Ratings based on 3,217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom El Paso Texas

Hotel with history and great location

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Bar, Lobby, Restuarant, and LOCATION.
Cons: the room needs an upgrade
Location: Can't get any better.
Loved the hotel. I wished the room would have been nicer (3115) It is in need of renovating. Leaking faucets. No place to plug in coffee maker unless you unplug the light or tv. Would I stay here again? Yes!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Excellent Location For San Antonio Activities

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Favorite part of the hotel is the location. It is an historic hotel so has lots of character.
Cons: Maybe the hot tub being open longer.
Location: Hotel is also very close to the mall, which is connected to the River Walk.
The Menger has nice balconies overlooking the pool area. Pool was closed while we were there. The hot tub was open but area closes at 9PM. It is about a 5 minute walk from the entrance(even though there are any entrances) to the River Walk. Also right around the corner from the visitors center. We bought a 2-day package for the trolley which included on and off both days, entrance to the Tower Of The America's. It drops you off there. Also included a boat ride on the San Antonio River.....along the River Walk. We did this, as do most people, at night. At Christmas time the colored lights hang from all the tree everywhere. It is absolutely gorgeous!! Also the hotel is right across the street from the Alamo. That is also where you catch the carriage rides, if you want to purchase one. We did this at night and was really fun. Cost is about $25 for a 20 minute ride. Carriages are decorated beautifully for Christmas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great trip to San Antonio. Spa was fantastic

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Spa was amazing the food was great and the bar equals super fun Staff was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Beautiful old world feel and service

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Such a beautiful and interesting property, a hundred yards from the River Wall. Wonderful staff, great restaurant and bar, such interesting historical artifacts decorating the lobbies. I will stay here on every trip to San Antonio. I can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

The Menger is Always our First Choice

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The location and the History.
Cons: The valet parking needs to be lowered and the cleanliness of the rooms.
Location: This hotel is very well located. It is right next to the Alamo and all of the attractions are across the street such as the Riverwalk.
We have been staying at The Menger for years and its always our first choice. You cannot beat the location and the History this unique hotel captures. The only thing is the rooms could be cleaner. You could see light through our hotel room door.from the top and the bottom which was a bit annoying. The front desk staff are fantastic and are always on the ball. The valet parking is way way too expensive. It's $28.00 a day and all we did was park the car there. We never asked for it until we left. That really adds up in the end. We stayed 3 nights and paid $84.00 just to park our car there. That is very much a factor on rather we can stay there in the future or just try and find other parking elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Close to all local activities

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The lobby is gorgeous and lots of historic artwork and architecture to take in.
Cons: I spent a morning in the spa and would say that if you like deep tissue massages, this will work for you. If you need something lighter, go elsewhere
Location: Went from Tower of America to La Mercado and it wasn't too far to walk if you're in good physical condition. Alamo is next door!
Room was clean and comfortable. Heard it was haunted, but no indication of it. This hotel is on the ghost tour we took and had a great story. Close to Alamo, Tower of America, La Villita, The River Walk, the mall, etc. It's hard not to like the location. The Menger Bar was great and had a few "colorful locals" that made it interesting. The valet parking was also very accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Close to Alamo, City Attractions, Riverwalk-

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Charm and atomosphere
Cons: venting in bathroom
Location: see above
Comfortably and clean room in charming historic hotel. Staff was more than accommodating. loved the central location to City attractions, which meant that you could park your car and walk to all downtown attractions safely. Would recommend this hotel to others. Stayed four nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kerrville, TX

One of San Antonio's grand old ladies

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: We like the charm of its age. We love its location right on Alamo Plaza. We like the staff and the historical displays. We like the beautiful patio
Cons: It is an old property. We find it comfortable, but it is not slick. I don't know if a re-do would be good or bad.
Location: It is across the side street from the Alamo. next to River Center Mall, one building is being reconstructed (the old Joske's). Riverwalk is near.
Our hotel of choice in downtown San Antonio. It is old so expect that; not a slick newbie. Has charm, beautiful lobby and patio and pool area. Colonial Room is excellent for dining. Staff is outstanding. Desk representative, Ramon, is charming and helpful and remembers you from one year to the next. We have found all guests to be polite, quiet and appropriately friendly. The holiday tree is gorgeous. (thanks Expedia for the lovely fruit and cheese tray which was a wonderful surprise; the hotel said it came from you.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving in San Antonio at the Menger Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: The history.
Cons: Keep up dating and fix the older part of the rooms and they were not suitable to stay.
Location: Great location by the square, Alamo, and across the street was the River Walk. Very easy walking to Parks, Market Square, the Mall.
We enjoyed the atmosphere of Old at the Hotel. We could see the Alamo from our room, double decker Bus and Horse, carriage rides. The Thanksgiving Buffet at the Colonial Room was worth every cent, with fine service, good choices of food and a beautiful room. The valet parking and service to our room was prompt and helpful. Overall, all the people who helped at the hotel were very friendly and there was a lot of help there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We will be back!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Excellent location - right in the middle of everything! Staff was very friendly. Hotel was clean. I will be staying here every time I am in San Antonio