Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel. Across from the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Well kept and accommodating
Cons: The breakfast service was slow and had to call several times to have it delivered.
Location: Close, yet far enough from town to feel in your own seperate world. Nice restaurants - Le Terrasse, PacoCabana for seafood.
Private and comfortable, Just as being at your own place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel, walking distance to the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Although we had a nice stay , it woulve been nicer if the apartments hace access to washer/dryer as others have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Abraham from Santo Domingo

Couple of things to improve, but great experience.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The bachfront, and the peace and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast should include protein (Eggs or some meat product). No shuttle to terrenas, and it is not explained on booking. Signs to identify buildings.
Location: Terrenas is where clubs and restaurants are. Hotel is about a mile or two away. Rent a quad or car to get there, you'll want to.
As an Expedia Elite Plus Member, I try to be as candid as possible rating my stays. Balcones del Atlantico is a wonderful complex. All apartments and villas are decorated with taste, and the rooms are outstandingly comfortable. It is fairly easy to get to, but the instructions from the hotel staff over the phone were confusing. Just drive to Portillo beach and you will find it. Since most of the properties were sold to individuals, the "Resort" rents units that are not always up for rental. That being said, there were two experiences that stood out: A) Upon Check-In, the gentleman at the desk (Who was utterly friendly) did not send me to my apartment guided by a bell boy, but he gave me a small copy of a map, and explained my path to follow. The buildings had absolutely NO signaling on the outside, which made it impossible to know which one was mine (They are all identical); so I had to drive back to the reception and ask to be guided there. B) FREE BREAKFAST was advertised, and once we got to the restaurant across the street (Porto), we were told that the included breakfast was a small continental breakfast (Although delicious, there was only a small plate of fruit, a glass of juice, and some bread) At least one source of protein would be appreciated. The restaurant is somewhat expensive (E.G: 10 dollars + tax omelet). Las terrenas is a couple of miles away, so if you're not driving, rent a quad or car, all fun restaurants are there. Hotel should offer shuttle to terrenas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautoful, however, there was a bad smell in the bathroom of sewage and the response from the hotel was " it is in every apartment on the first level, sorry". Another thing is that I have never been charged for ice anywhere in the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Bath, UK

Good base to explore the area

Posted Mar 3, 2014
This is principally an apartment complex which has a few blocks of rooms hired out on a per night basis. The accommodation is excellent - 2 room villa style with kitchenette, lounge and balcony. The restaurant is a bit average, and not that busy as most apartment owners self-cater. The sunset bar is however memorable - spectacular sunset. Main attraction of the hotel is its location as a base to explore the area by car - unspoilt Playa Rincon and WhaleSamana - (Kim Beddall is excellent).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pabel Pelaez

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tony from California

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is by far the nicest in Las Terrenas. Absolutely beautiful grounds, excellent room and across the street from the beach. Service was excellent and would definitely recommend this location to everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by R from NYC

Great Hotel-with armed guards....

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Great Balconies! and the Restaurant and Mosquito Bar are fun....
Cons: The Rule of Law is lacking in the DR.
Location: Limon Falls is a fun excursion......
We felt in danger in the DR, and prefer not to vacation at resorts that require barbwire. This could be a great place someday, as they have a core staff that is up to 1st World Speed, but not yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Great hotel Beach across the street Good restaurant Great facilities Amazing spa Great room, very spacious and comfortable