Ratings based on 3,121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Great atmosphere. Wonderful historic architecture and decor.
Terrific. Great location, beautiful architecture, wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fredericksburg, TX

Old, but elegant hotel right next to the Alamo

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The convenience to the river walk, fine restaurants and local theaters and entertainment.
Cons: Our room was a bit small, but not uncomfortable. The furniture was fine, but true to the historical nature of the hotel. The bathroom was okay too.
Location: Next to the Alamo, the River Center Mall. A block or two from the River Walk and many restaurants nearby.
Being a native of San Antonio, I can remember The Menger Hotel as one of the most elegant hotels of the time. It has been a dream come true to be able to stay there. The hotel staff were most gracious from the Valet that took care of our vehicle to the front desk at check in, to the room stewards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much noise

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The history
Location: It was excellent located.
I had booked this hotel for 3 nights but I had to change hotels after the first night. I could not sleep at all with all the noises. One could hear people talking in the other rooms, the doors closing and opening and even the faucet and the toilet running. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are an excellent sleeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to river walk and alamo

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Easy to navigate to things . loved the history and ambience of the Menger
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice 2 Star Hotel in Great Location

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Service
Cons: Renovate rooms end to end. The Hotel looks and ambiance could feel 100+ years old, but not the rooms.
Location: Lots to do. Location is perfect.
Location-Location This hotel is right next to The Alamo and many other attractions. I know the hotel is over 100 years old but in my opinion the rooms of a local 2 star Motel look 10x better that the old 1970's look of the rooms in the Menger. Beds where way to soft which caused me a pain in my back for 2 days. Hotel is ok for 1-2 nights but no more. Self parking is not available and the only other option is valet parking at $30 per trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Charming

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Right next to the Alamo, this hotel is a must-stay for history buffs. Rooms are clean and renovated and reasonably priced. The hotel has some of the quirks of older hotels (slow elevators, noisy pipes) but it has character and charm. It is centrally located to major tourist attractions. The staff is excellent with classic Texas hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Menger Centrally Located

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient to downtown attractions.
Cons: Rooms have carpet and are a bit dated but the rooms were clean and nice.
Location: Centrally located, close to Alamo, close to River Walk and many restaurants.
Across the street from the Alamo. One block from the River Walk and all the restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Historic Gem in the Center of the Action

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Menger. If you are looking for affordable rates, history and proximity to the Alamo and River Walk, this is your spot. Those seeking high-end comforts would be happier elsewhere. Yes, the standard rooms are cozy and the furnishings are dated, but that's the point of this historic hotel built in 1859. Don't miss the Menger Bar where you can see bullet holes from Roosevelt's Rough Riders. Sunday Brunch in the Colonial Room was a nice addition to our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Nice hotel, not very haunted though

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Great location, easy to find and get back to after exploring.
Cons: Staff forgot a few things during room make up, shampoo and pillow cases, so that could be improved upon.
Location: Right next to the Alamo, and lots of crazy Ripley's stuff, quick access to the River Walk and bus stops to get you anywhere else.
Nice room, wonderfully helpful staff, but I didn't see a single ghost anywhere. Most haunted hotel in Texas indeed! Oh well, they bog you down with coupons and information, and everyone is very friendly. Excellent location, very easy to locate after a day/night out on the town seeing the sights, directly on a few bus routes too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Attractive, good location above average in most re

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The history and the room furnishing.
Cons: Food cost at he Colonial would prefer a second facility based on a diner menue.
Location: The Rier walk and the Mall along with being next door to the Alamo.
We had seen the lobbies of the Menger in past visits to San Antonio and decided to stay for three nights this time. The hotel is aging but overall a very good experience and we will probably stay again when we visit our son .