Ratings based on 1,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Excellent location, right on the riverwalk

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Staff is great. Very hospitable and welcoming. Service was top notch.
Cons: Wish the standard room is bigger. Space is challenging especially if you order room service. There is barely space for a a small foldout table.
Easy access to all downtown attractions and the convention hall. Located right on the riverwalk and next to the Rivercenter Mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Nice but overpriced

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Nice hotel and convenient location, but overpriced for services provided. Better choices within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Excellent location

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Stayed here for a weekend with girlfriends. It is ridiculous that we paid $796 for 2 nights and could not even get free wifi! The hotel of course blamed it on the Expedia package...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom katy tx

Hotel located on the riverwalk and mall

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I took my family on a weekend getaway and was undecided on which hotel to stay at. After debating we chose the Marriot at Rivercenter because I wanted to be able to walk the mall if it happened to rain out that weekend. Hotel was clean and staff was nice. But I was disappointed. I booked the hotel through Expedia for a 1 king bed in a Deluxe room facing west. What I got was a two full bed in a east facing room. One of the reasons I booked the marriot was they still had availability for a King bed rather than two full beds. Otherwise we would have stayed at the omni or other hotels around. Anyways I was compensated with free wifi and parking......which I can appreciate the free parking but wifi........my data plan streamed faster than their wifi does. None of the less, I appreciate the effort Marriot. Note though that the parking garage is TIGHT. I drive a 3/4 ton pickup and barely was able to fit. No lift or anything on my truck, just a plain Jane Chevrolet 2500. With that said, parking garage is lit and safe, has elevators going to the lobby. Hotel is clean and easily accessible from riverwalk or mall or street. I do have another San antonio trip planned for later this year so if I do decide to stay here again will hope they get the room requests correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore,MD

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
This hotel is exactly what you expect from Marriott. It is right in the Riverwalk and across street from the convention center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Great spot for a weekend get-away!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Clean & Convenient to shopping. Housekeeping noticed a light was burned out and had it replaced before I let anyone know about it. Nicely done!
Cons: Overnight parking for guests is too high. We are already compensating you.
Location: Loved that the water taxi came right up to the hotel. So easy to get to the Riverwalk and shopping areas.
Easy on and off the freeway to the Hotel and then the rest of the time, you can walk or hop a bus further into downtown. The fitness room was well stocked and had plenty of equipment for the busy weekend that we stayed. (UIL state basketball championships, Weekend before St. Patrick's Day, etc.) Even though downtown was packed and gridlocked, we were able to whip in, park and get checked in quickly. I would definitely return to this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Convenient to mall and riverwalk

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Convenient to mall and Riverwalk . Clean rooms and excellent amenities. Pool (indoor/outdoor) exercise facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Over priced It was clean but need to be updated. The staff was great and the location was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Location for Business

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Stayed there for 5 nights with my wife for a business conference. We were greeted and checked in after a day of travel very efficiently. Hotel staff was welcoming, professional and accommodating in every way. The hotel connects internally with the Riverwalk which was very convenient for lunches during quick conference breaks. Note - if your meetings are in the Convention Center, it is about a 7-8 minute walk there from the Marriott Rivercenter. I attend professional conferences throughout the country regularly and would return again to this hotel. It is well managed and the staff there are all very kind and efficient in their duties.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

Not ideal for families

Posted Mar 14, 2015
It's an impressive hotel with very limited amount of perks. I have to parking and Wi-Fi. It could be that I booked it through Expedia. I booked it through Expedia for 4 guests and when checked in we were put into a very small room with King size bed. I could swear at the time of booking the description indicated a king size bed and a sleeper sofa. There was no small refrigerator or a microwave. And it got the crappiest coffee maker on the planet. There is a small heated pool and I assured my wife that there gotta be a hot tub for this $300 a night hotel. Well...if you expected one, you will be disappointed. This hotel is definitely more business oriented and I was traveling with children. So I won't be booking another stay there any time soon. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Lib, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thanks for submitting a review. I’m very sorry the accommodations were not what you were expecting. We do our very best to honor all guest requests for bed types, and I’m sorry we didn’t accommodate your request this time, but I’m pleased your room was clean and your bed comfortable. While we don’t have microwaves in our rooms, refrigerators are available upon requests. As a standard, all guest rooms are equipped with coffee makers, but I’m sorry the one in your room was not what you were expecting. While our proximity to the convention hotel allows us to host many a business traveler, we host many families at the same time, also because of our great location on the River Walk. Mark, I know we can’t undo the disappointment in our hotel, but I hope you will give us another opportunity to re-gain your trust and allow us to host you and your family again. Thank you again for your review.