Ratings based on 3,276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Presidential

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The Menger Hotel must have overbooked and we were left with the Presidential Suite for the same Expedia price of $199. It was a great experience. Thank you Expedia and Menger Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SA trip

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Alamo and Riverwalk along with city.
I like this hotel because it's close to the Alamo and Riverwalk. It has lots of history and I plan on visiting again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Make it so all the guests get to experience the cool part of the historic hotel
Location: 2 blocks from the Riverwalk, downtown restaurants, walking distance to the King William Historic district
The location is great - easy access to all the downtown amenities. The old lobby of the hotel is gorgeous, but you don't really get to see it. The main access to and from the hotel misses the oldest part - the really cool part. Our room was small and uninspiring - not what I expected from the website pictures.....Our view was of a rooftop and wall. If our main objective was to spend time there, I would have been really dissapointed, but we were there to experience the Riverwalk, so the location was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spring, Tx

Menger Hotel - very nice place

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The Room, Ramon the MGR, the Bar, the commons area
Cons: Valet is alittle pricey. $28 a day.....
Location: great location, close to alamo and river walk
Ramon the Mgr is great. Left a nice gift basket in my room. Very charming place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newnan, GA

Nice historic hotel close to the Alamo

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: I loved the location and that it is so historic. I ate in the restaurant and it was wonderful with wonderful service.
Cons: Really nothing other than more staff to help with welcoming and telling where rooms are like an old service hotel would have been like.
Location: Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Shopping.
I had always wanted to stay in this hotel and finally did. Would stay there again. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was wonderful. I stayed in the historic part of the hotel so was taken back in time. The room had been refurbished in a wonderful compliment to the period. I plan to stay here again sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Nice rooms, great location, and great pricing. The staff was very helpful and respectful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montgomery, TX

San Antonio get away

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The lobby and common areas were lovely, which would lead you to believe. that the rooms would be the same. The rooms were blah, outdated and lacked the 1800's charm that we were looking for. We requested a different room upon first look and the staff were accommodating but the other choices were just as dumpy. You need to update if you are goind tp charge $300 plus per night. We were very disappointed and I would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Room is a bit small and "historic" for the price. The AC/Heater did not work too well. Restroom flushes too loud so everytime your neighbor use the restroom you can definitely hear it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manhattan, KS

Interesting historical information throughout hote

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: We liked the historical significance and the posting of historical events. The bar and restaurant within the hotel were both excellent in service and
Cons: Room size.
Location: Excellent location near Alamo and restaurants and activities we were attending
We enjoyed the posting of historical guests and experiences throughout the public areas. Staff, particularly in the bar knew about much of the history. Very efficiently managed overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful... for a hotel built in 1859.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The amazing wood decor and old photographs on the walls.
Cons: Upgrade the bathrooms.
Location: The Alamo was literally next door!
I feel bad writing this review, and it is my own fault as I should have done a little more research before booking at the Menger for our trip to the 2015 Alamo Bowl. The staff was wonderful and accommodating, the location is excellent, and the hotel is a beautifully preserved historical landmark. But as far as a hotel, it does show it's age. The rooms are kind of small and the bathroom was tiny. The shower head was placed pretty low, it seems that it would be awkward to use for people taller than 6' (we're short people - I'm 5' 7" and my wife is 5' 3"). The toilet, while perfectly functional, looked like a toilet from an airport or high school. It was an industrial style w/ the piping coming out of the wall w/ a lever handle (like on a urinal). The bathroom was so small that you could not sit on the toilet and open the door 90 degrees. The HVAC system would only heat up to 70 degrees. We found the beds uncomfortably soft, though admittedly we prefer firm mattresses. The highest we could set the heater was 70 degrees. Perhaps we're just spoiled and pampered, but because of this, the room was constantly cooler than we would have liked throughout our stay. Since the daytime highs when we were in San Antonio were in the 40s and 50s it would have been nice to be able to heat the room up a little warmer. Again, it is a fantastic building rich with history, but next time we're in San Antonio, we'll probably book at a more modern hotel.