Ratings based on 5,151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: We liked EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: nothing.
Location: Most activities were in short walking distance if you know where you are going.
We had fun!!! The only downside was the broken ice machine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of the hotel and for the notification regarding the ice machine. We look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Riverwalk

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Getting the car out of valet parking = 15 min. No bathrobes in room, no full length mirror, no bath accessories. Should be for the price.
I was expecting a bit more "luxury" for the price. Nicely furnished rooms but lacking in "nice touches" one would expect from a hotel deemed the most luxurious in San Antonio. I didn't get that feel at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I apologize you did not find value in your recent stay. It is our goal to provide an exceptional stay to all our guests and I will discuss your comments with our staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dodge City, KS

Excellent

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Wonderful location right in the Riverwalk. Great room. All are suites. Helpful, courteous staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate the positive review of Hotel Contessa. I’m pleased to read you enjoyed our convenient location directly on the River Walk, spacious suites and friendly staff. We look forward to your return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Superb!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
This is a wonderful place to stay if you're in San Antonio and want to be near the Riverwalk. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clea, spacious, comfortable and quiet. I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the superb review of the hotel! We appreciate the compliments to our friendly staff and convenient location on the River Walk. We look forward to your return visit! Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bear, Delaware

Great Location! Close to everything!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Cons: Wish it had a full length mirror for dressing.
Location: Just walk out on to the Riverwalk and go! Everything is within walking distance.
Great location on the River-walk. Within walking distance to all attractions. The beds are soooo comfortable that you don't want to get out of it! Rooms are spacious and hotel staff are super friendly! Pool and lounge area are kept extremely clean. Restaurant/Bar is pricey, but what isn't in San Antonio. Would love to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Hotel Contessa. We sincerely appreciate your compliments to our staff, suites and convenient location on the River Walk. We look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
They did not have in-room refridgerators available as their website stated, or microwaves. I had to call twice to first get my room cleaned after two days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the candid review of the hotel. As a standard our suites do not include refrigerators or microwaves and I apologize you were misinformed. We will correct the information on our website. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fort wayne, indiana

Love this hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
This hotel is one of my favorites. I love the decor in this hotel. Every time we have stayed here the room decor seems to be a little different. It is a great location on the Riverwalk. Close enough yet the perfect distance from the busyness of the bars. Staff was helpful. Rooftop pool was a great way to start our visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review of the hotel. We appreciate the compliments to our beautiful suites and convenient location on the River Walk. We look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Very good hotel right on Riverwalk

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Very nice, comfortable hotel close to everything. Good, helpful staff. Quiet location. Only drawbacks were no refrigerator and microwave.
Very nice, comfortable hotel close to everything. Good, helpful staff. Quiet location. Only drawbacks were no refrigerator and microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate the compliments to our staff and look forward to your return visit. Troy Mathews General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Another city in Texas

Review

Posted Apr 6, 2015
After paying over $200/night, i thought I'd get free parking which the hotel charged $32 a night, i didn't get any complimentary drinks, nor did they offer any type of breakfast for its guest. I've stayed in alot cheaper hotel's that at least have their guest some of not all of these mentioned to show their guest they appreciated them. Also a portion of my floor was wet, i told the desk about it and they offered nothing as compensation for the slight inconvenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. The hotel receives many positive reviews for our service, convenient location and friendly staff. I apologize you did not feel there was value in your stay and I hope we may win back your business. Troy Mathews General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Deceiving

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Very nice on the outside and around the lobby area. All that changes upstairs with cheap, ugly construction. The rooms are noisy with street traffic, even if you have an upper floor riverview room. The clientele seems to be big families because the rooms are all suites. That's evident when you go to the rooftop pool. I didn't find any "luxury" in the suite; no robes, no music, not even a mini- fridge or mini bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Troy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review of the hotel. I sincerely apologize you did not enjoy stay with us and I will discuss your comments to improve our service for all our guests. Troy Mathews General Manager