Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

Nice hotel beautiful gardens lovely staff clean

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Everything as i mention before, location, the set up, the beautiful gardens, the big beds the clean rooms, the food and the service
Cons: The price hehe
Location: We enjoyed the local markets the beach and the sliding rocks
We enjoyed our stay at the orator hotel. We love the whole set up from the location, to the staff the food the rooms and the service. The staff are friendly and helpful lovely customer service. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens surrounding the rooms and the swimming pools. Very relaxing atmosphere it really makes you feel like your on a holiday away from home, very beautiful flowers. We love the beds they are massive and the rooms are nice and clean and the aircondition is nice and cold. We love the food its beautiful with local fruits for breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and have already recomended it to our family and friends. Thank you orator for a beautiful experience, this will not be the last time for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, NZ

Relaxing in the hills of Samoa

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: the pools, the beautiful gardens and helpful/friendly staff
Cons: poolside umbrellas for more shade + international calling from rooms
Location: experience local village life, sliding rocks always good
most excellent stay at Orator - staff extra friendly and helpful, facilities amazing but especially the pools and beautiful gardens, rooms very clean and tidy, good 'out of the way' location and serenity, food very good. planning to go back there soon with my family so they can experience it too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Friendly, relaxing hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: The service, the friendly staff, the isolation, and the relaxing atmosphere was perfect for a stressless holiday.
Location: It was a bit away form the city (Apia) and not many things close by. Sliding Rocks were not too far away, but car/taxi is required
I came for a relaxing holiday and was not disappointed. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, and very helpful . I traveled by myself, and the staff took the time to talk to me, and to ensure that I was fine. I have nothing but positive experiences with this hotel and its employees, and I would recommend it to anyone wishing for a friendly relaxing atmosphere. I was also told by some business people that the venue was great for hosting conferences etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 10, 2014
It was quite disappointing. The only good thing I can say about it is the pool. We had cockroaches in the bathroom, and really big ones at that. The food was bad. My husband had his pork undercooked with someone's hair in it. My chicken was badly overcooked. The location wasn't great either. So yeah… nah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Lovely hotel, close to Apia

Posted Oct 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay ay The Orator. Its around 10mins from Apia but really nice quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle. We were really impressed by the room, we just got a standard villa and its was spacious, tidy and had a huge bathroom and shower. The complimentary breakfast was great (im a vegan and my partner is a full on carnivore) plenty of variety and the staff were really helpful and attentive. We ate at the restaurant/or ordered room service and the food was always good and well priced (around 50tala for 2meals + drinks) we were having a few drinks and went back to the bar...but they had closed up. One of the waiters reopened the bar for us because they knew it was our last night. It was little things like that, that made our stay all the more enjoyable. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Samoa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel great staff

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Had such an enjoyable stay at Orator. About a 10 to 15 min drive from Apia the facilities are beautiful and the food is really nice and the staff will take care of you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Winton, Southland NZ

Quiet and relaxed.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet, helpful and peaceful
Cons: Oka meal. Had 100% better in Suvaii
Location: Sliding rocks and R L Stevensons museum close by. 10 mins to Apia for the markets
The Orator was quiet set in the bush. They provide a shuttle to Apia at 9am and 11am returning at 1pm. Thought this might not be long enough but the heat got to us so it was perfect. Second day they dropped us at the markets and we simply got a taxi from there to R L Stevensons motel, the sliding rocks and then back to the Orator. Taxi's wait on you for 13 tala an hour. Excellent value as it is great to get back into the air conditioning. Air conditioning at Orator was excellent and the pool depths catered for everyone. Great loungers and lovely restaurant except for the Oka.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by nickfrom sydney

Family Wedding

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great 3 nights for a family wedding. Staff were very friendly & rooms were a good size. The food was great & so was the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Our first time at The Orator.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: The pools needed to be cleaned or filtered constantly. Better kitchen facilities such as microwave and some plates knives and forks in the rooms.
Location: Sliding rocks were not operating due to lack of water from summer season.
We stayed at The Orator from 20th September - 27th September and found it via Expedia.co.nz. We loved the look of it from the website especially the beautiful lush plants and trees which seemed to be in abundance. We were looking for a quiet location not too far from Apia with good accommodation, swimming pools and food. The Orator didn't disappoint in most if not all areas. The grounds were lovely, the rooms were very good for twins aged 12 and us (total 4 pax). We hired a Toyota harrier from Julianna's Rentals which made it easy travelling to all the fun spots including Savaii. The Orator service staff were always helpful and happy which made the stay even more pleasant. I would definitely recommend to family and friends for future stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Nice hotel away from the town centre

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly atmosphere & location.
Cons: General maintenance as it is showing signs of wear & tear.
Location: 10 minutes from Apia town centre heading in land, golf course about one minutes drive.
Hotel has a great cabin complex though the pool side ones are more expensive for some reason, they are generally hotter as they get the sun all day. Our air con didn't work that well which made the nights sticky. They also had some issues with the pools being cloudy for most of the week but they were still ok to swim in, though some maintenance on the pump / filter & general repairs may be useful. Meals were ok, with all day menu for around the pool use ideal if staying in all day. Overall enjoyable accommodation & facilities,nice place to stay.