Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and Older

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The staff was pleasant. Not very knowledgable about the surrounding area unfortunatly. It is a old hotel and with that comes some blemishes. My first room the heat didn't work and after the first night I discovered a leak coming from the celing. They moved me quickly to an adjacent room but this one was much smaller and the floor was severly sloped. When I laid in be I felt like I could roll out at any minute. Curtains were old and torn, cracks on the celing, the drain in the bathroom sink didn't work.... All in all I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte NC

Pleasant stay

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Spent one night during a brief stay. Room tastefully done with period pieces. Very clean and comfortable room. Helpful and pleasant staff. Definitely would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Fairmount

Posted Feb 21, 2015
We loved staying here. The rooms are large with an old world feel, lovely antique furniture, wooden floors, tall windows, balconies, & a courtyard. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathtub was wonderful, large enough for a tall man that loves to soak after a long day. We love hotels with history, and The Fairmount has a unique story. The hotel staff was excellent, friendly & helpful. Willing to go the extra mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clare, MI

Quaint Hotel Very unique-needs updating

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Fresh Chocolate chip cookies, unique charm to the hotel setting, balcony that had a great sunrise scene, hard wood floors, headboard for the bed
Cons: bathroom towel rack and wallpaper, balcony floor.
Location: Within Walking Distance: Convention Center, The Villias, Shops, Restaurants, RiverWalk, Tower of the America's.
The hotel was beautiful - chandler in the lobby, antique furniture reminiscent of the 1900 era, Beautiful inlay cabinets, unique room shapes too. The room was clean and comfortable, the balcony was a nice feature especially with the sunrise. The shower was good, bathroom was clean, the room was clean with hardwood floors, antique furniture for the TV Stand, Desk and chairs. It had a very nice feel to it and I enjoyed my stay. However, it is in need of some updating. the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling, the towel rack felt like it was going to fall off in my hand, the balcony needs resurfaced - if you walked on it with bare feet, you will get a splinter. I really liked this hotel thought - it had a lot of charm and the employee's were very nice, friendly and helpful. the 3rd night I was there, I found the FRESH chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. Those were heaven!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom all over traveler

Within walking distance to all attractions

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I arrived in a motorcycle and the valet was licenced to accommodate my can am. The historic hotel kept true to its era what a pleasant surprise. I will be returning in the spring and summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Nice something different

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We enjoyed it. The guy who checked us in was excellent. I wish I remembered his name. He was professional friendly and know experienced hotel clerk. The room was nice but not stunning like it was on the internet. Clean lady was very friend my even though she did not understand English. I would give it a better rate if the clerk Cindy wasn't so nice and warm when I was ready to check out. She was like ok you are done. I was like okay miss Cool. if you wanna try something different than the modern hotel this one is definitely fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
overall very nice and clean very convenient to all the attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
it was over priced for what it is. we were told it is about to be remodeled, which is needed badly. the location is excellent if you are attending a convention. the staff was very friendly. it is old but has a lot of potential if they put some money into it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff! Beautiful rooms!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Beautiful building, beautiful room. Excellent customer service. The staff was great!
Cons: The temperature of the room.
Location: The location was very close to the conference center. That was a definite plus.
My only complaint about my stay was that the room was a little warm despite the temperature of 70. Otherwise, this was a really great hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Staff and hotel was great... room power outlets required maintenance. But I loved staying there. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.