadt. Zimmer sind etwas klein, aber sauber und gemütlich. Exzellentes Frühstücksbuffet. Parkgelegenheit - wenn man es weiß - in nahe gelegenem öffentlichen Parkhaus für 15 € pro Tag. Sehr empfehlenswert für Privat- wie Geschäftsreisende.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Einzelzimmer ein Schock, nie wieder......

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Die Leiterin (nehme ich an) von Service-Personal beim Frühstück, so eine Professionalität sucht seines gleichen...
Cons: Einzelzimmer - Entspricht, meiner Erfahrung nach, in keinster Weise 4 Sternen
Location: Stadtzentrum, gute Lage
Das Zimmer war für ein 4 Sterne Hotel ein echter Schock - winzig klein, stickig (da auch keine Klimaanlage, nur ein billiger, alter und klappriger Baumarkt Ventilator), unbequemes Bett und ein winziges Badezimmer, in dem man kaum Platz hatte sich zu bewegen und es kaum Fliesen gab, die nicht abgeschlagen oder gebrochen waren. Ich bleibe berufsbedingt 3 bis 4 Nächte pro Woche in Hotels, meist in Sterne Ketten, aber so etwas habe ich Gott sei Dank noch nicht erlebt. Auf Nachfrage an der Rezeption meinte die Dame, sie kenne das Zimmer und die Probleme, dass aber alle Einzelzimmer so sein. Wie die Doppelzimmer aussahen, kann ich nicht beurteilen, auch war das restliche Hotel durchaus in Ordnung, und vor allem das Service-Personal beim Frühstück war wirklich Top (unglaublich bemüht und freundlich), konnte aber meine Beurteilung für dieses Hotel nicht retten...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location for walking to tourist area

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, comfortable bed, nice shower, good breakfast buffet, easy access to buses, trams and train station.
Cons: Room was a little small, but I think you can choose larger ones if that's a priority.
Location: If you're going to Salzburg, you probably already know the usual, but also take the 25 bus to Hellbrunn -- don't miss it!
I only had one night in Salzburg, and this hotel proved to be well-situated for me to make the most of my limited time. Very nice public areas (lobby, breakfast area), room small but very comfortable bed and pillows, clean bathroom with good shower. Lots of dining and shopping in immediate area -- a vegetarian restaurant next door which I unfortunately didn't have time to try, which is a big deal if you're a vegetarian traveling in Austria -- and only a kilometer or less to the old area which is the main reason most tourists come to Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
On a driving tour of Europe. Wolf - Dietrich hotel was great for accessibility to old town. Lots of restaurants very near
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Härnösand, Sweden

Trevligt hotell nära till det mesta.

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Det var charmigt och trivsamt.
Location: Läget var utmärkt. Nära bussen till och från flygplatsen samt nära till gågatan som leder ner till floden Salzach och bron över till Altstadt.
Vi bodde fyra nätter på Wolf Dietrich och fick ett fantastiskt rum kallat "Papageno". Det var ganska galet möblerat med inspiration från Mozarts opera Trollflöjten och det är ett rum som vi aldrig kommer att glömma. Personalen var mycket trevlig och hjälpsam. Frukostbuffén var bra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Quiet hotel close to sightseeing and shopping

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Great breakfast! We really appreciated the afternoon coffee and cakes after an active day. The front desk was very helpful, making bookings for us and calling a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern california

Nice hotel near the HBF in a very poor area.

Posted May 16, 2015
Cons: The area.
Good hotel and great breakfasts. Felt like more than a 3 star hotel than a 4. But at our price point it was a good value. This has to be the worst neighborhood in Munich. This was the most uncomfortable I have felt in Europe. But I felt that way as I left the train station. Very sketchy area. But I choose the hotel because we were there for one night arriving but train and going to the airport in the morning. It was very convenient.