Ratings based on 1,778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas, tx

Parking

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel does not have a garage, however there was a public parking very cheap by the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel - great location

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Location: Right in the middle of everything - great outdoor breakfast area - Starbucks on the corner. Majestic building in a great historic location
Stated at the Gunter a few years ago and it has been renovated since the last visit. Everything was great
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

A Tatty Old Property with Slathered on Makeup

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: A very pleasant, if somewhat less than effectual staff and the location - which for the price point was probably about right. They try, but...
Cons: Staff training to match their natural pleasantness. Really cleaning the tile and grout in the baths Some of this may be as much a staffing numbers.
Location: It is within walking distance of all that is important downtown.
A great location with a warm (if very slow) staff that attempts to please but seems to lack the authority to do much that most hotels wouldn't consider a challenge. In the very early days of the past century this was probably a prime property, but despite new paint, windows, tile, etc. the management has failed to do much more than cover up the old plumbing (ten minutes to get hot water in the AM was the norm). The beds were quit comfortable and if you don't need hotel services (like maintenance) you'll probably be just fine, but it can also take up to ten minute just to get a cup of coffee in the deli section and the coffeemaker one in the room did little more than almost work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston,Tx

Great hotel near the Alamo and across a Starbucks.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Wonderful hotel, great room, super comfortable bed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Great hotel! Wonderful staff and perfect location to experience the Riverwalk and/or the Alamo. Bathrooms/showers are tiny but that was the only objection my girlfriend and I had to this great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

recent stay

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: staff was excellent, very attentive. Very clean hotel, well lighted and kept.
Cons: Elevator service and the bar and lounge prices are high in comparison to the area.
Location: great location, close to riverwalk and accessible to the local highways for daily business trips.
1. Charged for internet service which was to be included. 2. Elevators: there are only 3 available, and during my stay one elevator out of 3 was broken, leading to extended waits for lift service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but requests were ignored

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very clean and quaint but two nights in a row were requested extra sheets and blanket for an air mattress and they NEVER showed up. Called four times. And finally spoke with front desk face to face. Other than thst it was the perfect location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Nice hotel, but I've stayed at better for less

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Booked room a few days in advance, and check in was pretty easy. I had called ahead and told them I had a small dog with us. On the phone this seemed to not be a problem, but seemed to confuse the girl that was checking us in. Once there all went pretty well except for some noisy people at the outside pool past the closing time. Had to dispute some valet parking charges upon check out as we didn't use theirs.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Conroe Texas

Posted Mar 18, 2015
We already told you about our room in a complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close by everything river walk and market square.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We where on the street side and the noise was bad and night and early morning.