Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Maria

The hotel it's just ok

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: Love the beach, pool and food.
Cons: The room smells really bad, like humidity and better cleaning
Location: Well located
The hotel ia located in a very nice beach, but the hotel itself needs to be recondioniting, it's well maintaining, not very clean either....The food is great, they just need to invest more in cleaning the complex.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen from D.R.

FAMILY SUMMER VACATION

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's an OK hotel...you get what you pay. My room had bad smelling curtains and I think the other hotel areas need an update. A good thing is the service, things I requested were solved immediately. The beach is beautiful. The buffet food...well, just fine but the food at the beach area it's really bad!!! Maybe I"ll go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olga from New York, Brooklyn

Everything was good, beach is amazing!

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: very calm
Cons: food
Location: location is very good
It was very good vacation, all is O'K, only food was pure, quality was low & no selection, but the BEACH! Exel!
2 out of 5
by cry baby

I wanted to cry

Posted May 14, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: Very outdated inside the rooms....change the rusty lamp and the bed covers
Location: Not much..a good walk could take you to small stores
The travel was so far from the center of Samana and thought we would never get there in our car. When we got there it did not look like a resort. It was more for a very humble get away with nothing in mind. When I entered the room the furniture was very, very outdated as well as the bed covers. Unlike other resorts they only had water and coke in the fridge. The food was decent but the staff make us smile and made things better for us. We could not find another hotel in the area so we had to stay.Either way my husband was so positve and we treated this as a time to relax. We slept a lot and watched tv together a lot. Again the picture posted as a standard room is not what you get. Picture this...just the basic and not the looks. But loved the staff. Hard workers
3 out of 5
by Gail from Ontario, Canada

Would stay somewhere else next time.

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Hotel was ok, but food was mediocre and quality of drinks was sporadic. Hard to know where things were in the resort because info sheet given at check-in was so faded that we couldn't read it. Beach had a lot of seaweed. Two of us in room but usually only got one facecloth and handtowel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Sep 3, 2012
The manager let a duck walk in the restaurant and people taking pics and then the duck poo all over the restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yuvy from New York, NY, USA

Vacation in Las Galeras

Posted Mar 2, 2012
Pros: The beach and the show
Cons: The breakfast, and room service, and not enough beach towel.
Location: Very far if you driving, but ok since the scenery was gorgeous, we were able to see the whales from the car.
When we got there, the reception staff had a conflict with the voucher information. One of the person coming with us is 15y/o. The staff wanted to charge us extra money, apparently in DR a 15 y/o is an adult, the voucher stated that a 15 y/o is a child. The food was tasteful, however, during the breakfast there was not variety, everyday was the same. The hotel area is very clean. Most of the staff are friendly. Overall i would recommend the hotel, Samana and the surround area are very spectacular, i would recommend the ZIP-LINING and CAYO LEVANTADO.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away from this "paradise"

Posted Jan 4, 2012
The price that we paid for this hotel was so incredibly high in comparison with the services they offer, I had to check twice after coming home if there was no mistake in the reservation system. We live in the Dominican Republic and know a lot of other hotels, so we have a fair idea about prices and services. The quality of the food is very poor and they do not even offer fruit juice or yogurt for breakfast. Coffee also is a no go area. The staff is not trained and reacts helpless or even aggressive if you want to complain. This hotel is only for people who want to spend their holiday drinking cheap alcohol and who do not care about the food, as long as there is enough. The name "paradise" is a bad joke and I cannot recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by Sophia from Moca, Puerto Rico

Serious downgrade

Posted Dec 24, 2011
Pros: Beaches
Cons: The hotel
The hotel is rated as a four star resort- when it is actually a 2 Star. Too much algae on the beach, easy fix they should rake in the morning- then the beach would be more presentable. A larger variety of drinks- there is a list of drinks that they serve. And they do not make what is NOT on the list. When we first got to the room the toilet was running, sink would not drain, and shower broke. The shows were also very bad. SUGGESTION: visit a four star resort and pay attention. The only thing nice was the views, the beaches, and the activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

Hotel Gran Paradise Samana-The paradise!

Posted Dec 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
My review indicated a hard to get to location. But well worth the visit. World class food. Great beach, activities, sailing. Lots of shade and sun. Soda and water delivered daily to the room. Had a two minor problems and they fixed them instantly. We have been there 5 times. I hope no one else discovers this hidden treasure!