Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camp Hill, PA

Excellent staff - great historic building

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Staff, historic and unique building
Location: Great location, near La Villita and River Walk
Everyone we dealt with at The Fairmount was excellent and so helpful - can't say enough good things about them. The building is historic and very interesting, beautiful and unique. Our room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Great place! Friendly staff and interesting hotel history. The hotel is quite old but it's pretty clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rio Grande City

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
I always try to be fair in ratings, and this hotel is not a 4 star hotel. It's an old fashion hotel with a great location but it shows it's age. The rooms were very small and the TV was too small. The night was cold and the heater did adequately heat the room. Otherwise a just OK hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corpus Christi

Nice location in area of shops and River Walk

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Nice to be able to walk to area attractions. The restaurants we ate at were pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wichita Falls, Texas

Great Hotel, close to what we wanted to see

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Very colorful hotel, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Convenient Downtown Hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2015
This hotel is in a great location, very near La Villita, Hemisfair Plaza, Riverwalk and Convention Center, and many other downtown attractions. The Fairmont is furnished in period antiques, but now seems in need a bit of freshening up, as the bathroom wallpaper was beginning to peel, and a couple of the drapes and sheers had needed attention, where the rod and one hook had pulled loose. The bed was comfortable, though, and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning. Coffeemaker and supplies in the room were appreciated, and restocked daily. It was easy to get to hotel by car from I-35, and the valet parking cost a couple of dollars less than at some other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value. Very nice staff Great location

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Great bed and breakfast Older building with a few quirks. A great staff who are guniunely concerned for your experience Great location near river walk and great value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very charming.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: The charming atmosphere.
Cons: Free breakfast and better A/C-Heating system.
Location: The location is perfect and you can walk anywhere you want to go,
We enjoyed the location and the atmosphere very much. The restaurant was being renovated and there was no breakfast. The heater could not keep up.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Horrible place in need of repairs!

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The location is good. It's not on the river walk, but close. Easy to get into from the major highways. Building is old, but historic.
Cons: Hotel needs a total overhaul and renovation. When asked at the front room how the room was and I told them, they didn't seem at all surprised.
Location: Riverwalk, Alamo Hemisphere all right there.
DO NOT STAY HERE. It's not the Fairmont Hotel group. The name is spelled differently. It's supposed to a historic jewel. Trust me, this jewel needs a lot of polishing. We came in and were told the room was not ready to come back in one hour. We came back in 2 hours- new person on the front desk. Told again that our room probably wasn't ready. Clerk left the front desk and went upstairs. Gone for about 10 minutes while we're just standing there. Clerk comes back and says we have a room. Unbelievable. No apology, no nothing. It was like she was doing us a favor to get into our room. When we got to the room, we were not shocked, (based on the lobby), but there's dirt, hair, and black mold in the bathrooms, cracks in the walls, peeling wallpaper. The room we had looked like it had not been updated in 30 years. DO NOT STAY HERE.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

this is a 2.5 star

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Cons: clean, paint, new beds, new windows(loud)
Location: location great, on river walk, close to shopping and Alamo, close to convention center and sports facilities
good---location, staff, nice OLD hotel bad----outdated, dirty, loud, old beds