Ratings based on 3,501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin

Overnight in San Antonio

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The location was great. The historical features of the hotel provided a nice distraction while relaxing.Cleanliness was excellent
Cons: The most annoying aspect was the room key and lock system. I spent no less than 3 attempts getting the key to work, replacing the key did not solve.
Location: Many things were within walking distance.. Exploring the lobby and the historical features of the hotel were available. The Alamo was next door.
Over-all the stay was nice. The location was great. The history of the hotel was fascinating and the cleanliness of the lobby and rooms was very nice. The first problem I had was finding where to park my car. Passed the hotel twice and could not find the garage until the 3rd time. That was very frustrating since there were so many pedestrians in the area making it hard to look for the garage and avoid injuring someone. Then after parking and realizing that valet was $28 a night was rather shocking, considering the price of the hotel room, I mean really just bump up the room price and do not "nickel and dime" your guests. Getting to the room was difficult since the elevator was across the lobby , through another foyer and then next to the restaurant. It felt like being sent to the service elevator. The room key was another issue. It took about 4 tries to get the key to work on arrival. Then returning from dinner it took about 6 tries before I gave up, walked downstairs and got a new key. Even the new key took about 3 tries and I realized the issue was most likely mechanical. So each return trip to the room took at least 4 attempts to get the door open. Other than these issues the stay was over-all good. The cleanliness was really good and the staff were really helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance to the mall

Posted Jul 27, 2015
It was nice to be within walking distance to the river walk and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north texas

Remember the Alamo

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: convenience and ambience
Cons: upgrade plumbing
Location: downtown tourist's heaven
Oldest hotel in San Antonio, price competitive, authentic and convenient to the movie, river-walk and the Alamo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The history, the ghost stories, the proximity to attractions.
Location: River walk, Alamo, restaurants, shopping, tour connections are all right there!
We enjoyed the ambiance of the historic building, it was in exceptional condition for its age! The room was lovely, bed very comfortable although did not seem to be king-sized (even though we were assured that it was). The bathroom was a bit cramped. The outside pool was very nice, although this was also a smoking area and several smokers had congregated near us which was rather unpleasant. Overall a very nice experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

close to River Walk

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: The history that is displayed and told.
Cons: Cleanliness and update but keep the feel of the times.
Location: Plenty!
The hotel is a nice piece of history and some of the rooms are much better than others. Many of the older rooms have a musty, dirty smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The history and closeness to things to do. There was also a nice restaurant. We only had breakfast there, but it was excellent.
Cons: There was a clog in our bathroom sink, and we were unable to close our sliding glass patio door. Both of these problems were corrected.
Location: Near the Riverwalk and lots of eating places. Next door to the Alamo and within walking distance to LaVillita.
The Menger is a beautiful old hotel with a lot of history. It is right in the middle of downtown San Antonio, next door to the Alamo. The Riverwalk is no more than a block away, so the hotel is right in the middle of the action. Horse drawn carriage rides were available at night right outside the door. The hotel staff were all very friendly - every person from the valets to the housekeepers spoke each time we saw them. The pool was excellent and very clean, but the staff started vacuuming the pool and the area around it at 7:00 each morning. Kind of loud! We took our 7 year old granddaughter. She loved the whole experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, Texas

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Very small room for the price. Bathroom quite small. Most of few working electrical outlets were old 2 prong.
We like this hotel due to the history and location next to The Alamo. Restaurant was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

アラモに近いホテル

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: 割安。
Cons: 冷蔵庫があれば非常にいい。また、エレベーターの案内が不十分で、遠いエレベーターを使っていました。
Location: アラモには非常に近く、リバーウォークを含めて中心街の観光にはうってつけだと思います。
アラモに近い割には割安感のあるホテルでした。ただ、幽霊が出るっといった話もあり少々緊張しましたが問題はありませんでした(笑)。幽霊ツアーと夕食のセットもあり、逆にそれを売りにしている感もあります。また、歴史があり古い割には清潔に保たれており滞在は問題ありませんでした。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Menger in July

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The historical aspects of it. The beauty of the lobbies, sitting areas and garden.
Cons: See above. Already mentioned.
Location: Central location is good.
Dinner was not as good as the last time - big disappointment. Rooms were exceeingly small. And I realize that all hotels do this and I understand why, but I hate, absolutely hate, pulling back the covers and having the whole bed come untucked. Is it too much to ask to tuck the bottom sheet in separately? I felt the hotel was too expensive for the accomodations we had. I know it's an historic hotel and there are lots of fine things about it. The accomodations and meal were not among them. This was my second stay. The first was better. I probably won't stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 8, 2015
I have tried three times to leave a response, andhonest reponse, and you won't take it. I don't have time for this anymore.