Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Horrible. Terrible staff - rude and just plain the worst ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing local get away

Posted Sep 18, 2014
We were locals and needed the a few days to relax. Just about 20 miles from home. It felt like a vacation and was really relaxing. We would do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Amazing Stay at the JW Marriott

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Restaurants, spa, staff, rooms, everything!
Cons: My only issue is with the seat squaters. These are the people who lay their towels on chairs in the morning and don't come back until later.
Location: The JW Marriott is 30 mins outside of San Antonio but it doesn't matter since everything you need is there on the property.
This place is absolutely amazing and you never have to leave the property for anything. They have a full service spa, game room, fitness centers, multiple restaurants, kids pools, an adults only pool, golf course, etc. The restaurants were top notch, the spa was great and the gym was sufficient for a hotel gym. If you are just a couple looking for a quiet getaway, I would recommend this place and I would recommend even if you are not using the spa, pay the $15/day to use the pool, cabanas and restaurant, it is worth it. My only issue is with the seat squaters and the resort (not spa) pools. These are the people who lay their towels on chairs in the morning and don't come back until later. We arrived at the adults only pool at 9:30am and all the chairs were already covered with towels. After hanging out at the pool for a few hours, only about half of them had actually come down to take their chairs. I know this happens at most resorts, but it would be nice to have one that didn't allow it to happen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too crowded for a holiday weekend getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Beautiful property, great staff, EXCELLENT food!!
Cons: Needs to have an additional ADULTS ONLY pool with adequate room for lounge chairs. Try to have a dining area exclusively for adults without kids.
We, 50 year olds who have already raised our own children, went here for a getaway Labor Day rest and relaxation weekend and extended anniversary celebration. This IS a family resort- but was OVER RUN with kids. There were not enough lounge chairs, nor room between them around the pools.Your chair was literally 1/2 inch from the next one. There was a separate adult pool- but not enough chairs, nor room to put more around that pool---so you are forced to be " out there" in mayhem and chaos. It was NOT relaxing.I would've thought with schools having already started in Texas that there would have been fewer children- but not the case. I would advise NOT going here for a holiday weekend if you don't have children. The hotel was well staffed, and all were welcoming and pleasant. The food was outstanding and well prepared- cudos to the kitchen staff!Room was very nice- AC could've been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice family environment

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Really enjoyed my stay. Will definitely make this an annual event. Family friendly place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

great getaway

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros - the hotel staff was top rate everywhere we went...lifeguards, pool services, check in/out, and wow the service at the bar was so sweet and went over and above for my friends birthday. The slides were really fun for everyone and way cooler than the Lost Pines one small slide. We also enjoyed the live music and were so surprised when they passed out some free cookies at the pool one afternoon??! It's these little details (like the special jams and butters) that make this resort special. Grounds were beautiful. Great live music Friday night Cons- lazy river got dirty really quick with debris in the water and lots of crowds. Dessert buffet was sub par....my kids love the chocolate fountain at Lost pines and lots more and better tasting choices. Smores were hard to find and we always missed them...seemed to end too early?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Benbrook, TX

Nice family resort

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, beautiful pools.
Beautiful pools, friendly employees, but very crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Stay

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We went for our anniversary. This place has everything. For everybody. Lots of kids. I would wait and go back when school is back in. Too many kids. The pools and slides and lazy river were awesome. Resort fee and pricey food and drinks were bothersome. Room is very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great service

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel with incredible service...everywhere. Only complaint is that I wasn't crazy about the food options.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by jharral from san antonio

felt cheated

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I went to celebrate a wedding anniversary and felt like we where treated like tourist and that the JW Marriott could care less. Our room was at the end of a hall on floor 4 the view was a roof top of the convention hall. We didn't have a good experience at all, the adult pool the waitress where rude and when we ask for service they said to one anther, DO WE SERVE PEOPLE HERE. that really upset me off I was paying 400 a night and had to get my on drinks! the starter at golf course put a two some in front of me after I made the first tee time, which cost 215.00 that was wrong. At the dinner they changed the TV off of the NBA Finals to college Baseball. we went for are couples hot stone and pedicure on Monday and they gave us a Swedish in stead and no pedicure! In a nut shell we spent couple of thousand dollars and never got one thing we really wanted. I live here in SAN ANTONIO and sell luxury Automobiles to some 4000 clients and I am sorry to say I will tell everyone of them not to waste the money and go there. This really upsets me because my wife and I our 5 generation Texans and are very proud of our city and state, but in no way was the JW Marriot TPC an example of true "TEXAS HOSIPALITY". with many regrets!!! Jeff & Dawn Harral