Ratings based on 3,438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columba, South Carolina

Historic hotel located in a superb spot

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Am very fond of the historic displays and the history of the place. The.re is a wonderful charm to the main lobby and garden. The bar oozes history
Cons: Renovate the bathtubs
Location: A perfect location to walk to the Alamo, the Briscoe Museum, the River Walk and at least two dozen places to eat and imbibe. Super!
My room was in the older wing, and the tub had cracked refinishing and a broken stopper. The hotel has a swell garden, great bar, above average breakfast service, and some very nice shops. I very much enjoyed the Toy Soldier Show which also included a charming reception and a Hollywood personality appearance. Kings X is a very unique and impressive shop.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Historic Hotel but..

Posted May 24, 2015
We were really disappointed in the room size!! I felt like I was an a hostile or dorm room. It was not advertised as a tiny room!! The hotel common areas are beautifully decorated, historically appealing, but I didn't go there for an expensive museum tour- instead I wanted a relaxing evening in a "highly talked about" hotel in downtown SA😏 which didn't happen. Paper thin walls. Our room was next to the very loud elevator. @ 4am people were up and about in the hallways. @ 7am the cleaning staff arrived with thundering rolling carts, doors banging, " Good morning" so and so etc. heard all their conversations and understood every bit of it, even in Spanish. When I asked for a late check-out to try n catch some zzz'swe were told no! $17.99 per person for Buffett breakfast and $30 valet. Plus, ( I don't even want to mention how much I paid for my matchbox room😖😤) we will never stay here again. 😔
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Historic Hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
Great hotel across the street from the Alamo and close enough to the river walk to easily go bit not get all the noise. Good pool and good bar. Rooms are a little date but the hotel has been open since the 1850's so really cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, Texas

Old Town San Antonio

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The old but classic feel. The staff
Location: The River Walk. The Alamo. River City Mall
We had a marvelous evening. Sipping wine on our balcony - overlooking Alamo Plaza. The staff was excellent. Best I've experienced in a while!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

River Walk and History.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Age and history.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great history and great food. The River Walk is very nice.
Being located by one of the most well known landmarks in the United States was a joy. The River Walk section was great. Food outstanding and the Hotel was great. Look forward to a return trip in the near future. Was here on business, but next visit will be for vacation. Thanks for the Texas hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: My corner room.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: I attended a conference and had no time to sightsee. But I have stayed here before and it is close to the River Walk.
I was surprised to have been put into a corner room in the older part of the hotel. It felt like I was staying in a bed and breakfast. The room was clean. The vending machine wasn't working on the 4th floor but I have no other complaints. This hotel is really better than the Grand Hyatt that I stayed in on the 4rd night of my stay in San Antonio!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted May 18, 2015
Spa wasn't available half the time. Pool was freezing cold. Not heated. Valet cost is ridiculous. Staff was hit or miss. Valet staff was rude. Only thing this hotel has going for it is the history.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice older hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
We had a nice stay. The help was very accommodating but the room was in need of an update. Bathroom was just ok. No exhaust fan and shower was not great. We did enjoy the outside gardens and rough rider bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Cool old hotel.

Posted May 7, 2015
Great location. Close to everything. Cool old historical building. Great bar. Overall really great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Charming historic hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: History, friendly staff
Location: and the tour busses (Hop on hop off) are right in the plaza.
Beautiful and historic hotel made our stay interesting and convenient. It is steps away from the Alamo and the riverwalk and tour buses and trolleys. We loved it!