Ratings based on 1,805 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Ruined my weekend

Posted Apr 27, 2015
There was no valet available at the hotel e vendors though they advertise it. Has huge leak in the room had to switch rooms at 3 am. No apologies were offered at all. Completely of void of common courtesy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Walking distance to shops and food

Posted Apr 24, 2015
The hotel was really nice and comfortable. Love the Market on Houston that's in the hotel. The room was good. A little small but we didn't spend much time in it anyway. The bed was super comfortable and staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laredo, TX

Great Hoel in a Perfect Location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
We stayed at Gunter because we had tickets for a musical at The Majestic across the street. We were so happy when we realized the room was so lovely. I had read reviews that the bathrooms were very small, and although it was small, it was still comfortable and clean. We loved everything about our stay but especially loved the restaurant on the premises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Location and comfortable
Cons: Bathroom smelled like it had been cleaned with a dirty rag or sponge. Some staff not very friendly. Valet staff great, very nice and friendly.
Location: The Alamo, Riverwalk, lots of shops and restaurants.
Loved that it was within walking distance to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We were very comfortable in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Downtown Disappointment

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The lobby is pretty and the female bar tender we had in the wine bar was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Service was almost non-existent and rude. Cleanliness of room needed to be better.
Location: The location was excellent; right across from performing arts theatre, lots of restaurants within walking distance, river Walk within walking distance
Hotel staff did not seem to listen. Asked for a cab for pick up in 30 minutes. 15 minutes later cab was waiting. Felt rushed to get to taxi. Friend accidentally knocked over large glass water filled container in lobby. No one on staff asked if she was ok. Went for a drink in the "Custom Drink" lounge. Bartenders did not greet us, did not come to serve us for over 10 minutes and never checked back with us. We left credit card on bar to try to get their attention so we could pay and leave. We waited for 15 minutes and finally left cash. The bar was not at all busy; it appeared there were some freinds of the bar tenders at the bar, so we were rudely ignored. Room smelled musty; bathroom was TINY, rug felt wet. Very disappointed in overall condition of room at $200 a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, Md

Close to everything

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Staff went beyond to make sure my stay was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Historic building.
Cons: Bathroom shower can use an update,
Location: River walk, Alamo, museums, Market square.
Easy walking distance to all the sites. The hotel staff is very accommodating and the restaurant is reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas, tx

Parking

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel does not have a garage, however there was a public parking very cheap by the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel - great location

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Location: Right in the middle of everything - great outdoor breakfast area - Starbucks on the corner. Majestic building in a great historic location
Stated at the Gunter a few years ago and it has been renovated since the last visit. Everything was great
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

A Tatty Old Property with Slathered on Makeup

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: A very pleasant, if somewhat less than effectual staff and the location - which for the price point was probably about right. They try, but...
Cons: Staff training to match their natural pleasantness. Really cleaning the tile and grout in the baths Some of this may be as much a staffing numbers.
Location: It is within walking distance of all that is important downtown.
A great location with a warm (if very slow) staff that attempts to please but seems to lack the authority to do much that most hotels wouldn't consider a challenge. In the very early days of the past century this was probably a prime property, but despite new paint, windows, tile, etc. the management has failed to do much more than cover up the old plumbing (ten minutes to get hot water in the AM was the norm). The beds were quit comfortable and if you don't need hotel services (like maintenance) you'll probably be just fine, but it can also take up to ten minute just to get a cup of coffee in the deli section and the coffeemaker one in the room did little more than almost work.