Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Under construction

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything including outdated furniture. Renovation notice shoud have been supplied by Expedia
When we checked in, the girl at the front desk told us that due to renovation , there would be noise from noon until 5pm. We had planned on being gone that entire time ...so I thought things would be fine. We awoke Sunday morning at 9am to major construction noise (could not hear tv or anyone speaking in the room.). Front desk was flooded with angry clients. Because we booked thru Exoedia, they could not adjust our room rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thanks for your feedback. We try to schedule the renovation at times which are least impactful to our guests, but although renovation is necessary, there is never a good time. On behalf of the entire staff, please accept our sincere apology for the great inconvenience. We realize you have many choices when selecting accommodations, but hope you will give us another opportunity to serve as your host after the renovation is complete. All the best,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Would not stay here again

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Being on the River Walk. That was it...
Cons: Bathroom upgrades desperately needed. Parking cost for people that are staying at the hotel should have been complimentary or at a reduced rate.
Location: Lots to see but it is all the same a typical tourist area.
Bathroom was small and there was no venting for the steam. Difficult to get out of the shower between the door and the toilet. Tub faucet was difficult to operate you either froze or burned!!! The bathroom sinks faucets were the same way. Just awful!! The cost to park was $27.00 per day if you parked yourself or $37.00 per day if you used the valet service. It cost more to park the car for five days then it cost to rent the car. Definitely was not impressed with this Marriott. Two regular coffees at Starbucks in the hotel lobby cost over $7.00 and tasted old. Over priced. The value was not there and would never consider a Marriott Hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, I’m very sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your recent stay, but I’m very pleased to tell you the hotel will undergo a rooms renovation beginning this month which will address some of the concerns you mentioned. We are very excited about the renovation because not only is our location great, but now we’ll have beautiful new rooms. As for the parking, our studies show that our parking rates are comparably priced to other downtown hotels in San Antonio. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust. All the best,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from new mexico

Internet

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: The fan in the bathroom did not work. More coffee and sweeteners for the guests. Soda machines did not work
Location: Location was great everything was within walking distance
Think hotels today need to offer wifi without extra charge it is just part of life now days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and appreciate the suggestions. Our goal is to deliver the best hotel experience possible so your suggestions are extremely important to us. Please come again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Accessible to many places

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Great place, close to anything you want or need in walking distance. Hated the parking fee per night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vale

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It took over an hour to get my vehicle from the vale.. I did not plan for that 1 hour..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Retro Not Good

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Proximity to attractions.
Cons: Decor, amenities, services, free wifi, more contact with staff.
Hotel is far below expectations for its Star Level. Needs renovation and rooms need to be brought into this century.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. The renovation of all guest rooms is slated to begin in the Fall of 2014. The renovation will give the rooms a more modern, updated look. I would also like to apologize for the lack of contact with our staff. We hope for another opportunity to re-gain your trust.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible room

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The room had no view at all. The shower had ceiling tile above it and had mold in between the tiles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. The hotel will begin a rooms renovation in the Fall of 2014 which will address some of your concerns. I hope you will visit us again after the renovation and let me know what you think of our brand new rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midland tx

Too much money for what you get.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Room very small for price. Front desk over charged card, Spoke with manager computers down and couldn't fix it said come back later. Close to mall and comedy club. I would try another hotel with better rooms and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Dear disappointed, We appreciate your comments and your honesty. When a reviewer expresses not to return again, not only does it mean we failed to host you brilliantly but it also means we failed to live up to your expectations and ours and that is never acceptable. Please accept our sincere apology. I can only hope we were able to take care of your situation to your satisfaction. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to re-gain your trust.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Nice hotel right on the river

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Easy access to the riverwalk
Cons: Valet was slow.
Location: Excellent location
Great experience...highly recommended. Great proximity to great resturants and night life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Across the street from the Convention Center

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location to Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center
Cons: Housekeeping periodic cleaning.
Location: Hotel is in between the Convention Center and the River Center Mall. Riverwalk runs by the hotel. Nice downtown location.
Hotel staff were nice. Rooms were comfortable. The hotel condition was showing a little wear. The room cleanliness was okay. Periodic cleaning has been neglected (Shower curtain needed washing). Minor cosmetic repairs are required on some of the furniture (scratches show). Vallet parking is a little expensive. Breakfast buffet at the Cafe is expensive - $20 per person.