Ratings based on 3,317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Illinois

The staff and facility very classy.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location is perfect. A few steps to the river walk. The staff is the best. The old charm of this place is wonderful. It is very clean!
Cons: The ventilation could use some improvements but not sure how you could get away with making it perfect without ruining the building.
Location: To many things to list just go to google maps and see for yourself. 4.00 all day bus pass will get you to a lot of places too.
A well maintained historic building, but with its age it does have some minor annoyances. You are unable to regulate the temperature of the rooms due to lack of duct work. The staff do constantly monitor the temperatures and do a good job of regulating it but you are pretty much unable to do this yourself. In order for them to change this you would have pretty much ruined the old charm and historic character of the building. The hot water takes a while to get to the room but there is plenty of it. The staff are top notch! The food and service are also top notch! If I go to San Antonio again I will be staying at the Menger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully historic hotel.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Decoration and location.
Cons: Better regulation of water temperature in the shower. Though this is understandable given the age of the hotel.
Location: Great location! An easy walk to all of the attractions in Downtown and a shuttle stop right outside.
This hotel is simply beautiful. The common areas from the main lobby to the garden to the Victorian lobby are wonderful. The rooms are of a decent size, clean, and well maintained. The bathrooms are clean. The only possible complaints I could have is that the temperature of the shower fluctuates and I could easily hear the couple in the room next to our due to a locked adjoining door. However, these were minor inconveniences. The location of the hotel is also great. It is directly across the street from the Alamo and a very short walk to tons of restaurants, bars, and the Riverwalk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Excellent location, loved the history of everything, and the price couldn't be beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Historic hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Part of history
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the middle of everything
Nice clean and very comforting. Rooms quaint with modern amenities. Very quiet and peaceful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Feb 15, 2015
The Menger is still a beautiful hotel maintaining the old west charm but the rooms were bland and cramped for the price. The worst was the bar, it was dirty, cheap liquor, and terrible service. Hey management, fix the bar!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the alamo

Posted Feb 13, 2015
very stylish hotel, which combines almost perfect the old beautiful interior and furniture and the mordern technology
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom f

Old & Outdated

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Heater didn't work. Old, needs remodel. Good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2015
This is a super old hotel and I get that they are trying to preserve it's history. The room I was in was super dated but that is the theme of the hotel. The shower was horrid as it came up to my nose, room service brought food but never took it out. Overall spooky feel as you walked the halls. If you like antiques and want to travel back in time then this is the place for you. Staff was super friendly and efficient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Love hotel history but room for much improvement

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: We loved the history of the hotel and location. The food we had at lunch was horrible. However, Sunday brunch had some options that were very good.
Cons: So much......see list of complaints above.
Location: The Alamo, the riverwalk, easy trolley accessibility, shopping, Segway tours, local historical attractions nearby.....great walking area.
We loved the history of the hotel but we could make a long list of disappointments. If we ever returned to San Antonio, we might give this hotel another chance to see if things have improved. We had a terrible lunch first day. Food was bad and service was less than adequate. We had requested a garden view room and had been assured that was ok - however, the general manager had no idea and had a tough time accommodating that request. We got a room that looked over a roof at the garden. The room was so small, we could not open the door, the closet or the bathroom door at the same time. If one person opened the dresser drawer, the other could not cross the room. There was no space to set up the ironing board comfortably. The bathroom had a pedestal sink with a little tiny shelf over the sink and no place to set any toiletries. The tub was peeling, the drain was pulled out and set on the side of the tub, and the faucet leaked so bad, that it woke me up in the middle of the night and was an extreme waste of water in the midst of a drought. The air conditioning sometimes did not work and when it did, it blew directly on the bed. We regret not asking for a different room. The bar/pub had horrible service and very bad red wine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

beautiful hotel with great history

Posted Feb 4, 2015
The Menger is absolutely beautiful. We love the rich history and location. Hotel staff could have been warmer and more helpful. There are 2 sides/wings of the hotel. When my family of 5, including 3 small children, arrived we went straight towards the historical entrance and up the elevator to find out our room was clear across on the opposite side of the hotel which is not accessible from where we were :/ would have been nice if the woman checking is in would have mentioned that as we walked in the opposite direction than we should have. The pool was heated and we were told in advance that the hot tub was in working order. It wasn't. The kids were bummed. The room was a great size and had a balcony that overlooked the pool, but the beds were uncomfortable. The door to the balcony rattled and banged All... Night... Long. I mentioned the balcony door to the woman at the front desk and suggested that she might have their maintenance guy take a look at it. She barley acknowledged that I was talking to her and seemed bothered that I even mentioned it. The Menger Bar is really cool. The bartender was nice and told ghost stories, but the only thing that made me uneasy was the olives I ate with my drink. They may have been as old as the hotel. Beware of ghost stories and bad drink garnishes! They both keep u up at night ;)