Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If there was a zero for rating, this hotel is it!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Rebuild
First of all, I cant believe HJ even lets this hotel use its name. Filthy! Stained towels,rm smelled horrible, I mean dirty carpet and worst of all the tub had hair in the tub and it wasn't hair from your head... I wrote a letter to HJ and never received a reply, guess they don't care! The only thing nice about hotel was the front desk staff! Sorry, never again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but disappointing accommodations

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: I loved the price and the location. The beds were quite comfortable and the sheets were clean.
Cons: Management could spend more on the breakfast, fresh coffee creamer and fruit. The room could use fresh paint, and perhaps aired out - smelled musty.
Location: It is within walking distance to the Market, and several nice restaurants and an easy drive to the convention center and the riverwalk.
The room and breakfast did not live up to expectations. Granted the price was more than adequate, so I had to keep reminding myself of the old adage: you get what you pay for. There were not sufficient towels in the room (only one for two people), the door knob came off in my hand, the AC did not work, and the room smelled old and looked dingy. However the staff did try to make our stay enjoyable, and the next day when the room was cleaned and all towels were removed, the staff was very prompt in supplying the needed number of towels. The breakfast consisted of the self-made waffles, but the condiments were limited and the boiled eggs were not fully cooked.
1 out of 5
by Desdamonia from Wilkes

Terrible Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2014
We did not stay in Hotel because the bathroom was filthy ...
1 out of 5
by Lacy

Don't stay here - it's cheap for a reason!

Posted Mar 15, 2014
There was construction/remodeling material in the lobby and halls. The waffle machine in the log by was rusted and the "business center" consisted of an old dusty computer and printer that didn't work. The room looked like it was in the middle of a remodel. There was paint missing on the walls, the bathroom door wouldn't close, bathroom floor was dirty, and their was only two lights in the living room/bedroom, one of which had the cord cut in half and didn't work. The tv had 5 channels: 2 Spanish, PBS, NBC, and a movie channel. The room felt gross and grungy, we didn't even want to take our socks off and wouldn't shower there.
1 out of 5
by unhappy from tx

What a horrible experience!!!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
This is not a hotel, it is more like a rundown motel. The room smells, the sheets are stained. Their towel were dirtier than my rags. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone.
1 out of 5
by cody

Stay far far away!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Please read the other reviews. I didn't listen to them. Beds, pillows, and especially the shower was filthy. The smell was comparable to vomit and bleach. Just don't do it!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Bad service, ac not working, ghetto, no clean towels, , no toilet paper
1 out of 5
by Sal from Houston

Location wasn't too bad but the room was awful.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly. They were very helpful even though my room was not good.
Cons: They could improve the conditions of the rooms because hair in the bed, broken toilet seat handles and no towels is not acceptable.
Location: The location was not bad. There is a McDonald's nearby and a Wendy's hamburger restaurant. But I'm not from San Antonio so I don't know of any event
There were no towels in my room. There was hair in the bed. The toilet handle was broken and the room smelled of cigarette smoke. The location wasn't too bad because it was close to the convention center but the room itself was not good. If they would improve the conditions of the rooms, then I would recommend this hotel to someone. Other than that, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone; not even my worst enemy.
1 out of 5
by Gabby from Louisiana

the worst hotel ever

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: nothing!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: everything!!!!!!
Location: great location
my bf and I planned to celebrate our anniversary in San Antonio, what a terrible decision we made by chosing this nasty hotel , it was a nightmare right since the first day, DO NOT stay here!!!! or dont say that nobody warned it to you =(
1 out of 5
by A from Seattle, WA

Don't Stay Here

Posted Feb 4, 2014
This place was not Clean!!!!. The first night we arrived for our 2 night stay we should have left. When we checked in there were sheets on the bed, with a clearly unwashed comforter (you know the really thin ones). No blankets, only two small towels (you know the kind only a child or a size 0 woman can wrap herself in) for a bedroom with 2 QN size beds. We went to the front desk immediately and asked for more towels and blankets. We were told to come back at 10 pm when the manager would be in and could give us towels. We also informed them of the unclean room and were told there was nothing they could do. So after dinner, we went to Walgreen's and purchased Lysol disinfecting spray and Lysol cleaning wipes and proceed to go back and clean our own room! The wipes came away from every surface visibly gray with dirt! At 10 we went to the office to get the promised towels and blankets and clean pillow cases. The Manger (maybe assistant) proceed to give us an earful about how he was feed up with his Hskp staff, that he was mad we didn't pay more for the room and that he did not have keys to get us the items we needed. After much looking, he scrounged up two shifty looking towels and blankets and promised that the room would be cleaned. The next day it just got worse and I would continue but out of room!