Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Location: Was right on the river walk, but have to walk quite a ways to get to restaurants etc.
Hotel had a great feel to it, room was small but cozy. My wife said this was her favorite hotel she has ever stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much fro taking the time to fill out a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your wife has a new favorite hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHOENIX, AZ

RETRO CUBAN FLAIR ON THE RIVER WALK.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: River walk is right there.
It was hard to get to because of temporary road construction. The hotel is old Cuban style and very nice. The restaurant is Cuban and very good. We enjoyed our stay. Make sure you take the boat on the river .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from The Villages, Florida

Nice Hotel off the beaten path, close to riverwalk

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet and out-of-the-way...
Cons: Lighting in rooms
Location: Riverwalk nearby.
Nice hotel, but really needs to improve room lighting...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2014
A lovely hotel with real character. Great location with good access to downtown while being a little removed and on a quiet stretch of the river beyond the din. Some issues with street noise at times but not bad. The coolest hotel in San Antonio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the river walk.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Great service & friendly, helpful staff. Located near the River Walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect for us- within walking distance of riverwa

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: not a run of the mill hotel- it had warmth, charm and character
Cons: not much
Location: close to downtown and river walk
neat,clean place -staff very helpful and courteous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexandria from Texas

Adorable boutique hotel close to the Riverwalk

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The room service, the comfort, the peace and quiet
Cons: Although it is a boutique hotel it should still be VERY clean. They need to improve slightly on the dust bunnies hiding in the corners.
Location: The hotel is very close to the main part of the riverwalk. Definitely within walking distance. The Alamo is not far either.
Hotel Havana was a pleasant surprise. We took a short romantic getaway to San Antonio and found this hotel at the last second. It is definitely a boutique hotel -- more home than hotel! Very welcoming, great design. I could not get over how "antique" everything looked. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is not very far from the main part of the Riverwalk. We walked there regularly every day. No need to move your vehicle or call a cab! Also, the parking may look small at Hotel Havana, there is a garage across the street you can use and they will even REIMBURSE you. I was definitely shocked at that! The Hotel Havana bar/restaurant "Ocho" is great and right on the river. Room service is AMAZING and the refrigerator comes stocked with goodies (for an extra charge of course but still..AWESOME!). Overall we had a great experience and definitely look forward to our next visit to Hotel Havana!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Staff was great hotel restaurant was convieient great breakfast walking distance from river walk wife and I had a awesome
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

COULD BE GREAT..but is not

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: great packing lot, comfortable bed
Cons: they could change the sheets
no closet, very dim light in bath , noisy, strange smell in entrance right off room, no sheets changed
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on your recent stay. Everything that we do is aimed at making our guests satisfied with their stay and I apologize that this was not the case for you. Unfortunately due to being in a 100 year old building there are no closets in the rooms however we have tried to accommodate our guests by placing hooks and hangers in the rooms to provide some hanging space. Also, in an attempt to be environmentally friendly we do change the sheets on a guest room that is staying over more than 2 nights but we absolutely will change the sheets daily if a guest request this. Again, I apologize that we were not the right fit for you and we do appreciate your feedback.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by BusinessTravler from Philadelphia

disappointing...

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The building and locale gives this hotel tremendous potential, however the service is a major disappointment. Some "highlights" 1) No drawers to store clothes 2) No suitcase stand 3) Poor sound insulation 4) Dusty wardrobe 5) Only 2 hangars 6) No iron 7) Adjoining restaurant provided the worst breakfast service ever - 45 min with only coffee, finally had to leave without breakfast to get to the office on time 8) Expensive parking
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and give us the opportunity to see where we may need to improve. We have luggage racks and iron's upon request and I apologize that this was not commuicated upon arrival. Unfortunately, due to the building being 100 years old this year there are some areas of the hotel that are a bit louder than others; I offer that not as an excuse but an explanation. In addition I would like you to know that the lack of service in the restaurant has been addressed with the appropriate managers and staff and I assure that this is not a normal practice for us and I sincerely apologize. Parking downtown San Antonio is pricey and we are actually one of the lower priced lots in the area. Parking can range from $15-$35 per day in the area. Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out the review and we do apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory.