Ratings based on 3,321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

To visit the Alamo

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The ambience, the friendly staff, the food, the area and the price.
Cons: The receptionists uniform. Dark blue blouses and shirts I felt did not suit the beauty of the Hotel.
Location: Centre location, right next to The Alamo, and the river walk another lovely place to eat/drink and relax. Get there early as it gets busy.
Fresh from England, Driving from the airport was a nightmare, road works, 4 lanes merging in to 2 right in the busy area, raining and tired. Finally found the hotel. Cannot miss it really, right in the centre, ok once we found out where to park. On entering the hotel WOW beautiful, reception staff welcoming and room small bur adequate for our one night stay (wish we could stay longer). Any questions we had was answered quickly and politely. We met couple of friends in the hotel bar, a cowboy here for the Rodeo, enjoyed the night as we took our drinks to the patio area, after the bar had closed. A very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Classic Hotel in great location

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Full of character, and very well placed for the Alamo and River Walk.
Cons: My suite was noisy and cold.
Location: Great location for everything San Antonio had to offer, which is plenty especially at night along the River Walk
Charming hotel full of character, and ideally located for the Alamo, tour buses, and close to the River Walk. We were upgraded to suites but mine was noisy and cold, however the hotel moved me and the next room was fine. The reception staff were very helpful, the hotel bar had plenty of atmosphere and history, and the valet parking was efficient but somewhat expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

small room nightmare

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The room was to small for two people to walk around. Basically a full size bed stuff in a cubicle with extremely old furniture that didn't seem to be taken care of. The doors slammed, and the room never got below 78 degrees without opening a window. Even then we had to put a fan in the window to make the air move.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgetown, Texas

Amazing hotel, walking distance to all the sights!

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The location, the nostalgia, the history, the food, we liked it all!
Cons: Bring back all the originality of the hotel!
Location: Alamo, Buckhorn Saloon and Museum, Riverwalk, La Villita, many many more.
Amazing unforgettable experience for me and my girlfriend. I'm a Texan through and through and she relocated from California. So I gave her a trip to learn about Texas that she'll never forget. And the Menger Hotel is the place to do it! Just steps from the Alamo and Riverwalk! We only drove somewhere once!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Illinois

The staff and facility very classy.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location is perfect. A few steps to the river walk. The staff is the best. The old charm of this place is wonderful. It is very clean!
Cons: The ventilation could use some improvements but not sure how you could get away with making it perfect without ruining the building.
Location: To many things to list just go to google maps and see for yourself. 4.00 all day bus pass will get you to a lot of places too.
A well maintained historic building, but with its age it does have some minor annoyances. You are unable to regulate the temperature of the rooms due to lack of duct work. The staff do constantly monitor the temperatures and do a good job of regulating it but you are pretty much unable to do this yourself. In order for them to change this you would have pretty much ruined the old charm and historic character of the building. The hot water takes a while to get to the room but there is plenty of it. The staff are top notch! The food and service are also top notch! If I go to San Antonio again I will be staying at the Menger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully historic hotel.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Decoration and location.
Cons: Better regulation of water temperature in the shower. Though this is understandable given the age of the hotel.
Location: Great location! An easy walk to all of the attractions in Downtown and a shuttle stop right outside.
This hotel is simply beautiful. The common areas from the main lobby to the garden to the Victorian lobby are wonderful. The rooms are of a decent size, clean, and well maintained. The bathrooms are clean. The only possible complaints I could have is that the temperature of the shower fluctuates and I could easily hear the couple in the room next to our due to a locked adjoining door. However, these were minor inconveniences. The location of the hotel is also great. It is directly across the street from the Alamo and a very short walk to tons of restaurants, bars, and the Riverwalk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Excellent location, loved the history of everything, and the price couldn't be beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Historic hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Part of history
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the middle of everything
Nice clean and very comforting. Rooms quaint with modern amenities. Very quiet and peaceful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Feb 15, 2015
The Menger is still a beautiful hotel maintaining the old west charm but the rooms were bland and cramped for the price. The worst was the bar, it was dirty, cheap liquor, and terrible service. Hey management, fix the bar!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the alamo

Posted Feb 13, 2015
very stylish hotel, which combines almost perfect the old beautiful interior and furniture and the mordern technology