Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Macinta from NZ

Great value for money and friendly staff

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay here the kids liked it even more rooms were spacious this was more than enough 2 adults n 3 children really great service definately coming back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Auckland

Wonderful hotel to stay

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the quietness of the hotel location as was the picturesque surrounding landscape. The swimming pool has plenty of space on the decking.
Location: Close to the waterfall and museum at the foot of the Mt Vaea mountain and where Robert Louis Stevenson's grave is.
This was my second stay in so many months. The staff welcomed me back like a family member returning. I choose Insel because it is close to town, but yet far away enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of the township. This time I stayed for 8 nights and because I was partly working and partly holidaying, I needed things to be precise and relax at the same time in terms of when my room is serviced. The cleaning staff went out of their way to ensure I was not disturbed and serviced the room when I am out. They also made sure my washing was done folded and placed in my room. This, I really appreciated. Above all I enjoy their smiling faces and friendliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Soulstation from Auckland

Great Staff

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old building, reasonably maintained. Everything was functional. Staff was helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GeV from Logan

Good location when in Apia

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Reception could do better, had book for the night prior tour arrival so we could get I your room early, when presented the reservation told could to get into our room until the afternoon, pointed out we had booked for the night before so roo. Should be ready, we still had to wait as the room was not prepared. The roo was stuffy, the bath mat filthy also the towels, had to have them replaced, which they were with lovely big fluffy towels, Ll of this should have been in the room without asking. The location to two good restaurants is excellent, the best restaurant is just across the road. Shuttle to town is available, the driver is very polite and informative he should be in the front office along with the trainee who was also polite and helpful. The hotel need to be refurbished as it is not just tired but exhausted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Debra from new zealand

second time around

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my second stay here. Have recommended insel to others. Friendly staff, very helpful. Relaxing pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pedus from Perth, Australia

A+ staff

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel overall with A+ rated staff who are always willing to help. Toilet commode on the downside is so low your butt can touch the water if not careful. Bathrooms need a bit of touch, so is the kitchen and kitchenettes. Otherwise, a good place to stay with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from North Shore Auckland

Away from the hustle and bustle of town.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: We particularly enjoyed the pool and the poolside bar which provided us with a nice time to reflect and unwind in the afternoon. Thank you Insel.
Location: We appreciated the location because it was away from the touristy town area and yet it was only a 15 minute stroll into town. Loved the mountain views
We enjoyed the hospitality and the peace and quiet of the Insel hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington, NZ

excellent staff

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Cons: Rooms need a bit of an update but they are clean and tidy.
Location: Robert Stevenson museum close by and worth a visit. Amazing massage place out side the gate and a fantastic pizza restaurant across the road.
This was our 2nd stay at the Insel. We find the staff lead by Christine very helpful and professional. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. It is good value for money and we will stay there again next time.