Ratings based on 5,307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Staff members were extremely friendly. I love that all of the rooms are luxury sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to river walk

Posted Jul 25, 2015
I stayed one night with my family. Overall, I had good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconvenient rooms. Over priced

Posted Jul 24, 2015
First there are no microwaves or mini refrigerators so it impossible if you have an infant. They told us they had free breakfast and we got a bill for 55 added to or room. Also it was 259 more with extra fees than we were initially told.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Bad experience. Room not ready, and fire alarm

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE
When we arrived at 5:30pm, we waited in line for 25 minutes just to be told that our ROOM WAS NOT READY. We were traveling with a 4yo and an infant, who were very tired after waking up really early to catch two planes. They called us one hour later, no apologies and didn't even offer anything to compensate their mistake. Next morning we went out and came back around 4pm to find out our room hasnt been cleaned up, we had to call frontdesk to get someone to come up. The following afternoon they had a fire alarm failure that played for an HOUR, which was telling all guests to walk to the nearest exit and wait for instructions. Needless to say it happened right after I had put the baby to sleep, so we had to wake him up and wait outside. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great hotel right on the river walk

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Perfect distance from the busy area of the river walk. The rooftop pool has an amazing view of Downtown and it's a great area to unwind. I loved my stay and would definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you Manny for your compliments to the hotel and great location on the Riverwalk. We look forward to your return visit! Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, TX

Great hotel on the Riverwalk!!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The hotel staff was excellent and the room was very nice and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review of the hotel and our spacious suites. We hope you will come back again very soon. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Room was excellent and clean. Could have used a small frig. Staff was great! Location right on the Riverwalk was nice. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hotel Contessa. We appreciate the compliments to our staff and great location on the Riverwalk. We look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Classy hotel, right on the Riverwalk.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Fairly intimate for a large hotel. Choose a lower floor if possible as the Riverwalk views are better. Rooms are modern but with some charm. We had a suite for a great price and it was pretty large. Lovely Spanish themed restaurant in the lower lobby, right on the water. Staff are super friendly. Pool and hot tub are great (not a very large pool), with fantastic skyline views. This is my second stay here, the first was almost 10 years ago, and the quality has not changed. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the overwhelming positive review of the hotel. We appreciate the compliments to our spacious suites with great views of the Riverwalk. We look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Nice hotel on the River Walk.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location, nice facilities including restaurant, spa and fitness/pool area, even though we didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool or fitness room.
Cons: Additional spa services (pedicure/manicure)
Location: Within walking distance to The Alamo, River Walk boat tours and city sightseeing bus tours.
We enjoyed being on the River Walk as well as close to the Convention Center. Easy to get around the downtown area and tourist attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay and of our great location. We hope you will return again very soon. Troy Mathews General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would Recommend

Posted Jul 9, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. I was disappointed that the room did not have a fridge or microwave, but other than that I was pleased. We had a great view of the Riverwalk. Eddie, the bell boy was so friendly giving us his personal recommendations of places to eat and things to do once he found out what are taste was. He even held on to our luggage after checkout so that we could take the water taxi tour of the Riverwalk. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the compliments to the hotel and to our staff. I will share your review with our team and we look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews