Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from stamford CT

Great historical hotel, unique in San Antonio

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: personality and "charme", free Wi-Fi, personnel very friendly and amicable
Cons: the upholstery is very cool and part of the "charme", but in some rooms it'd need a quick refresh... ideally maintaining the same style!
Location: close to the Riverwalk, right in the center of the San Antonio action...
all positive... this is my second stay, the rate is very convenient and the location is perfect (close to La Villita). Staff is friendly and supportive, and the size is small and makes you feel that you are "a person" and not a "number" (which is my sensation in large hotels)...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from Austin, TX

Great Atmosphere! Close to Riverwalk

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Loved the antique and unique atmosphere at the Fairmount. Staff were super friendly and accommodating. Neat history.. take the time to read the history in the b I understand book in the room. Let's of pros: location, speed of valet service, swiftness and friendliness of staff. Only cons were that you have to pay for a mini fridge (however I recommend negotiating with staff) and the information about the hotel dog in the booklet is out of date (he passed away). Be aware if going to Alamo dome.. Although technically in walking distance it is quite a jaunt. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by family traveler from Houston

Good location and good atmosphere

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Atomosphere
Cons: Of course repair the shower!
Location: must go to the river walk and enjoy waling, eating and boating.
It is close to the river walk: main sightseeing place in San Antonio. So it is good location. Building is very historical and you can feel it as you are living in old era or like a movie star. Unfortunately, my room had broken curtains and shower. Hotel was highly occupied and no two bed room. So they could not change the room but offered another one bed room for shower use. Bad luck but after all we didn't have so much bad feeling from this hotel.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Utah

Not what the website advertises.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful.
The Hotel could be very spectacular with some time and money invested. The website presents a very grand old hotel. However, it is really just an old hotel. In the room we stayed in all the floors sloped one way or the other. The nightstand doors were held shut with pieces of paper wedged in to keep them closed. The computer room was useless as the computers did not work. The complimentary limo service advertised on the website has been discontinued. The bathroom was small and crowded. The conditions of the Hotel showed that it needs some attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to everything

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: location and it history
Cons: a dresser in the room, a place to put your clothing.
Hotel staff were very pleasant, older hotel, which we loved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
It was very nice and in the heart of downtown. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. The valet was extremely helpful and willing to give us directions. The rooms were very quaint and comfortable. We had a courtyard view. It was quiet and we never heard any kids running around etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dale from Austin

A night away

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Staff. Location. Personality.
Cons: The room needed light-blocking curtains.
Location: Everything downtown.
Delightful first stay here. We will return. Staff very helpful.
1 out of 5
by RB from seattle

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Location is ok, but nothing else.
Cons: Just about everything.
I travel often. I should have paid more attention to other reviews. I thought this was a Fairmont Hotel - I am not sure what it is, but it is not a Fairmont. On arrival the bell hop did not bother to open the door or offer to assist with luggage - which is OK, as I always take care of my own. The lighting in the room was very, very dim. The bed was on wheels, and when you sat up in bed, it rolled away from the wall. It was during the daylight, that I realized how filthy the bedspread, rugs, and window coverings were. The paint was peeling off the back of the door. We cancelled the remaining 3 nights and moved to the Hyatt on the riverwalk. Manager was not rude or defensive, he just took some notes and said he would credit the remaining nights - which they have done. Until this place is renovated and they get some better management - do not stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Case from Houston

Great Stay!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We love this place, it's so easy to get in and out of. Location is the best. Staff is great. It's not new, if you need a new generic hotel with all the latest and greatest, don't stay there. If you are looking for something different, a friendly staff and a great location, this is a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Holiday Traveler from Phoenix AZ

Great location and price

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Across street from main gate of Hemisphere park, entrance to River Walk, 2 blocks or so to Alamo, also short walk to Alamodome. Many historic bldgs./homes surrounding hotel. Hotel built in 1906 and d├ęcor throughout is early 1900's. Breakfast not available within hotel or by room service. We could not get warm or heated air out of the system in our room Accept pets with $75 surcharge - no grass on the premises but our small dog found relief walking on streets behind hotel. Recommend as unique hotel for the ambiance vs the modern chain hotels - we would stay here again.