Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inexpensive motel close to river walk.

Posted May 22, 2015
Not the nicest place but it is conveniently located. we moved to a room NOT in the back corner & NOT under the freeway overpass. overall, you get what you pay for and we were satisfied. breakfast was okay until the unfortnate homeless man came in to dine. front desk staff appeared to be aware of his presence. It would have been alright, except he smelled terribly bless his heart. I would not recommend to a friend but okay for us last minute, passing thru.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Laredo Tx

Dirty Room and Sticky Carpet.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was ok.
Cons: Need to remodel and maintain clean rooms.
Location: Too Noisy
The room smelled bad, I was also having trouble with the internet, carpet was dirty and sticky and floor and sink was dirty the TV was mess up old and broken color was bad. Not at all what is shown in online sorry to say I wood not recommend or stay their again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Juanita, We apologize if you were not able to enjoy your stay in our establishment. We will raise and escalate your concern on the following points and issues you have mentioned. Rest assured that this will be dealt with accordingly, for we would like to give all our guests the best quality service you all deserve.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Bad choice

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
It was a very bad experience. The room was dirty , the staff was not friendly. I was changed three times before I got a "decent room" Too much noise in the hotel. I do not recommend it that all
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Marina, We apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. Sanitation and courtesy have been our highest priorities and we would like to keep it that way so to ensure customer satisfaction. We will exert more efforts on the following points you have mentioned so we can keep all our guests happy and satisfied. Thank you very much for your feedback and we will take this positively as a learning experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom m

Alright

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The guy was really rude..The Ac was not working to well..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but thats it

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: the staff were friendly
Cons: cleanliness, beds need to be replaced they sagged
Location: the location was great you could walk to the river walk
The hotel was in a good location but the amount we paid for the room I would not do again it was not worth the amount we paid the only thing going for it was the location and I imagine that is how they charged so much. Would not stay there again would pay the extra for a better hotel it needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry that you feel that way. We understand that you are upset about the cost of the room you paid for. Do you happen to remember what room was that or perhaps specific details like date and room number so we can further check our records for you? We strive to make all our customers happy and satisfied with the level of customer service and the amenities we have. We will continue to improve our establishment so all our guests will continue to get their money's worth, enjoy our amenities and facilities and so as to have a happy and unforgettable customer experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown. Easy access.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Close to the freeway. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
The walk from the hotel to the Riverwalk and the Alamo isn't too bad. The area where it is located is not the best, but also not terrible. We stayed here for a night and it was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tTX

Night Mare Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We arrived at check in time, there were other guest waiting in front of us to check in (2) . While we were checking in they came back cause their pass key didn't work. We got check in gave us our room and directions to it. Get to the room and they are still cleaning the room, the employees see us at the door and never said anything to us. So we are standing in parking lot in front of our room, never did they come out to say anything to us much less call front office. So I went into office and told the lady at the front desk that the room wasn't ready, she gave us another room. She proceeded to say that the lady that had that to clean must've left without her knowing. When we enter the room it had a stale odor, carpet was stain with black spots, and looked like it hadn't been vacuumed. The shower had long strains of black hair on the shower walls. I wore socks the entire night when it was time to change my socks they were flithy and had hair all over them. I threw them in the trash. Couldn't get my money back because that was the first thing we notice as we walked in BIG sign that says no refunds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel practically under the interstate

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
Location: Not within walking distance of anything.
So close to the interstate the noise level was unbearable. Had a water leak in the bathroom. Very tight parking spaces. Would not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Reserved a non-smoking room. Upon arrival I was told only smoking rooms were available. Did not have a good night's sleep with that stench. Not even smokers want those rooms. Terrible experience.