Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Charming
Cons: Fridges in room
Location: Great location lots to do in walking distance
Wonderful stay, comfy beds, great staff, especially Jonny
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from College Station TX

Needs to be updated.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful and nice. Even upgraded us. Only problem was any upgrade should be to a nicer room so not sure what I would have had.
Cons: updating and cleaning up the hotel.
Location: Location is about 3 to 4 blocks from the river walk. A very comfortable and safe feeling walk.
This will be the last time I stay at the Fairmount. The bathroom had wallpaper peeling everywhere and underneath was black dirty looking stuff. The shower had mold all around it. The glass needed to be replaced. The sofa was so worn I would be embarrassed to have any of my friends or non-friends see it much less sit on it. Before I wrote this review I emailed The Fairmount to give them a chance to respond. No response. So, here I am letting you know I don't believe they have any intention of making any changes. I was disappointed in the star ratings from Expedia also. Not sure I want to trust their ratings from now on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Older, historic hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Within walking distance of the Alamo, the Riverwalk, Villeta Squaire (shops), and array of good restaurants. The hotel itself is an older but elegant building. Our room was roomy and clean. The staff was excellent. We felt we alone in our own mansion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles LA

Wonderful hotel close to The Alamo and River Walk

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Wonderfully remodeled suite, interestingly furnished in an area full of history.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Within walking distance for The Alamo, River Walk and Tower of the Americas. Lots of choice for breakfast and excellent dining, good wine & cold beer
I chose the hotel's valet parking. The car was always promptly available when needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Had a lot of fun and we really enjoyed our stay! You do have to pay for parking, but we were expecting this before we arrived. There is a lot of history to this hotel, and it was so great getting to ejoy the outside courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Very good, historical, Victorian classy appointed

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Love service staff, historical, nice appointments; could use a restaurant on first floor, but there are many choices for breakfast nearby, too! Location is great! We loved our stay and will definitely be back! (Only minor complaint is it "seems" there are not quiet enough electric outlets for charging cameras & phones, but we made do).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Last option

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom molds Water taste
Location: Ok
Pricy given the season 4th july nothingbelow 200 plus tax and parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming historical hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Charming boutique hotel in walking distance to River Walk and Alamo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Amazing historic hotel filled with antiques, very glamorous. Super comfortable bed. Balcony overlooking lovely courtyard and another overlooking the street. beautiful sitting areas on every floor. Wish I'd had time to simply "be" and enjoy this lovely establishment. Grab a bottle of wine and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburg, TX

Personality Plus

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to the Riverwalk but away from the loud bustle of it. The décor is nostalgic but with good quality beds and nice TVs.
Cons: Our windowsill had rotted wood, but we understand that a historic property like this is always going to have some upkeep pending.
Location: La Villlita art village is right across the street. There's an entrance to the Riverwalk less than a block away. The Alamo is very close too.
We had six rooms for our son's graduation. They were each tastefully and uniquely decorated. The lobby is so pleasant to gather in. Fresh lemonade and cookies a nice touch. We are so impressed with our experience that we plan to stay here again.