Ratings based on 2,236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The Valet staff is very helpful with recommendations
Cons: Price
Location: Very close to The Riverwalk, Mexican Market, etc
The rooms and facilities were average, but the price was 3 times that of similar quality hotels in the area, many of which have a lot of historical appeal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David & Lou from Dallas

Good But Needing a Sprucing

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Great location, ample rooms and great staff.
Cons: Carpets and furnishings. Valet parking system needs to be improved to be more efficient for quick arrival and departure.
I have stayed at the Valencia while visiting San Antonio for the past 10 years. It is a great hotel and I've always had great stays. However, the rooms and the overall furnishings of the hotel need some retouching. Nothing terribly wrong but it's showing some wear & tear.
4 out of 5
by Rich from Austin, Texas

Wonderful place but disappointed

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff went out of their way to make your stay wonderful.
Cons: Just the beds..Not comfortable...
The Hotel and all of the staff were great! The Hotel is close to the Riverwalk and there is a StarBucks right across the street.(That made my wife happy) But when we turned in for the night, well, I woke with a back ache. I asked my wife how she slept and she also slept terrible. I guess unless they do something about the beds, we probably won't be staying here anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Joe Bonamassa concert

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We had a great time in SA at the riverwalk. The room was just half a block from the Majestic Theater where we saw Joe and his band play. the staff made our stay a fantastic weekend that we will nevwr forget
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rufus T Firefly from Houston

Multiple Stays at Valencia

Posted Apr 2, 2014
I have stayed at Valencia Riverwalk a few times and it has never been a disappointment. During busy conference periods the Valencia tends to have rooms still available at prices that are not so inflated compared to other good hotels on the Riverwalk. The common complaint among guests is that the hotel is dark, and I did not have a good first impression when I arrived the first time, but the decor and rooms are otherwise good. It might not be best for those who do a lot of reading in their rooms. The staff was very friendly. There are other good hotel options on the Riverwalk but I often go back to the Valencia because of the combination of quality and rate when booking late during a busy period.
3 out of 5
by mary from seattle

Very dark and access very difficult

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff were excellent - friendly, prompt, and helpful
Cons: Improve the lighting in the halls and guest rooms
Location: Location was excellent if you're looking for accommodations on the Riverwalk that are quiet.
The interior of the hotel common areas as well as the guest rooms are extremely dark. The access by car to the hotel was difficult. They have no driveway, the valets were prompt but we had to hold up traffic until they arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaylord from America

Excellent hotel on river walk.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Room service menu is minimal. Maybe an extra light bulb in the rooms.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, people watching, placid strolls through a one of a kind city scape, theatre and American history
Our family had a long weekend in San Antonio. We had a great experience at the Hotel Valencia. Every member of the hotel staff was cordial, attentive and professional. The bell staff was extraordinary. The reception exceedingly polite and the bartenders were top notch. The hotel is on the riverwalk; about a minute or two walk to the busy part, but blissfully separate from the noise and frenzy. There are two top notch restaurants (Citrus and Acenar) that are on site or adjacent. Starbucks across the street, Walgreen's a couple of blocks away, the Alamo a five or ten minute walk... The hotel itself is well decorated and soothing with subtle water features and dark, rich tones. It has an upscale, comfortable, unassuming yet chic feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grace and Dan from Rochester, NY

Visit to San Antonio Riverwalk

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Hotel description gives the impression through a picture that it is located on the Riverwalk and it is not.
Location: The Riverwalk is spectacular! A true American treasure!
Ours was a very short (2 nights) but sweet. The hotel was not as close to the Riverwalk as we expected, but this was not a big problem. Loved the room and the decor. We ate at Citrus and the food was of high quality and the wait staff very friendly and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by Isa from chicago

Poor service

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Our room was not ready for check in at 7:00 pm, three hours after the 4:00 check in. There was a constant line of guests complaing at the front desk. We experienced poor service at every turn. In my opinion, the staff was overwhelmed and indifferent. This was not a luxury hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: All of the above- beds were very comfortable
Cons: N/A
Close proximity to everything great staff and great rooms