Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I expected a refrigerator for over $200/night

Posted Jul 24, 2014
charged $35/night for valet parking because they had no self park spaces for 3 nights
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Dirty Hotel, Can't be a Marriott !!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Very nice fitness center
Cons: Everything !
Location: Right on the RiverWalk, a couple blocks from the Alamo, right on the rivercenter mall. lots of restaurants and stores
This hotel was not represented well by the Expedia Website. The pool is literally half indoors and half outdoors. The little outdoor bar was non-existant. The hotel itself, including the rooms was run down and dirty. The carpet in our room was filthy, we left our shoes on the entire time. The "gift shop" consisted of a closet of health and beauty aides. We were told self-parking was $25 and valet parking was $35 and when we arrived, they said valet parking was the only thing available. We should have been charged only $25/day because that was all that was available. The vending machines on our floor were out of order. The walls were incredibly thin and we could hear all the hall activity and people on both sides of us. I have stayed at many Marriotts's and this was more like the "No Tell Motel !!"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Please allow me to apologize for your disappointment throughout the hotel. The hotel will begin a complete renovation of all the guest rooms beginning in the Fall of 2014. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott, but we certainly hope you will give this Marriott another visit after the renovation; I’d like to know what you think.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No wifi?

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel in general wasn't bad however I've stayed at "lesser" hotels and they gave free wifi but this one charged $13! It may not be much but it's still a litte ridiculous when a "select service hotel" offers more service than the riverwalk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I understand your frustration regarding the wi-fi issue. As you noted, full service hotels charge a fee for wi-fi connectivity; we apologize for the inconvenience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Very laid back. Made for a nice weekend. Staff very kind and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Nickle and Diming

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The bed and the location
Cons: Ha! Read review
Location: The Alamo and Riverwalk
So let me start by saying this is in fact a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable. In fact when I got home, I ordered a couple of the pillows because I liked them so much. As for why the poor rating. It started when we arrived and were told it was $35 per day to park at the hotel. That was a little excessive to me. Next, we get to our room and try to use our phones only to find out there is no service in the hotel....oh and to get Wifi, that'll cost you $12.95. I found this a little strange, almost like they were blocking service somehow so you would be forced to purchase the Wifi. There is NO continental breakfast available. For the price we paid a night at this hotel, there should be breakfast, free Wifi AND free parking. I get that at any lower cost hotel and I would certainly expect it at a higher end one. So for the FINAL nail in the coffin was check out. A bill was slipped under our door on the day of check out. There was a strange charge on the bill for $40.00 listed as a "room charge". When we went to the front desk , we saw a few other guest holding their bills and I asked them if they had the same charge. They did. When asked about the charge at the desk, it was quickly removed and we were given a new bill with no explanation other than it was removed. We asked what it was and the person tried to explain while tripping over his words. SCAM! There are WAY too many choices of places to stay in SA, my recommendation, stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Patrick, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that your experience at the Marriott Riverwalk was such a disappointment. I am glad you found the staff friendly and your room comfortable, but that doesn’t take away from your disappointment with the overall experience. I can absolutely assure you that we do not block wi-fi service to force anyone to purchase our in-room w-fi. We offer complimentary wi-fi in the lobby and other public spaces, but as most full service hotels, we do have a fee for the same service in the rooms. As is also the case with full-service hotels, there is a charge for parking and breakfast, some limited service properties, however, offer them on a complimentary basis. As for the other room charge you mentioned, we are looking into why this happened. We are grateful you brought this to our attention as we take great pride in providing a level of service unsurpassed from check in to check out. I hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust and confidence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from houston

Quiet and nice friendly helpful staff

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Dust the room better. I noticed dust and dirt on some furniture and under the sink.
Very nice staff. Gave us a complimentary roll away bed for my daughter and had the requested pack-n-play set up in room for our baby. Staff gave us directions to places and was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steph from new jersey

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: location
Great location - on the riverwalk, so easy access. Close to all downtown activities and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Azle, TX

Marriott Riverwalk San Antonio

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, view, location
Cons: Chair upholstery needs updating and balcony rail needs painting.
Location: Location is great; easy walking distance to Alamodome. Riverwalk is just out the door and down the stairs with immediate access to riverboat departure
We took a road trip to San Antonio to see a show at the Alamodome on Memorial weekend. The downtown riverwalk area was very, very crowded but this hotel was perfect for our needs. The traffic in downtown was terrible and getting to the hotel was slow going. However, once we pulled into the entrance, the staff was calm and pleasant. Valet parking, at $35/night, was the only option. Although, in that traffic, that would have been my choice as well. Check-in was easy, no wait and Anthony was very nice. We were on the 27th floor. It appears that all the rooms have balconies. Because of the location and angle of the hotel, there is no immediate obstruction to a great view and our view was spectacular. The Alamodome was about a 6 block walk from the hotel door to the door of the dome. The riverwalk is just out the hotel door and down the stairs. The riverboat tour rides have several ticketing/departure areas along the river and one happens to be at this Marriott location. There is plenty to do, see, eat and drink along the riverwalk. This was a very fast trip and we were at the hotel less than 24 full hours but it was enjoyable while we were there. The only con I would mention was the upholstery on the chairs and the paint on the balcony railing. The upholstery was stained and railing needed re-painting. All in all, I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Madison from San Diego

Good downtown location.

Posted May 12, 2014
Cons: Bathroom size
Location is nice but the rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom is very small. The staff at the hotel is very helpful and always willing to help. The gym was really great considering the hotel is a little older.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CB from Arkansas

Wonderful staff, Great location!

Posted May 8, 2014
Staff is exceptional!!! Right on the riverwalk. The staff tried to fulfill all our wants and needs. Definitely coming back!