Ratings based on 2,709 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Best hotel experience ever

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: I recently stayed at the Lone star in Austin.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location was great. We were able to walk everywhere.
I was celebrating my anniversary and it was all about us. Staff wanted to help in any way. The hotel was excellent. I will recommended it anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hayward, CA

Top of the Line Hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The location right above the River Walk, the enormous sized room and the friendly attitude of the staff earn this hotel an enthusiastic "thumbs up".
Cons: The honor bar was very expensive, but I just ignored it. I purchased bottled water at a small grocery store for 1/6 the price.
Location: On day 2, take the "Hop On, Hop Off" bus to El Mercado. Eat lunch at Mi Tierra Cafe. Try County Line or Iron Cactus, both on Riverwalk, for dinner.
Hotel Valencia was wonderful! I arrived by train at 12:05 AM. Samantha at the front desk said she would get me a room ASAP. In the mean time she took my luggage and gave me a comfortable seat and ice water to quench my thirst. About 2:30 AM she told me they had had a cancellation and if I didn't mind a one bed room I could check in. Since I was alone, one bed was perfect. The room was enormous, with plantation shutters covering doors to a private balcony, a well designed bathroom with terrific, fluffy towels , a safe and an honor bar and refrigerator. The furniture was sturdy and extremely comfortable. After a great night's sleep I walked two blocks to Sunday Mass. Later that day I walked about 6 blocks to the Alamo and took the free tour, followed by the "Hop On, Hop Off" bus tour. I bought the 2 day pass and rode the entire route on day one and went back to places that particularly interested me on day two. After the bus tour I walked part of the River Walk. The entire length is almost 4 miles, with a crazy number of shops and restaurants. You can get "lost" because of all the opportunities to cross the water, but if you have a city map you can easily find your way "home" if you take one of the numerous stair ways up to the city sidewalks. Bring a flashlight if you intend to do the river walk at night, since it is very dark in some spots. (Common sense and caution is advised, but I felt quite safe walking alone, even at night.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

WONDERFUL BEDS!!!!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Location and beautiful decor throughout.
Cons: Some nice restaurant
Location: Close to the Alamo
The hotel seems to be about in the middle of the river and close to everything. Nice, nice view and of course the Christmas decorations added much to the experience. The restaurant Acebar is a Mexican restaurant and ALL the food we ate in San Antonio was TOOOOOOOO HOT. Could hardly eat it. The Citrus restaurant in the hotel very expensive and tooooooo salty, We could catch the riverboats right out side the hotel. Very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom San diego

Top shelf hotel for reasonable rate!

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Great location, nice decor, very friendly and efficient staff, large well-appointed rooms, and loved the food and the bar. All around a great place to stay, particularly for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Nice hotel and location, iffy housing cleaning

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms and amenities.
Cons: Get the housecleaning issues resolved.
Hotel Valencia is a nice hotel in a very good location. The staff for the most part was pleasant, the front desk staff was a bit overwhelmed the day we arrived. Room was nice size, clean and comfortable. Ask for a room away from St. Mary's street or high up. The 4 am garbage pickup is memorable. Biggest issue is with the housekeeping, we spent the day touring and when we returned at 5:00 pm, our room was not cleaned. A call to the service desk shouldn't be required. Also on arrival our room wasn't ready until 6:00 pm. Finally, valet service can be a challenge. Houston street is single lane and during check in/out leads to congestion. Be patient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denton, tx

Windfall experience

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Every thing
I've enjoyed every moment of my stay in this hotel. I would recommend it to every one that I know .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Everything was great, location, room, most of the staff. Except when checking out the young woman working the desk was not friendly at all didn't even say thank you, that was disappointing. Also, we had to wait for more than 45 minutes for them to bring our vehicle, the young woman who checked us out didn't call for our car to be brought to us. She didn't have a name tag on, that's why I call her young woman.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom haltom city tx

Exellent Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2014
So quickly and easy to check In the only pro was the parking fee expensive ! Overall nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: we were on the Riverwalk
perfect accomadations loved being on the riverwalk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Tx

More warmth/character than similar priced hotels

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: We got a Superior room which had a comfy bed and great modern look. Hotel did NOT feel bland/generic. Fairly quiet for the 4 nights we stayed there
Cons: A bit dark inside. We were riverside but didn't really have a great view of the riverwalk. But that was ok: You see the RW by walking on it :-)
Location: 5min to main Riverwalk shops/restaurants. 10min to Mercado market on E.Commerce. And about a 15min walk to the Alamo
No car so cannot comment on parking service. But the valets were very helpful with directions and a few places to visit that we hadn't thought of. Walking from the hotel to the main shops / restaurants on the Riverwalk and to the Mercado and to the Alamo - we didn't mind : We were expecting to do some walking on our stay. Location did not feel inconvenient. There seems to be a higher level of homeless people around the Downtown area - Nothing to do with the hotel; some may feel 'hassled' by this, but I think unavoidable no matter where you stay. But we did not feel unsafe. Hotel's amenities were good. It may feel a bit dark in there when you checkin and the checkin was just business like. Overall this is one of the better SA Downtown hotels I've stayed in and I would book this again.