Ratings based on 4,840 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corpus Christ, tx

Great Escape for a mid-week surprise

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Great look and feel to the hotel. The staff made the hotel as well!
Cons: cant think of anything at this moment.
Location: Riverwalk is near by, close to the Alamo and other great historical sites!
The hotel staff was great! They helped us from the moment we drove up, to registration, to the room(s). We had reserved a double bed room and were given a single when we arrived upstairs. We called down and within less than a minute we were changed to a double bed room. Although we did prefer the view from the original room overlooking the riverwalk!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Nice hotel convenient to the River Walk.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Location and room view
Cons: We had no bar soap in our room, but they brought some up.
Location: The River Walk was the prime attraction.
Our stay was comfortable and the hotel was lovely. We had very nice views from our room window. The room was very attractive. Parking was fairly close and we opted to self park. The location on the River Walk was convenient. All the staff was pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DFW

Hotel Contessa

Posted Dec 25, 2014
For the readers who want to get to the point quick this hotel is excellent. Highly recommended! This was our 2nd time to stay here. We usually stay at a less expensive hotel when traveling to San Antonio in order to stay within our budget. Hotel Contessa is worth the extra money to stay on the River Walk. It costs $30.00 per day to valet your car for unlimited in and out access. It is very convenient and the service is speedy. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean, nice, comfortable, & insulated very well. I could not hear any outside noise which was nice. There is a bar/lounge area down stairs that is relaxing & cozy to hang out in. You can also access the River Walk easily there. We stayed on 12-13-14. Apparently this was a popular day to get married. The hotel was extremely busy with many guests. We did have to wait about 15-20 minutes past check in time before our room was available. The staff handled the overwhelming crowd very well. Overall this is my favorite hotel to stay in & we will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best stay at a hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2014
We had the best time. The staff go out of their way to help you. In the restaurant for breakfast they have a great buffet for $13- sausage bacon pancakes eggs and beverage. Maria our server got me a Diet Coke from the bar because they only had Pepsi in the restaurant I didn't even have to ask her. They were prompt with their service and looked like they really enjoyed their jobs and the places they work. I highly highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Incredible - every aspect- don't hesitate to book!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Amazing location, great rooms and southwestern chic decor- perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Wonderful experience all around.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Fabulous experience. Not a single complaint. Good deal all around and I plan to come back with my family next time I vis San antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roscoe, Tx

Excellent trip.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: the people are excellent, the facilities gorgeous and comfortable.
Cons: The only thing that keeps me from giving a five star rating to Contessa is I wish the Riverboat Taxi came there, so you could access the river there.
Location: It is only a brief walk to the heart of the riverwalk and all of its shops restaurants and other establishments.
Excellent trip. For several year we have gone during the Christmas season to enjoy the beautiful lights, festive atmosphere, and the Riverwalk. This is the second straight year of us staying at Contessa. After trying other hotels in the downtown area, we have found our San Antonio home at Contessa. During our stay we also went to the market, using public transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corpus Christi, TX

Great view, great location, excellent staff

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Great view, great location, excellent staff, and great location. We were able to hit restaurants, local clubs, church, market square, all within walking distance. The staff was extremely helpful, and very friendly. We were greeted with a smile, and all our questions were answered. We were there on a mini-vacation, and from the time we arrived, to the time we left, we felt at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Nice hotel!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Service staff is awesome!
Location: It's in Riverwalk, so basicallly, it's near everything or every place you want to go in Riverwalk.
One of the better if not one of the best hotels in Riverwalk area. We've been to other hotels in Riverwalk but the service staff in this hotel makes a lot of difference. Bell staff was full of energy and vibrance and also gave us a lot of recommendations on where to go, what to see and where to dine. During our stay, the guests on the next room were having a party- we can hear their noise in the living room but once we get to our bedroom it was all quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston,Texas

Beautiful hotel right on the Riverwalk.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
First Class hotel located right on the Riverwalk. Large rooms, great hotel restaurant and Spa. Will definitely be back!