Ratings based on 3,432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

River Walk and History.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Age and history.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great history and great food. The River Walk is very nice.
Being located by one of the most well known landmarks in the United States was a joy. The River Walk section was great. Food outstanding and the Hotel was great. Look forward to a return trip in the near future. Was here on business, but next visit will be for vacation. Thanks for the Texas hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: My corner room.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: I attended a conference and had no time to sightsee. But I have stayed here before and it is close to the River Walk.
I was surprised to have been put into a corner room in the older part of the hotel. It felt like I was staying in a bed and breakfast. The room was clean. The vending machine wasn't working on the 4th floor but I have no other complaints. This hotel is really better than the Grand Hyatt that I stayed in on the 4rd night of my stay in San Antonio!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted May 18, 2015
Spa wasn't available half the time. Pool was freezing cold. Not heated. Valet cost is ridiculous. Staff was hit or miss. Valet staff was rude. Only thing this hotel has going for it is the history.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice older hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
We had a nice stay. The help was very accommodating but the room was in need of an update. Bathroom was just ok. No exhaust fan and shower was not great. We did enjoy the outside gardens and rough rider bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Cool old hotel.

Posted May 7, 2015
Great location. Close to everything. Cool old historical building. Great bar. Overall really great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Charming historic hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: History, friendly staff
Location: and the tour busses (Hop on hop off) are right in the plaza.
Beautiful and historic hotel made our stay interesting and convenient. It is steps away from the Alamo and the riverwalk and tour buses and trolleys. We loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Great Location; Poor Temperature Control in Room

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Location, history, and friendly staff
Cons: The A/C situation needs to be fixed. The staff needs to put more effort into renovations.
Location: Very near the Riverwalk (about five minute's walk). Near the Alamo and mall. Most tour buses stop in front of the Menger, which is very convenient.
The Menger Hotel has a great staff and a perfect location from which to base your San Antonio vacation. The Hotel is historic and quite lovely. However, it would be nice if management would step up their renovation efforts and take care of some of the obvious decay to the building; things that go beyond normal historic hotel imperfections. There are places where it looks like the staff just doesn't care. Our room was quite nice (we got a renovated room): the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was fine (except for the fluctuating water temperature in the shower), and it was very clean. The major discomfort factor was the room temperature. It appears that the hotel staff has rigged the A/C to not drop below 73 degrees Fahrenheit no matter how you adjust the thermostat; all the thermostat appears to do is set the fan speed. This temperature is far above the recommended temperature for a good night's sleep, and there is nothing you can do about it. Some of the rooms don't even have a ceiling fan to help you cool off at night. Keep in mind that San Antonio has a very warm climate for much of the year. You will save a little money by booking the Menger, but if you are a finicky sleeper this hotel may not meet your needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Historic Texas Experience

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: History and beauty
Cons: air conditioning works adequate, but I would still stay there again
Location: Riverfront activity, riverfront mall, Alamo
Historic Texan experience with all the convenience of a modern hotel, but old world charm too. Great location, walk through the riverfront mall leads you to the riverside and everything there to see.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicagoland

One nite across from the Alamo.

Posted May 1, 2015
We are not the travelers who want to stay in an historic hotel that smells like a musty old folks home. As pretty as the courtyard is we would have taken tea there and stayed in a crisp clean comfortable room--which would NOT have been found at the Menger. Walls appear to have last been painted when teddy Roosevelt's rough riders were there. Black scuffs marks gouges etc. black mold above the crown molding. No drainage in the tub when showering. Scratchy sheets and lack of blankets. No room service!! Empty vending machines. Woeful experience. Ok not horrible but definitely not a good memory. The colonial dining room is beautiful the wait staff fantastic the food meh. But a good place to have a meeting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston Texas

Great hotel next to the Alamo

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The staff is very professional, hotel is a beautiful piece of Texas history, right next to the Alamo. the rooms are comfortable, bathrooms a little small but since it was built in the 1800's, that's expected. I would stay their again.